Late Starts can be Great Starts

13 23
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

I don't like being late to anything, even to the dentist. When a person is regularly late it demonstrates to others their lackadaisical attitude and lack of commitment to another person's time. I never trust a habitually late person in any of my affairs. Never. Late starts can be great starts or lead to ruin.

Yesterday's example

Yesterday I had an appointment with a well-known attorney where I live, a mover and a shaker. It was for 11 a.m. An important document needed to be signed/notarized. I was at her office at 10:30 a.m. It was my hope that she might be available earlier and that I could go buy some groceries at the SM supermarket afterward. No dice.

At 11:20, the secretary came out and handed me her phone. It was the attorney on the line, stating she could not make it at 11. She advised that I simply leave the document for her to notarize. What could I do? It had taken me a week to even get the appointment!

Around 3:30 p.m., I was finally home with the notarized document. My day was half shot to pieces. I will not use the attorney again. This is a poor example of the consequences of her being #late that falls on her.

Jobs and film audition interviews

As a #business owner, I hire on occasion. You would not believe how many people show up late with #excuses. I send them out the door immediately.

I also run a #film production company. I hold #auditions to pick the best suitable actors/actresses for all the roles. Again, many people show up late - a definite no-no in the film business. They are never hired. Why? Because if they are late to an audition, they will likely be late to a film shoot and set back production. This costs me or any other filmmaker money.

Time

Various cultures have different perspectives of time. In the U.S, we have a saying: time is money. In South Korea, time is gold. In the Philippines, time is just time.

Timing is everything. You cannot expect a joke to be funny without proper timing. Improper timing at a traffic signal can get you killed. You get the idea.

God's timing

You who regularly read my posts already knew I was going here. It is always my goal to take circumstances from our everyday life and provide ethics (applications) from God's word, the Bible.

God exists outside of time in eternity. He gives us the sun, mathematics and seasons so we can have a concept of time.

God regularly stepped into time and still does. He is immutable, which is to say He never changes.

"Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever" (Hebrews 13:8, NIV).

Before the beginning of time, as we know it, God the Father had a plan in the works: Jesus His Son was His instrument for the Creation (John 1:1), the Holy Spirit for sustaining it.

Acquaint yourself with God's timing

Nothing could be more important than getting on board with God and His perfect timing. Absolutely nothing. Quite often we take our time for granted, always expecting to see the sun rise the next day. But we know from experience this is not always so - people die when they do not expect to.

"Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring" (Proverbs 27:1, NIV).

"The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord" (Lamentations 3:25-26, NIV).

See the problem here? Far too often we brag about the next day before the present day is even finished. We say things like, "Tomorrow I will get busy." And, "The next day is the day I will get more motivated." Or "Tomorrow is when I'll make more money." "The next day is when I will trust the Lord God."

In like manner, we are impatient. Our world teaches us the wrong concept of instant gratification. We say, "I need money now!" Or "Hurry up, I need or want this and that!"

We are impatient creatures. But God is not necessarily.

"But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day. The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance" (2 Peter 3:8-9, NIV).

But God's patience has its limits. While late starts can be great starts, they can also lead to eternal ruin.

Consider this

Where were you late the last time? What have you been putting off lately? Are you impatient with anything? What is your sole motivation in life? Money? Fame?

What about God's plan for your life? Have you ignored it? Most have and will to their own eternal destruction (Matthew 7:13-14).

"For he says, 'In the time of my favor I heard you, and in the day of salvation I helped you.' I tell you, now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation' (2 Corinthians 6:2, NIV)

It's best to get a late start while there is today. "Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes" (James 4:14, NIV).

Be sure to be acquainted with God's perfect timing. Now is the day.

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty


10
$ 5.62
$ 5.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @MarielB22
$ 0.07 from @RazorFist
+ 4
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Comments

God's timing is the best, it works out easily,even if it does not go smoothly 1 John 4:4. I think why most people miss it ,it's because of impatience.. Your article brought in remembrance moses bliss song titled;You are too faithful to fail me😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

1 John 4:4 reads this: "You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"God is never late" because his time is the best. Just like whe lazarus died, they told jesus he was late but as usual he marvelled everyone!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

John 11. Good job!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do lates but as much as I can I will never be late. God's timing is always on time, He answered prayers on time where I needed it the most. Sometimes people want hurry answered prayer but God knows when is the perfect timing of it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. One of my former pastors was late to a meeting once because of unusual traffic. Come to find out, had he been on time that day there was a high probability he would have been involved in a fatal accident. Patience is key. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same what happen to our pastor. Always welcome and all of the time I will visit it. Thank you also :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Niceeeee. Using a hunting and fishing analogy, if you are not timely, you can miss game and also sit with an empty line for hours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Been there, done that! hahahahahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah buddy! Me too. Often. Much too often.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So you like punctuality. Time to time, words to words. That's good.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I respect my time, the time of others, but most of all, God's time. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago