Motorcycles: Convenient but Deadly

10 18
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Transportation in the Philippines is substandard at best. The MRT and LRT lines have improved but are still packed when lockdowns are not in place. Most of our roads are subpar, jammed, and traffic congestion is the norm. Bicycling is also dangerous, cars are expensive for most people, and the facts regarding traffic accidents reveal that many "licensed drivers" should not be on the road.

Convenience

It may be argued that new bridges and tollways are making travel more convenient. A trip from Manila via the NLEX and on up to Baguio may be completed in a tad over 4 hours, driving the speed limit, providing of course, one leaves no later than 4:30 a.m. I've made the trip numerous times in relative safety. There are always bad drivers on the highways who are driving much too fast, and in the end getting nowhere important.

Since the #pandemic was unleased on the world, travelers have certainly been more inconvenienced. Checkpoints, restrictions, vaccine passports, traffic backlogs, and our transportation systems have all forced us to take a convenience hit when moving about the country.

Motorcycles

After being run off the road in Angeles City by a car for a second time a few years ago, I finally sold my motorcycle and have never regretted it. I probably saved my life.

#Motorcycles are inexpensive and convenient for getting to and from destinations, and they are cheap on gas. But let's take a look at the dangers motorcycle owners face.

According to Jess Diaz (2019) of the Philippine Star, motorcycles are the 9th leading cause of death in the #Philippines. On the surface, this does not appear to be a big deal, but I believe it is indeed. They are simply not safe because they offer little if any protection to their operators.

Photo by Bombo Radyo

Some 65% plus of all traffic accidents in the country involve motorcycles (Motorcycle, 2019). According to the same report, 53% of all accidents resulting in #death stem from motorcycle-related mishaps. The majority are head injuries and related trauma.

The report (2019) goes on to state that in 2019 (the latest statistics), 86 motorcycle accidents occurred per day, for a total of 31,279 for the year 2019.

The answer from the government that was meant to decrease accidents and deaths? #Taxes. It's insane when you think about it, because motorcycle accidents and deaths have actually increased since the law was enacted.

I live 70 meters from MacArthur Highway. We see one motorcycle accident a day here. Speeding, reckless overtaking and traffic congestion, replete with operator frustration, are the primary causes of motorcycle accidents.

An aside

As an aside, the Philippines is the only country I am aware of where a driver involved in an accident can be jailed. I may be wrong. The law is simply more insanity, if indeed it is an accident. This means that innocent drivers are going to jail or prison for the reckless behaviors of other drivers.

Safety

Many motorcycle operators (primarily men) are in a big hurry to go nowhere. Additionally, too many on a motorbike make an accident inevitable. Dangerous behaviors, including not wearing a helmet, are foolish.

Finally, those appearing at an accident scene simply take videos for their #Facebook. Those who do help until the authorities arrive, do not know First Aid. If you do not know how to treat any accident victim, either learn or stay away.

Experience

Last year I assisted at a motorcycle accident scene mere meters from my then home. The driver had attempted to overtake my neighbors SUV on the right side of the road when the SUV driver was turning right. He crashed into the rear of the SUV and was thrown to the middle of the highway, his helmeted head striking the unforgiving pavement.

I ran to the scene and many began to gather. Experienced in First Aid from my days in the US Army, I immediately saw two critical mistakes being made by the well intended helpers: 1. they gave the driver water to drink; and 2. they propped his head up on his helmet. Big no-no's!

I advised the helpers not to do what they were doing but they didn't listen, so I stepped back, hoping for the best. Unfortunately, he died due from his head injury due to the above mistakes.

The young man was a member of a prominent political clan and they took immediate action against my neighbor, despite the fact that he was not at fault.

The neighbor was forced to pay for all the hospital and funeral expenses, plus an additional 250,000 pesos. I saw this as a travesty of justice, which happens a lot in the country.

So if you're considering buying or keeping your motorcycle, take every precaution you can and obey the laws. And remember, the best driver is a defensive rather than an offensive operator. Oh, and people who are driving cars and trucks are not paying attention to motorcycle drivers. Ingat lagi!

References

Diaz, J. (2019). Motorcycle crashes No. 9 killer in Philippines. Philippine Star. Retrieved from https://www.philstar.com/nation/2019/10/06/1957784/motorcycle-crashes-no-9-killer-philippines

Motorcycle accidents statistics Philippines. (2019). Retrieved fromhttps://reviewmotors.co/motorcycle-accidents-statistics-philippines/

5
$ 8.38
$ 6.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.18 from @MarielB22
$ 0.10 from @RazorFist
+ 1
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Comments

This is the reason why I stopped practicing driving a motorcycle. I literally went down on a hole on my fifth attempt. I'm never gonna drive again. I only received bruises on my elbows and knees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least you learned your lesson early and survived. Good for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good synopsis of the topic. Going to catch a sermon and write later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. Cool on the sermon. I'll look for your article later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not cool about the law there. Accidents are accidents. Whenever I come there I will hire a driver as opposed to renting a car. Motorcycles are safe in my neck of the woods. Very few drivers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw a motorcycle wreck north of you when I was driving from Ontario, Canada to New York on Route 400. A car sideswiped the bike in Toronto and he hit another car. I saw his helmet go flying off, thinking it was his head! Thankfully he turned out to be okay, and the car hit and ran.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father is a motorcycle mechanic and all my life since I was a kid was spent in helping my pop fixing motorcycles although I never learned how to assemble a motorcycle engine but i can disassemble all parts of it. I have met several motorcycle accidents back in the province when I was just a youngster. Mostly are wreck less and driving drunk.

When I started working in Manila I promise my self not to have a motorcycle because I know the dangers of riding a motorcycle here particularly in highways of EDSA and Commonwealth Ave.

When the pandemic came, I have no choice but to purchase one because it is really necessary. You know if you will commute here just going to the market will cost you high amount in transport fare.

I know it is dangerous and deadly but having one is my choice because these days it is really necessary for me.

We have our own perspective on anything, we have also our own choices to make and yes we just have to make sure to always take extra precautions and safety measures.

Good read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Understood. We are forced to make choices at times that we would not ordinarily make. Be safe! EDSA is a killer. I despise it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, they're quite cheap and convenient, but at the cost of safety. That story about the accident is quite sad. If only they listened to you, maybe the guy could've been saved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always wondered why the political family didn't go after those who mistreated him. Maybe because they had no money?

$ 0.00
2 years ago