First Watercolor Artwork

20 40
Avatar for Schire
Written by
3 years ago

Hi there! Let's spread good thoughts today. And to somehow brighten it up, I want to show you guys my first watercolor painting! But before that, I want to give you a little background about the time when I rarely try painting.

If you've already read my introduction article(Who Am I?), you will notice there that I mentioned that I was an editorial cartoonist for a campus newspaper before.

Most of the time, cartoonists only use black ink and charcoal for their cartoon. This is because most newspapers are published in black and white. It was actually just recently that there are some newspapers that have colors on their cartoons on the editorial page.

And since I've been a cartoonist since I was very young, probably around 9 or 10 years old since I started during my 4th grade, I was used in using only black ink in all my artworks. I never had this talent in combining colors and I find it very hard to identify what colors compliment each other so I rarely paint or do artworks that involve lots of it. Maybe the only time that I could use those colors was whenever I join art competitions which of course somehow require your artworks to be eye-catching. And one of the best ways to do that was to make it colorful.

But then I realized that a good artist also knows how to learn other forms of art and considers all artworks beautiful. Art will forever be beautiful but beauty changes through time. A great artist knows how to be versatile enough to deal with different kinds of beauty because that is one way to make better art that can inspire everyone.

So then I started learning the use of other art medium aside from black ink and charcoal. This time, I learned how to use watercolor.

First draft

This was the first draft of my watercolor painting. As you can see, I only used two colors for starters. I wanted to learn combining colors little by little so I only started with only two. It wasn't that polished, which was expected since it was my first time using watercolor.

Second draft

Now this was my almost finished art. I was honestly kind of satisfied during this time because I thought it actually came out good.

Watercolor is very hard to manipulate since they spread out fast with water. Also you have to dry it first a little bit before putting another color or you will combine it accidentally and you wouldn't be able to achieve the color that you want.

Final artwork!

This was the finished product! Doing an artwork using an art medium that you aren't used to is definitely hard. I think I spent around 3-4 hours in doing this. Yes, that's a long time but it was really hard to maintain the original colors that I wanted.

The intensity of watercolor changes when it dries up. So if you think that it's dark enough, wait for it to dry first and you will see what it actually looks like.

Right now, I've been somehow practicing a lot of art using different media and doing watercolor painting has unbelievably became one of my favorites. I am still not that good in combining and complimenting colors but I just let it be. It's art- it's beautiful and it's free.

I hope this art made you feel nice today. Let's forget about all the negative things that happened and let's focus in spreading good vibes.

Always inspire and love, keep safe! 💕

Be part of a wonderful community where sponsors support authors creating quality content and reward them with their activities. Join "Get Sponsored" community now to know more. Check out this link.❤️

https://read.cash/c/get-sponsored-2a0b

Thank you @Ashma for motivating authors.❤️

16
$ 2.71
$ 2.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Schire
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Schire
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You're doing good !! Keep it up and never stop painting/drawing. Good luck 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much! I appreciate this. 😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's very creative dear. Hope you'll do more of this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Will try to do more. 😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love arts. 😍 I'll be waiting for that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really nice artwork.. Keep it upp👏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very creative. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. ,💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep up a good work, its very creative. Looking forward for your next artwork.😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. 💕💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice work!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago