SECOND: Inside-out approach to improvement.

2 25

Most people would agree that in the long run an Inside-out approach is more effective and more predictable than the outside-in approach.

The Inside-out approach basically means that we need to work on ourselves first.

I redefine our challenges from “How circumstances and people should be different (Outside-in)” To “How can I be different” (Inside-out) To get a different result.

When we focus on changing ourselves, We then put less focus on being a victim.

We also put greater emphasis where we have the greatest influence—ourselves.

When we change, We define the circumstances around us differently.

For example, With an outside-in approach we may see the world through the lenses of challenges and problems.

Through the Inside-out approach, However, We could look at the exact same circumstances and see opportunity and a chance to make a contribution.

As different industries and even nations go through varied economic Cycles, You have heard countless stories of those who have made their fortunes in the midst of economic downturns.

Those who take an outside-in approach are paralyzed, Staring at the problem, While those who take an Inside-out approach make their fortunes—and both are looking at the same data.

A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity;an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.

In the home, One may see a recurring and annoying problem, While someone else may see no problem at all.

For example, One particular summer day I came from work, And I couldn't get into my garage m

Between the street and the garage in my driveway were my children's bicycles, Toys, Sidewalk chalk, And so forth.

I parked in the street and told my children to remove the clutter from the driveway, Which they happily did, And I then parked in the garage.

The following day (I think you can see where this is going), I saw the same jumble once more.

Again I told them to remove the clutter (Using a little more stern voice), And they obeyed just as they had on the previous day.

On the third day, To my amazement, I saw the same clutter for the third day in a row.

If I took strictly outside-in approach, I could define this driveway problem a number of ways.

First, I could identify the kids as being the problem.

I could rationalize to myself that for one reason or another they just don't understand what I'm trying to teach them.

Second, I could identify the problem as the bicycles and toys.

I could say to myself, “I knew we shouldn't have bought so many toys and bicycles. They have too much stuff.”

Third, (In a moment of temporary insanity) I could identify the problem as my mom.

I could storm into the house and demand to know, “Mom, What have you been doing all day?” By the way, This is the kind of mistake that can only be made once!

Looking at it from an Inside-out approach, However, My mom reminded me that the children had been happily playing in the driveway every afternoon.

There wasn't a problem until I got home!. When my mom and I discussed it, Neither she nor the kids considered it a problem.

As far as I concerns, The simple solution was for me to call home before I left the office, And the kids would clean up the clutter before I arrived.

I went from taking an outside-in approach which I saw a problem, To a very simple Inside-out approach in which my concern was resolved in one conversation.

A challenge with the Inside-out approach, However, Is that even though we may cognitively agree it is a better Approach, Sometimes we're not quite sure how to implement it.

Based on the Winston Churchill quote about an optimist focusing on the opportunity instead of the difficulty—if we do see things in a pessimistic way, Are we suppose to just flip a switch, And all of a sudden we're optimists? We're not quite sure where to begin or what to do next.

Another challenge with the Inside-out approach is, Not knowing what to change about ourselves, Not knowing how much change is enough, And whether we are going at the right way.

How do we get to the point where we look at the world through an inside out approach, (Understanding that we need to look in our own mirrors for the answer) Without feeling like whatever we do is not good enough or there is always something wrong with us?

📣KINDLY LIKE THIS ARTICLE IF YOU LIKE IT. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR READING.

I push myself to finish this even though I'm late at work 🤣

I hope you like it 😇

@Sarahmaygloria1 on twitter @Sarahmay152113 on telegram

7
$ 0.43
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
$ 0.01 from @Shitcoincharter
Sponsors of Sarahmay
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Nice article and the story about your kids and the garage.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for your appreciation and for the upvotes ❤️😍 If its okay for you, please read my new published, 😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago