A house burnt almost to ashes in my area yesterday

10 31
Avatar for Sammy1
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life Lessons

I write with so much pain in my heart as the news, pictures and videos of a burning house in my area was sent on my facebook timeline yesterday. It happened in my absence after i've left home for my office where i usually seek my daily bread.

Yesterday was so a very busy day for me as usual though i was very determined not to work for so long before taking my leave for the day given how tough it was to navigate home on a vehicle after the day's work as everyone would be seen trying to use the road at the same time for no one wants to be caught up in the ever Lagos State notorious traffic jam where hours are usually spent on a single spot after the ever hectic day at the office.

With that in mind, i decided i close on time being the chief executive officer (c.e.o) of my own buisness which accords me that ultimate decision making right.

While i was trying to see if i could fix up myself by ensuring i hadn't left anything of value outside for an invitation of the "men of the underworld", did i notice a pop up message sound on my phone and with that in mind, i quickly tried to open and check what message it was that had entered my timeline and found out a header message that ran some shock through my gentle spine even before reading the full content of the message.

With that shock i initially had when i had seen the header image, i was at this point in time moved by my curiosity to want to know more about the said ugly event that had taken place in my area.

At first, i had this very odd feeling that why would my own area be on the news for all the wrong reason? The answer to that my wonderment question has remained ever so elusive to an extent that i have been left thinking since that same yesterday as regards why such an ugly scene was not avoided by all means available but guess what, you may never know as the challenges of life keeps taking us all unawares. This is indeed true and it also served as a source of encouragement for me.

Therefore, with that curiosity of wanting to know all that had transpired, i quickly opened my facebook timeline and lo and behold! It was true, my neighbours: Mr Ahmed's, Mr Johnson's, Mr Aborinde's, Mr Uche's, Iya Rashida's and a host of others properties have been engupled by fire and with that alone as i had at that time called some friends and neighbours around in order to acertain the extent of damage by the fire at my place in Church Bustop where I was given tons of all that had transpired in my absence.

With that and based on the situation report I had gotten from the said friends and neighbours i had initially called in order to acertain the extent of the damage done by this unfortunate fire incidence did tears begin to drop down my cheeks. You know what, as at the time of viewing it on my facebook wall, many properties that were worth several million of naira (Nigerian local currency name) have been burnt to ashes, that is, those items that were found inside the house and those in the rented shop apartments where they did buisenesses for their daily bread.

Everything was burnt almost to ashes as hadly would one pick up a pin from the now too many damages that have been done on the said building due to the fire outbreak.

The situation was such a very horrible and terrifying one as i've been restless since that yesterday down to this moment.

At this point though, everyone tried giving a helping hand to help salvage the situation but it was to no avail as virtually everything was razed down in that fire inferno.

When I tried asking what had happened that resulted in the fire, all the eye witness accounts we received since that yesterday and now as at the time of filing this report had it that the National Electric Power Auyhority Of Nigeria (NEPA) who's intolerable and intermittent power supply at all times had been responsible for the fire out break.

When i showed all manners of determination in knowing how and why would such be the case did a person from the already huge crowd going by the picture you are seeing above then called on my attention by asking me if "i'm a foreigner in their midst for not knowing and understanding the Nigerian failed system"? Hmmmn that was very huge a question to answer o!

At a point, I felt very insulted at the way he carelessly threw that ugly question at me but in a while, i still cautioned myself as against raising an eye brawl as what he had asked earlier on was nothing but the truth. Yes it was nothing but the bittermost truth in a typical failed Nigerian system whereby you pay all the government's aligned taxes but you are not enjoying even up to 3% of the taxes you paid across the many aspects of the economy.

Take for example, the roads across the Nigerian States are not in order and cars are being spoilt on a daily basis using these roads yet we pay taxes.

What about the issues of the so called power supply unit of Nigeria I had said earlier on? NEPA? That is even in the worst case scenario the worst of them all. Tell me, how could you pay a tax to have a 24hour regular power supply but you end up getting about 4hours a day and most times none for the whole day, yet we pay taxes and are being mandated to do so with a threat of using the same unworthy law that seems not to condem that inappopriate governmental acts of not making these neccessary provisions to get offenders arrested for not paying taxes.

What about the police brutality in the system whose jobs of overseeing the citizens safety and that of settling of disputes have been relegated to the back door and replaced with all forms of animalistic behaviours of brutalising anyone who ever dared to challenge the well established corrupt failed laws of the entity called Nigeria.

These list will go on and on wihout making any head way hence, that which I fear the most may yet chance if all hands are not put on deck to correcting these unwanted ills in our society using Satire.

The untimely response of the so-called fire service department.

The news had it from still the eye witness accounts that the situation would have been salvaged were it to be that the so-called fire department had done all within their best possible in controlling the situation before it degenerates into something very serious.

The truth of the matter is that the the fire service department came so late which was a little bit tolerable but the most and intolerable aspect of it was that they came to quench the fire wihout having water in their fire fighter truck and with that, i began questioning the rationale behind their ingenuity, insincerity and their total unprofessional behaviours in their own field where they are supposed to be on top of their game hahahahaha! ... a Laughable situation isn't it?πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

My total regrets and closing note.

I totally regretted haven existed in this part of the world where the care for human lives have been swept under the carpet for only God knows when.

I totally regret having a corrupt system where the full detects of the law, the constitution and all forms of constitutionalism are all but a mirage of expectations that would never be met even in a thousand years to come.

I totally regret seeing myself in a part of the world where poverty are cautiously created for a larger part of the populace so as to navigate, control and threaten their minds at will with all impudence wihout having any form of fear or favour for the weak law.

I totally regret existing in this part of the world where the so-called last hope of the common man - the judiciary, is corrupt, myopic and compromised. Tell me, what then are the chances that are left of us - the common man!

I totally regret existing in this part of the world whereby you say and criticize the government's failures by speaking the truth, you die and you don't do any of the above said, you still die. Oh what a part of the world with all forms of hopelessness in view and in action.

I totally regret existing in this part of the world where all forms of criminality,banditry and terrorrism are handled with much levity whilst a negotiation of the giving of money to life wasters are being glorified on a daily basis. What future are we assured of?

I totally regret existing in this part of the world where the freedom of the press and all forms of media publicities and criticisms and crittique are prohibited. How then will the fortunate people on the other side of the world hear our cry for help and come to our rescue?

I totally regret existing in a non proactive nation that handles serious issues as if they are worth nothing.

I totally regret existing in this part of the world where the citizens that are seen carrying the country's national flag are shot dead with the flags of solidarity for the love of their nation in their hands. Oh what an absurd cruelty of the highest order!

Finally, iam seek and totally tired of Nigeria and being a Nigerian citizen whether by default or otherwise with no where to run to as the salvaging grounds of survival.😑😠

Thanks for reading my article. I hope you remain blessed and enjoy the rest of your day. Love you all!❀.

All image are a screenshot of my facebook timelineπŸ‘Œ

11
$ 0.30
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.04 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 6
Sponsors of Sammy1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sammy1
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life Lessons

Comments

Eeeya.....

What a great loss for properties. Hope no life was lost

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No life was lost at all we thank God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Firstly I am so sad to hear about your neighbours, I do hope nobody was hurt. Secondly I am so sad to see that Nigeria still is as corrupt as it was when I used to work there. I feel for all Nigerians and just only wish the government and businesses would get their act together.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray so too o. We are in pains in this only needing God's mercy in our lives

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh gosh... that's really sad... I hope no one was hurt. And damn that fire service for going in late...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No to the glory of God and damn the fire fighters for all the more pains they've caused ua

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The painful part is that it is true. There is still a lot of work to be done by the government and somehow it looks as though they are not even bothered by the lives and properties of it's citizens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our government's total negligence is a bad resort for us all and the effect is strong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray God helps us. This is very bad and we Nigerians have one bad attitude. Instead of rescuing victims, that's when we'll remember to do video. And again NEPA isn't doing well at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly bro. Most persons are making videos instead of saving tjbose in a distress what a world

$ 0.00
2 years ago