Meeting a close friend virtually after 30 years

4 15
Avatar for Sashaa
Written by
1 year ago

It came as a surprise when yesterday I had a call in my mobile from.an unknown number. At first I hesitated to take the call. But then the same number was beeping in my whatsapp number. So then I decided to attend the call.

Image from unsplash.com by Omar Lopez

On saying hello, I got the answer in our local language. "Hi, Hello, R u so and so....Do you remember me. Iam so and so.....How are you? Where are you? I was hunring for you for ao long . Finally..." All these questions in one breathe. Infact from the other side I was dumbstruck, hearing this voice after ages, a gap of 30 years. She was one of my best friend during my college days.

I was happy at the same time curious to know how on earth she got my number. She was calling from another state of India. We last met on the day of convocation - the day we were conferred with our graduation degree. That was our last meeting.

We, a group of 7 to 8 girls were always together. The previous day of convocation we friends including me took permission from our respective parents to spend a day with friends on the convocation day. After convocation and a photo taking ceremony, we all had a grand dinner in a grand hotel and finally after lot of hugs and tears in eyes we seperated, never thinking we will get in touch again. That was the last I met her.

At this point, I would like to thank the advancement of technology and internet, without whose support we would still be in two corners of the state with no contact. The whatapp and Facebook has advanced a lot, where at one click you get the A to Z details of a persin.

Those days we just had a land line phone. The telephone with Dial system. There were no mobiles or internet. So communication was a problem. But then, the postal department was active those days. Hence we could communicate by sending and receiving letters. Gradually this also stopped and finally no contact.

Her call came as a shower of rain for me, a non stop chatter box we used to call her. And after years I could feel the same from her voice when I was talking to her. She was eager to tell about her and to know about me.

When talking to an old friend, automatically our mind reverts to those beautiful days with that friend. She was talking about her two grown up sons who are now working in a multinational company. Grown up children meaning we have become old enough to share the stories of those good old days days, where there was no space for responsibilities.

Now its vice-versa, where responsibilities are above our shoulders. Comparatively these days time seems to be limited.

Sometimes, its always good to calm down from you busy schedule and look back the journey you went through. We will definitely have lot of untold stories, great adventures, the furious look of teachers on knowing we bunked their classes, the canteen days, the cultural fest, the sports meet, the lunch time, purposely missing the bus inorder to get late, getting caught in a cinema theater from someone known to us. All these and much more remarkable experiences one should have definitely gone through.

5
$ 0.42
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 2
Avatar for Sashaa
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I can almost feel how excited you are meeting with friends you haven't seen in a long time. Such happiness!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Really. It is undescribale. No words. She said she will be travelling soon to meet me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There will always be those friends that feels like you have never separated despite the distance and time apart. I am glad for that virtual reunion. Such a happy story!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks a lot my dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago