My 5 Favorite Christmas Songs - and Why

25 64
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Jesus, Christmas

We all have out favorite Christmas songs we know by heart. Some we like because they arouse pleasant or sentimental memories. My top 5 are likely completely different from your faves and the reasons why are, too.

Little Drummer Boy

This is my top pick every Christmas. It was my mother's favorite song by Bing Crosby. The version I prefer features Bing Crosby and David Bowie. Both are now deceased but their perfect pitch lives on.

The song reminds me of past Christmases we had together as a family, and some of the traditions that I follow to this day. One tradition is that we make cake to eat for breakfast with our coffee on Christmas morning. Of course, as I've said before, I know Jesus wasn't born on Christmas Day.

Another tradition my family holds today is opening up one gift on Christmas Eve. Usually it is clothes of some type to wear the next day, but not always. Here in the Philippines a lot of the Filipinos open up all their gifts on Christmas Eve. I find it kind of funny because Filipinos are a sweet people but their sense of time is "just time" and rarely will one ever be on time for an appointment or a meet up.

O Come All Ye Faithful

This comes in at number two for me. I prefer Anne Murray's version, though I think Kelly Clarkson does it pretty well, too.

The song highlights the announcement of the birth of a new king, Jesus Christ. It also speaks of the joy we have in Christ Jesus as believers and the triumph we share with Jesus when He overcame death for all who believe.

Do You Hear What I Hear?

I really like this song. It was tough to out it at number 3 so I'll call it 2 -1/2. Again, it's an old Bing Crosby classic. I guess I've always liked crooners like Bing, Frank Sinatra, Nat King Cole, Tom Jones, Perry Como, and Michael Buble'.

This is the 1963 version. Most of us weren't even a thought in the minds of our parents when this song was sung, but I assure you that God knew each of us before the creation of the universe.

The Prayer

Hard to put this at #4 but it had to so somewhere. My favorite version is by Marcelito Pomoy. He does the impossible by changing his voice to perfectly imitate both Celine Dion and Andrea Bocelli.

If you haven't heard this version, it is simply one of the best ever. But there is an other version I can really relate to here:

It features two unlikely contestants who blow the audience away on a show I used to work for: America's Got Talent (though this is the British version where they got their start). The duo is called Charlotte & Jonathan.

Mary, Did You Know?

This song is definitely a fan favorite and the lyrics are powerful. The best rendition I prefer is by the Pentatonix.

The harmony is pretty awesome and the lyrics, as I mention will touch your heart. Just close your eyes when listening and imagine this group singing to Mary.

From my family to your family, have an advanced and very Merry Christmas.

So that's my top five. What are you five favorites and why?

Images from https://pixabay.com/

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

14
$ 9.30
$ 6.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.45 from @MarielB22
$ 0.50 from @AceyDeucey
+ 7
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Jesus, Christmas

Comments

I'm glad it's not a traditional mainstream list. I honestly didn't know most of it, but what I looked at was such an amazing selection!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You must be very young. All of these are traditional Christmas songs. But I am glad you liked them anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm quite young. But it's more that I'm not from an English-speaking country, so it's mainly our Christmas songs that are popular, or the mainstream English ones.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I see. Yes, that would make a big difference. Thanks for letting me know and I understand perfectly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful songs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coincidentally come o ye faithful was sung as the closing hymn in Church last Sunday; it's one of my favourites as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's one of the more popular Christ-centered songs sung in church.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only one I know perfectly is "O come all years faithful. Now I love Little drummer boy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aren't they both just great? Thanks for reading, Ada and advance Merry Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also love O come all ye faithful, it is my best song while in secondary school

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It seems to be a favorite of many people. Good message in the lyrics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good picks. Advance Merry Christmas to you and yours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, Mariel. Looks like Typhoon Odette might come back around and hit northern Luzon on Wednesday, the day before Christmas Eve. I hope not but that's what the current map is showing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, my Weather Radar app shows a 95% chance for Luzon (north).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All great songs, dude. I had never heard #5 and gave it a listen. Pretty darn good. I think the woman, as pretty as she is, kind of ruins it, though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have to agree. She's a great vocalist but something seems off among the men.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also love the song come all ye faithful I think we have something in common . Happy Christmas in advance

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I really loved some of the Christmas songs you listed like , little drummer and o come all yes faithful, these song has been use usually as Christmas carol in my church. I also wish you happy Christmas too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, Rosh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also love the Oh come all ye faithful, I learned that song in my highschool days and we also sing that at church. I also love Christmas songs. We usually have Christmas presentations last time singing different Christmas songs.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Really cool for any occasion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Oh come all ye faithful joyful and triumphant. Right from secondary school when we sing it on assembly. Christmas songs are generally beautiful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Generally is a good term. I'm not into the modern versions. It's like they are showing off more than anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago