Ethergram.io - Like Hive, POB and Leo but for ETH fans!

5 39
Avatar for Samantha-Smith
2 years ago

I have been a member of the Ethereum Facebook group for some time now as I am both invested in Eth and mine it on my pc. Through my membership of this FB group, I have discovered ethergram.io , which is touted as a clone of Steemit. The official launch was 17 July 2021, so you can get in on the ground floor here so to speak, at it's infancy.

Co-founded by Mark Bretl, it is in his words:

A "decentralized and censorship resistant social network that rewards cryptocurrency for your content. Upcoming NFT airdrops, Axie Infinity clone and NFT market to monetise your photography are on the roadmap." Seems they are looking to right where Steemit went wrong.

Mark's intro post on Ethergram can be viewed here:

hi my name is mark

From what I can see on my short time here, having just signed up today, the look and feel is very much like Hive PEAKd / Proof of Brain / Leofinance (I was never on Steemit) and they are listed on Hive Engine.

Just like Hive PEAKd / Proof of Brain / Leofinance, members post their own articles, covering all nature of content, and curate other author's articles, earning Ether or Ethereal, Ether Power and Ether dollars as rewards in the process. Just like Hive PEAKd /POB/Leo, posts use the all familiar tagging, upvotes and downvotes. It is so familiar to navigate that I would have thought I was actually on the Hive! Except that Ethergram runs on it's own Graphene blockchain. Another difference is that rewards are split roughly 75% to author / 25% between curators, instead of 50/50 as in Hive.

Like any of these platforms, people should look to be in it for the longer term to help the platform grow and not be looking for the quick buck. So any rewards earned should be powered up to increase voting power to support and grow the community and I hope for their sake that the members there have a similar protective community ethos to what is found on the Hive and in certain Hive communities like POB and Leofinance. Read.cash is also a very supportive and protective community of it's own, it just operates slightly differently in terms of reward generation and allocation.

I still haven't decided what to do with this new platform, as my primary home will remain Proof of Brain, although I also post in PEAKd, Leofinance, Read.cash and Publish0X, but it is nice to have options and other opportunities to engage with wider communities.

Signup simply requires a username which then generates a login key which you have to save immediately. It is not recoverable, so back it up! Tip: On a mobile phone the whole key/password is not visible when you sign up so make sure you copy and paste it to notes or something so you can save the entire key/password offline!

Nothing really else to add other than if you want to have a presence on an Ether platform too (albeit that you don't earn Eth as in Ethereum, but Ethergram's own native token Ether (or Ethereal), engage with a different set of content creators and grow a little 'Ether' pot in the process, here is your chance to get in early! Time will tell if they have the same value constructs as the Hive and Proof of Brain but their mission seems to be to right the wrongs found in Steemit.

Appreciate that some will be very protective of their existing communities, and I am too, but diversity exists and should be embraced, and at the very least explored if it interests you.

Their FAQ is quite useful and should answer most of your burning questions.

Finally, sign up is here, no affiliation or referral links imbedded:

Sign up

Photo credit: Mark Bretl

Note: Mark Bretl has actively asked for people to share his post on social media which included this logo.

3
$ 1.46
$ 1.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Morning_Star
$ 0.05 from @Just1dood
+ 2
Sponsors of Samantha-Smith
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Samantha-Smith
2 years ago

Comments

I was about to ask about cross posting but it seems like it's the same in any platform, no? We have to mention where it was originally posted. I'll try to look into this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is something new. If cross-postings aren't allowed, then it'll be tough to attract those who have invested so much of their time in other platforms.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Now this is something I would definitely love to explore.

I wonder if they allow cross-posting from other platforms and not tag my posts as plagiarized.

I could cross-post between here, Hive and Ether.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I guess you would need to mention in your article that it was originally posted elsewhere and perhaps provide the link?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing this new platform. I'll save it to explore days later :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago