Imitating Others - Who do You Imitate?

18 47
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: God, People, Wisdom

"Many often applaud an imitation and hiss the real thing" - Aesop. When I was a kid I wanted to be three things when I grew up: a professional American football player, a brave, elite soldier, and a race car driver. My heroes were the U.S film actor and Hollywood icon, John Wayne, a quarterback with the Minnesota Vikings, Joe Kapp, and race car drivers like Mario Andretti and A.J. Foyt.

I went on to play semi-professional football as a wide receiver and a flanker, became an elite paratrooper/infantryman in the U.S. Army, and drove race cars for a few years. But I wasn't nearly as successful as my heroes.

As kids we played football on the streets, in schools and played rough. Whether it was under the California sun or on a rain-soaked, muddy field, we always played with reckless abandon.

In like manner, I imitated John Wayne. I fought the neighborhood bullies who poked fun at my deaf and blind sister when I had to, performed dangerous stunts, and tackled obstacles with hardly a thought of the risk involved.

In the military I jumped out of perfectly good airplanes, earned medals for extraordinary accomplishments and was battle ready at all times. And when driving dirt track race cars I sometimes drove without brakes at 160 k.p.h.

Imitation

Over the past 12 plus years here in the #Philipines, I have noticed an exceptionally high degree of imitation among the population. For example, when someone is successful in business, people simply copy the format, even to the point that their business is next to the one they copied. We often see this in the town markets with almost identical stalls.

And people like to imitate the manners and looks of Koreans, their favorite celebrities, singers, dancers and other people they admire. It's natural. Each of us observes something in others which makes us want to be more like them.

The missing ingredient

As much as we want to imitate others, the majority of us lack a most important ingredient: innovation. We obtain the information about those we admire, and then imitate them to a certain degree. But rarely, if ever, do we take the next necessary step and innovate, that is, the introduction of new things or methods.

Perhaps when we desire to switch from imitating someone and imitate another instead, is because we have not only failed to innovate and grow, but because we did not persevere.

Imitate Him

I do my best to imitate Jesus. He and the writers of the 26 New Testament books clearly stated that one must be a disciple, that is, a person who picks up his/her cross daily, lives with a new life in Christ, and follows His commands. It's not a bowl of cherries kind of life, but requires discipline, hard work and and the wherewithal to be joyous in every situation.

But back to the Aesop quote: "Many often applaud an imitation and hiss the real thing"

People hiss at the name of Jesus and instead applaud His imitators: preachers, teachers, false prophets, leaders of the blind, satanic personalities, seers, witch doctors, practitioners of the magic arts. idols and others. Beloved friends, this should not be so.

Scripture reminders

Even Peter, one of the more heady, stubborn, impetuous persons who preached the good news of the gospel, wrote: "To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps (1 Peter 2:21, NIV).

And the Apostle Paul wrote: "Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ" (1 Corinthians 11:1, NIV).

And, "Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God" (Ephesians 5:1-2, NIV).

Jesus said, "Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls" (Matthew 11:29, NIV).

Encouragement

There is certainly nothing wrong with the art of imitation. But we have to innovate (change) and persevere.

And who better to imitate than Christ Jesus, the perfect example? Will movie stars, celebrities, and others offer you peace and rest for your souls? Will false prophets, fortune tellers, demonic spirits, superstitions, traditions and idols benefit your life?

Call on the Name of Jesus and be imitators of He who saves to the uttermost.

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

13
$ 15.80
$ 14.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.33 from @MarielB22
$ 0.07 from @RazorFist
+ 3
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: God, People, Wisdom

Comments

Every man or woman is an imitator, imitation by ignorance or by knowledge but what matter now is for a personality or a believer to recognise and identify the true person that he or she needs to imiate which is Christ jesus not the preacher or the teacher but Christ alone

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Correct. Christians should ensure that the preacher or teacher's words line up with God's word.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The reason we have 'fashion trends'. Everyone imitates or 'takes inspiration' from their favourite celebrities, whether it makes sense or not, for example- Crocs!

Biker shorts were brought back in trend by Kanye and the Kardashian clan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't follow fashion trends nor do I want to, and this is because I don't want to be like everybody else. I also do not care if I am popular or up-to-date regarding the things of this world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think all of us are good imitators. But, if we imitate, try to imitate the person that can really help you to change into a better person.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That would be the living God for me and my household.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, Exactly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We sometimes need role models. We just copy the aspect of their lives that we value and incorporate it into ours. We don't have to copy everything they do and do it exactly the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Imitating christ thats one thing my mother made sure she taught me, I believe every believer should do that❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Should, yes, but why? Because it is a command of God. Yep!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Discipleship. You always put that in your articles. Amen to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You noticed. I do it because the NT calls for it. That emotional "Hey, I raised my hand and I'm saved" moment will never cut it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are naturally born imitators. The thing we must do is to choose to imitate the One who is worthy to be imitated for.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely correct. It's amazing in a way how many people never realize this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter how bad we are but the love of God for us is constant. According to John 3:16- "For God so loved the world, that He gave his only begotten Son, that whoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Spot on. Therefore, we are to love one another, amen?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There you go again, taking everyday life situations and applying a new way of application. Bravo, Sir.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Imitating Christ is working for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago