Run your own race

14 19
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

Runners don't win by focusing to other people's lane.

During my high school years, I can still remember it vividly how I panicked everytime I saw my classmates passed their test papers in our teacher sitting in her table infront of the classroom. I still got 1 hour to finish my test tho, but I cannot help myself from looking everytime one of them stands up and passed their paper. I got pressured to the point that I can't rightly answer the questions anymore. Because of that, I usually got a low score or wasn't able to answer all of the items. And it is not because I didn't study, but because I got distracted. I always end up crying, not because I am jealous but because I hated myself for having this kind of attitude, before.

With what happened, obviously I can't blame my classmates about it. It was all my fault. I am the one responsible for it and not the situation or people around me.

Many times in our life where we get distracted and pressured to what is happening. May it be in work, in school or simply in our household. The reality is, we are living in a world where competition is at the fullest.

Actually, human beings are involved in two types of competitions.

Competition with Other people.

I think, once in our life, we have attached ourselves in this type of competition where we are trying so hard just to surpass other people. These are the moments in which we consider ourselves as competitive. And mostly, competitiveness is cause by our insecurities , jealousy and the feeling of not being enough. Well, I am not saying that being competitive is not good, it is actually nice, if only we just make sure that it is a healthy one.

We are so afraid to be left behind because society have instill the idea in our mind and heart that whatever someone has, we should have also.

We are so focused with other people's achievements, that we tend to neglect our own. And don't we hate it when our parents compare us with our cousins or friends? Then why do we love comparing ourselves with other people?

Desiring the things that other people have is not bad nor admiring their lives, skills and advantages in life. Just don't let yourself be blinded by other people's possessions that you forgot your own treasures.

Competition with yourself.

When was the last time that you have really execute your new year's resolution and not just simply right or utter it during 'medya noche'? Don't lie to me.

How many times did you tell yourself to do better or encourage yourself that you can be better?

It was when I reached college where I realized that there is only one person I should compete with, and that is myself. Not my siblings, friends, cousins nor my classmates. Not the other people. It is solely me, myself and I.

My mindset and perception in life especially in success have really change.

Competing with yourself will make you better not with other people but with your past self.

Only in this moment that you will realized that you shouldn't envy other people. Because we have no idea how much sacrifices they did just to get the things they have right now.

When you compete with your self, you wouldn't need to feel constant pressure and just enjoy what you have, while aiming for the best.

Only in this type of competition will make you obtained your own definition of success and growth.

Indeed, it is very easy for us to 
lose focus and get distracted 
from our goals when we start 
comparing ourselves with other 
people. 
When we keep telling ourselves 
that grass is greener on the 
other side of the fence, instead 
of watering and cultivating your 
own grass and turn it into 
something that you desired 
it to be. 

Note: No one can ever run your path better than you do.

Author's POV:

God knows how much happy I am today.

I just want to thank the people who decided to give me sponsorship. You have no idea how much you boosted my passion in pursuing writing here in Read cash.

@JonicaBradley

@Bloghound

@dziefem

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

You guys rock!

P.S

Images above are all from unsplash.com

Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty

8
$ 0.23
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @kli4d
+ 2
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

Comments

It is true. Human beings are taught to envy. You have the magazines with all that glamour inciting you to buy the same. And so on with the fashions. If we let ourselves get carried away we will be just another consumerist who buys for appearance's sake and not because he needs to have something. I don't agree with the common. I celebrate the triumphs of others but I encourage myself to study to learn what I love, not what they tell me to love. Good reading post.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, we tend to give permission the society to dictate us what we should look or do. We often forgot that we should do things because we love it andnit because other people say so. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having said that, I do compete against myself as I need to figure out whether or not I am progressing day by day

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True, wala naman kasi tayong ibang kalaban kundi sarili natin 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naman, sis. Another wonderful article right there :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaah salamat 😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

muah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi. I super like your article. I was once like you who felt pressured because of someone's success in my age. I always compete with others and not do my best to achieve my goals. I am as well insecure, super. But thanks to this, it is added to my best article read so far that helped me realized again that it should be ourselves that we need to compete with to reach our goals.

And congratulations for the sponsorships you received. 👏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww 🤗🤗 thank you for your kind words and appreciation 🤗. I'm glad that this article somehow impacted your views in life 🤗.. God bless you and wish you all the best in life 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on your new sponsors! Well deserved ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so muucch. Sobrang sya ko talaga 🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's just because you are working hard

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang ako laaaang, ang tagal ko magsagot, tapos nadidistract ako dahil sa mga nagtatayuan kong classmate so I ended up na nanghuhula nalang kasi napepressure ako. Nakakapanlumo. Naiinis ako sa sarili ko. And yeah, sarili talaga kalaban natin. Most of the time kalaban ko yung pagiging nega ko. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga eh, nakakainis talaga ahhaha. Pero wala eh, di natin pwede i blame sa iba hahaha. Minsa ipipikit ko nlang mata ko sabay hinga HAHAHA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago