Wrestling with Updates

9 31
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Computers, Life, God

Yesterday was a monster test of my patience. My iMac prompted me to update to the new Big Sur iOS version, and then after that was complete, Windows 10 also needed updating (Windows 11 comes out October 5th). The total time spent on both updates was over 7 hours.

I wrestled over the updates because I had a lot of writing to complete, among other daily tasks. But I took the dive nevertheless, because I prefer to keep everything properly updated, and also have the latest drivers to ensure my computers work at peak proficiency. I also don't like procrastinating.

In the end, my patience held up and both tasks were completed. However, I missed my Bible lecture and need to go back online sometime today to complete it as it is the last lecture of the class before I receive the credits. I also missed out on any outdoor activities, much to my chagrin.

Wrestling with life updates

Most sane people seek to make changes in their lives that lead not only to some semblance of improvement, but with satisfactory changes that are easily implemented and retained over the long-term. But it is difficult to break bad habits and routines. Because of this, we typically delay making any changes and yet we wrestle with our delay tactics. It's a vicious circle. We always seem to have a rationale for delaying.

Some thinkers above my pay scale believe our lives completely change every 7 years. I haven't personally looked upon this in retrospect regarding my life to see if it is true. Maybe it is, maybe it isn't - I've no certainty regarding the matter.

Spiritual updates

How about our spiritual updates? Just as we need to cleanse our body from filth and grime and germs, we need a spiritual cleansing, as well.

Yes, for those of us who have received salvation from God by believing on Jesus by faith alone (works follow a changed life), we need to have our daily sins cleansed to remain in a right relationship with God.

Back in the old days of the Bible, nobody had Nikes and Air Jordan's. They wore crude sandals and walked on dusty roads or large stones. Obviously, though they may have bathed, their feet became filthy, and so when they entered someone's home their feet were washed. It was the custom of hospitality that came after a bow, a greeting, and a handshake.

Our feet are the means by which we traverse the world of sin in which we live.

This is why we read passages such as the one below.

"If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness" (1 John 1:9, NIV).

When we confess our sins daily we are washed from the sins of the world we committed. We don't need a priest to forgive our sins, for he is just another man with no authority. We whom are saved by Christ's blood are a "royal priesthood" and we have direct access to the throne of God through Jesus.

"But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light" (1 Peter 2:9, NIV).

No need to delay further

If you are truly seeking a lasting and effectual change, come to Jesus in faith, live your life for Him rather than the world, and endure to the end. If you already believe, you are empowered by the Holy Spirit, who will prompt the changes you need to make in order to conform to the life of Jesus.

There's no need to wrestle with further delays. Enter into prayer and the throne room of God today, even now, and receive the cleansing of your feet (sins).

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 3.91
$ 3.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 4
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Computers, Life, God

Comments

Spiritual updating is one of the things a genuine Christian must do always it is important because no man know when the groom which is Christ jesus will return that is why we have to pray all times and seek for the forgiveness of God

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, because our daily sins should be confessed (John 1:9) to keep us in a right relationship with God. Aren't you glad that you can go directly to God in prayer through Jesus? I am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your reply

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so guilty. I have been putting off prayer for a long time. I know I need to reconnect and I need to pray often but it is so hard for me to do it now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, there are times when we don't feel close to God but He is always there waiting to hear from His beloved He wants to hear from you today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very cool analogy. I read somewhere that scientists were 94% liberal with no belief in God. No wonder their views conflict.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That sounds about right. It's pretty much the same with unbelieving professors in universities that push Marxism. It's indoctrination rather than education.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Delaying things now will have a greater consequence later. Regrets come in the end. Do what you have to do now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Precisely. Delay is procrastination. I take care of personal business daily, and at times more often.

$ 0.00
2 years ago