The Reasons Why People Don't Write Daily

21 55
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Anybody can come up with an excuse for not writing on a daily basis, just like we did when we wanted to be absent from school when we were kids. Any excuse will do, as long as we rationalize it in our minds.

Disclaimer: Get ready for some hard truths you likely won't except, because a lot of you are not writers. Most people cannot write well.

Excuses

Excuses are like opinions - everybody has them. Excuses for not writing can be legitimate, but many are absolutely not legit. It depends on one's perspective, sure, but our perspective may be lame when compared to that of others.

Sadly, one of the biggest blocks to writing daily is laziness. Modern generations have been raised by their governments and doting parents, both of whom thought it best to give their offspring everything on a silver platter - providing they had the financial wherewithal to do so. Many people have no earthly concept of the ethic of hard work and determination.

Legitimate excuses

Obviously there are legit reasons why people do not write daily. Some folks are employed full time. Along with their work schedule, they may have long commutes and/or other responsibilities, too.

For example, single Mom's carry the vast majority of the workload around the house. Without help from their family members, the time window narrows any opportunity to write. And yet they still find time to write.

Then there are those who work extensive hours - slaving away for others and making them money, while barely making ends meet. This drudgery is self-imposed slavery and unavoidable at times. But there is the concept of upward mobility that can free anyone from the chains of slavery. You have to work hard at it, however.

Illegitimate excuses

There is a ton of illegitimate excuses for not writing on a daily basis. If I made an attempt to list them all, we'd all fall fast asleep. But aside from laziness, as mentioned above, we can tack on writer's block. Yes, this occurs, but we quickly move on and put it behind us. How? By writing! Just putting pen to paper or tapping a keyboard will result in an eventual concept to write about.

You're not a writer

Just because you can write does not mean you should write. Furthermore, just because you do indeed write (anybody can) does not necessarily mean you are a good writer. Heck, you can refer to yourself as a McDonald's quarter pounder with cheese, but that doesn't mean you are one.

The majority of people are simply not writers. They are here on read.cash for one purpose only: to make #BCH and buy what they want or need. It isn't even a hobby, but rather a means to make some crypto to be converted into cash.

The majority of these people don't care one iota about plagiarism, coming up with original ideas, or learning the writing craft. They also refuse to heed the advice of experienced writers who offer constructive criticism. They mistake constructive criticism for attacks on their person and all because of their pride.

These types will not improve. They are not writers.

Indeed, it is far easier to follow a silly trend that has no perceivable value because the mind is incapable of thinking like a writer should and must do. Writing is a difficult and thankless task.

Though there is a ton of books out there in the metaverse for free, yet ignorance and laziness cause them to stumble. They could learn grammar, learn structure, and learn to refrain from cutesy introductions, but nah, that's hard work and they know it, so they take the easy way out and bask in their shameless prose. They have an inability to make their words sing and hence make feeble, even embarrassing attempts at waxing poetic. At least it's funny.

Other talents

Do I now boast of my writing talent? Well, I have been writing for 35 years. This is one of my gifts honed over dozens of years. You have gifts, too. Your gifts are not my gifts. You may possess the ability to draw or paint a masterpiece. I don't. You may be able to craft an #NFT, I do not. Your artistic talent likely lies in another genre, if you have one at all, but you do have talents - everyone does. You are just ignoring your talent, your gift.

The fact is that many people never explore or hone their talents and thus they flounder in life without any meaningful purpose. You who are not writers must explore and determine what your talent is. It is likely better than what I can do in many cases.

Closing thoughts

"Everybody walks past a thousand story ideas every day. The good writers are the ones who see five or six of them. Most people don’t see any” — Orson Scott

When and why do you make excuses not to write? Are they legit or are you fooling yourself? Are you simply here for the money? Deep inside, can you honestly call yourself a writer? Are you willing to put years upon years into honing your craft and accept constructive criticism? Be honest with yourself and accept whether you are a writer or not.

Writers write, hacks hack.
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

21
$ 12.24
$ 10.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.88 from @MarielB22
$ 0.20 from @JLoberiza
+ 8
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Comments

Guess your hitting the right notes "Sadly, one of the biggest blocks to writing daily is laziness.", you got me there! But I love your "Legitimate excuses"... sublime!

"Deep inside, can you honestly call yourself a writer? Are you willing to put years upon years into honing your craft and accept constructive criticism? Be honest with yourself and accept whether you are a writer or not.", Yes Sir... I'm not a talented one but I can write. Thank u.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All I can say sorry but can't deny the excuses hits me don't actually have to develop to adjust yet writing while on full-time work I might get confused with a word between writing and talking on the customer on the line,...

$ 0.00
User's avatar RM
2 years ago

I am employed full time and I am still learning to write.. I am so open to constructive criticism because from there, I will learn various ways on how to improve in here

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Keep writing and reading (but read proper grammar rather than the mess you see on here. I mean books. It's okay to read on this platform but 90% of the writing is subpar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, I don't know where to put myself. On the one hand, I am lazy, but when my conscience starts poking me, then I have to start researching, summarizing, and writing daily. I am unsure if I am a writer, but I like entertaining and educating people with my articles. I am not good at English, but I use the Grammarly app, it helps a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty of laziness and I am not a writer too and yes, I write mainly because I want to earn and let out negative thoughts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's a good start to improve on which you can do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laziness and lots of excuses are the main reason, can't write daily. Starting is the main problem, if we can start then it will be finished.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am not sure if I am really lazy sometimes, Well I feel a little bit laziness because i am lazy to think a better topic to write about that's why sometimes my articles I don't even know if i wrote it with senses. 🤣 HAHA but I don't make any excuse when I don't write articles. It is really true that sometimes when I can't write, I am sick. That's why I am absent for almost how many days. 🤧 even if I really like to write and continue my grind that time my body can't. Hays

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Have you ever considered using the free software program Grammarly? You may download it on your smartphone or computer. As for topics, look around you. There are literally hundreds of things begging for your attention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Downloading grammarly for what? Hehe 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To improve your grammar, friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty with laziness. Lols. Am I a writer? When people start to pair that up with years of experience I am quite lost at how to slide my self into that mold. Writer by profession? I certainly am not? Writer by hobby yes. Sliding into read became a fun way of earning from it. Do I write flawlessly? Certainly not again.

There are just stories wanting to be out and written and stories that needs some brewing then they can't steam past the cover of laziness hahah.

I write. I have fun while at it. Bonus to earn from it . And learning along the way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It sounds like you might want to take it seriously and hone your craft, then. It's work that pays better dividends. I hope you will, because we have a collective vested interest in maintaining the credibility of the read.cash platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laziness is the main reason. Perhaps, it's relatable to be. But I am trying to over come.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Do it! You can also download free books on PDF.drive.com that will help you with your writing. Good luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the reason some don't write daily is that they want to earn a lot and they forgot they just joined the platform

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is true. There are almost 75,000 users on the platform, maybe a few hundred articles each day. That tells us a lot. I invited a friend who quickly joined up because she needed money. But after she made 18 cents, she stopped writing. She thought it was a make money fast scheme.

$ 0.00
2 years ago