Memories: Nokia 3210

8 17
Avatar for Shernafaith
2 years ago

My new Nokia 3210 ringing...

Hello? Who's this?

Oh... A familiar voice, this bully, level 5 scandalous voice on the other line.

Xandro???

Where did you get my number?

I heard you have a phone at last! He answered.

Oh yeah, and who gave you my number, I don't want annoying people on my phonebook. 😁

I heard him laughing so loud. Detective 101, ----I asked Aunt about your number yow. He added.


Xandro is my childhood friend. My parents and his parents are friends too. We grew up together, we played Mario brothers together, Nintendo together, graduated from elementary and high school together. But don't get me wrong. We are not together and we will never be, I am not his type and he is not my type neither.

He is the only son, a little bratty, rich kid type, good looking they said (but not really my type haha πŸ˜…)I wonder how he got a beauty titlist girlfriend.

We were always together, but since college, we went to a different school,---he went to Manila.

We were opposite, I am introverted, I don't like noise and crowd. Simple, from an average family, and a University dean's lister.


I gave your number to my friend Matt. Hey Kate? Are you listening? He will be your text mate so you can have your boyfriend.

I am not interested really. I am always busy. I answered but the call was already off before I can resist.

That bratty annoying immature Xandro! 😏


Next day.

Ringing...

New number....

Hello?

Yes! Hi, this is Matt, I am Xandro's friend.

Rattled...Shy as I am. Don't know what to say.

Hi Matt. I am Kate. -soft voice actually very soft voice πŸ˜…πŸ˜ haha


Matt, is an engineering student, a Manila boy, living with Xandro in a rented condo unit near their university.

No idea how he looks like, based on his voice a little more descent than that of Xandro. Very respectful and sweet. Well,πŸ˜… not sure though. And I don't want to ask Xandro about it. He will surely laugh at me.


We became TextMate starting that day, I found someone who checks on me instantly.😁

Morning greetings,

Hi Kate, how's your day.

Are you home Kate?

Did you eat?

Busy?

Can I call?

I am not used to this kind of treatment, so caring that it became a routine. I don't want to, But I keep on waiting for his text or call. Seems my day is not complete without it and it scares me. That goes around for about four months.


About lunchtime when I heard my landlady calling my name.

Kate, you have a visitor.

I rushed towards the gate to check as I am expecting my block mate to come over and return the notes she borrowed. With the uncombed hair, oily face, and messy look.

There's a red Mitsubishi Pajero in front of our gate, I was shocked when Xandro suddenly came out with the same monster laugh, bully as usual.

Hey messy girl! You are so dirty hurry clean up, and I'll treat you for lunch. He said.

This is our normal way of talking to each other.

New car? I asked.

Yup, he answered, while he gets something from the tinted car.

By the way, Here's a flower. Somebody sent that for you. You don't deserve that cause you're so "dugyot" in a teasing voice.

I grabbed it and immediately go back inside. Trying to hold back the smile when I see the roses.

I'll wait for 10 minutes! he said.


White shirt, jeans, sneakers, lip gloss, cheek tint, face powder and here I am ready to go.

I was opening the door on the passenger's seat but was locked, Xandro was pointing to the back seat. I usually seat beside him if her girlfriend is not around. I am her best friend and everybody is aware of it.


When I opened the door, I was surprised to see a handsome guy with a wide smile looking at me.

I looked at Xandro like asking for an explanation,

Hi Ugly2, I am Ugly1 he said as he stretched her hands to help me hop into the car and sit beside him.

Crazy moment... Mixed emotion.


Xandro left us in the restaurant. We talked like we know each other for so long. So comfortable. So happy. I can't even explain how it feels. Must be love I think.

And the time was so fast.. They need to go.

He kissed me, we kiss. A confirmation. We are in love.


I am already in my last year at the University. His course is 5 years so will be graduating first.

Happy 2nd year anniversary my Ugly he greets me. I am on my way he said. He will pick me up to finally meet his parents.

When we stopped at the gated house. I was speechless, I know they are well-off but we never talked about their family business. He is so simple and humble. The house is so huge like HUGE. Like the one we usually see in the Pinoy teleserye. The dinner went well and meeting with his parents was just okay. Back in my mind as if there's something wrong.


The next day, everything changed. I didn't receive the usual text messages.No more phone calls. I was so worried. His phone rang but didn't answer. 2 days, 3 days, 1week, 2 weeks, and so on--- unbearable as days go by. He left me hanging without anything. without Bye, so Painful more than you can imagine.

I called Xandro,

He was serious, not the usual Xandro I know. I cried at him like a baby. He can't tell why.

I warned him not to hurt you, we had a fight he said.


2 years passed, I am working in a Bank now. still hurting. No boyfriend. I didn't see Xandro for 2 years too. I don't wanna see anything that reminds me of him. Though I talked with Xandro over the phone once in a while.

After work, I decided to go to the mall to buy something. I went to the coffee shop to rest then suddenly a familiar guy asks if he can share the table with me.

It's him.

I just nod. I was trying to search in my brain, or in my heart that same feeling I had before. All along I've been hurting, but I realized I only cling to the memories and what if's.

All along, I already let him go and I was not even aware of it. I only cling to the memories but in fact, I do not love him anymore.

I am sorry, I was not brave to fight for you. Mom and dad want someone for me at that time. He said.

Finally, Now I can say I am ready to move on. It's not my fault it's just that his love was not enough to fight for me.

Finally, I can now delete the saved messages of happy memories on my Nokia 3210.

Finally!


THE END

2
$ 0.15
$ 0.10 from @bbghitte
$ 0.05 from @Chor06
Avatar for Shernafaith
2 years ago

Comments

Sana may part 2!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi mars. Thank you, supportive ka talaga always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course mars, we support and push each other☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww how can I appreciate this heheh. This is a Very nice story but a saded story? Hihi By the way maam, About the story, Is it your first time to meet his parents right ? Why they judge that sudden?

Your correct maam, you don't have anything wrong but the wrong there is she wasted your preciouse true love for him that time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

According to him... in the last part of the story when they met up after 2 years at the cafe, His parents want someone for him. and that's not unusual for rich families right? Perhaps, masmadali igive up si Kate kesa ang car at allowance nia hahaha sad but not all stories are happy ending though.. But will try to make happy ending on my next.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah try to make a happy ending maamπŸ˜‚ para rin kasi akong broken pagkatapos magbasa πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually di namn talaga ako writer.. minsan nawawala ako sa grammar at --- napapaisip ano ba sunod or is it interesting ba?? and I am so glad there is you haha para naman matuloy ko pa magsulat. when we look back someday we can say ahh nag improve ako, Parang ganun lang yung Goal for now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ako din napasama lng ako sa flatform nato kasi na invite ako ning frenie ko, wala as in wala akong hilig magsulat, yung fren ko kasi kumita na dito. Ikaw maam maganda yung mga article mo. much better kong maki interact ka rin sa iba, collect more follower kasi nasasayangan ako sa mga gawa mo na ang ganda. Pero ako lng yung viewers mo.

Ako for now di na dipa ako umasa na mapansin ng bot yung mga gawa. Haha Pero yung sayo maam try to interact ithers para makakuha ka ng ibang follewrs at viewers para mapansin ka ng bot..

$ 0.00
2 years ago