How much do you love dinosaurs?

6 19

"Mama how much do you love dinosaurs?"

"What?"

"How much do you love dinosaurs?!" my 8 year old was looking at me inquisitively, I didn't see the diary she was hiding behind her back.

"Well, let's see...I love dinosaurs maybe...8 out of 10" I responded.

As soon as I said 8 out of 10 she pulled the diary out and flipped it open to a page where she drew a three dimensional raptor with pencil. I was absolutely amazed by the technical skill, time, and focus I could tell she devoted to this drawing as it was much more advanced than anything else she has shown me. I especially noticed all the eraser marks around the head and hands. "The head and the hands were the hardest part" she proceeded to explain to me. I nodded in awe, "It's amazing".

Next time a child asks you how much do you love dinosaurs be sure to tell them 10 out of 10. I can't take back my comment and every time I think about the raptor drawing I get a little heavy feeling in the top of my chest. Why did I say 8? What kind of parent am I anyhow?!

Lesson learned, Mama.

2
$ 0.00

Comments

I love dinosaurs but until now, I am still not sure if they really existed or not .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do not worry too much. It's okay not to love 10 out of 10. At least you showed interest. I knew my parents did not, I even tested it by drawing like a 2-year-old. "Fantastic," my father said behind the newspaper.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My daughter love dinosaurs too..and she also love to draw it...i learned that if your child show you her artwork always praised her work becaused it can boost her confidenced. And ability.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me I never knew anything about dinosaurs. My kids always listen nursery rhymes about them 😂 so I learned some of their names 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Think about it some other way. When you give 8 out of ten, it can also be an encouraging comment for him. It might be able to motivate him on doing better next time. When the time comes, you can give him 10 out of 10, if it is good because lying to him would not be good either.

$ 0.00
3 years ago