It's Not a Happy Ending

15 65
Avatar for Ruffa
Written by
1 year ago

It's a good way to exercise my joints and my body. That is why I love to do this now. Aside from the satisfaction that I can get, I can also have the free meals that I think I will never have if I didn't do this. I still have fears in my body but if I will let that fears, I will die of hunger. And that is why this is the only solution I have for now. Until when? Who knows, but I'll continue to do this while everything is still undiscovered. I mean, it's not like these trees could talk. Will they?

--

"Marcyyyyy! Heyyy where are you."

"When did she disappeared Ma'am? Are you sure this is the place?"

"Yes, I am sure. That's the mark we put while hiking."

"Okay, we will look more into it. You should rest Ma'am. Just wait here if you want."

"No! She's my best friend. I can't just sit around and wait here. I'll go with you."

--

The search continue but still no sign of Marcy. They already look everywhere but still no sign of her. Meriel is calm but she is already hysterical inside. And even if she want to continue the search, the officers need a rest too. They said they will continue the search and if there's still no sign of her she will conclude as a missing person.

"This is my fault. If only I didn't allow her to look for some trees with fruit on the vicinity, if only, for sure they are still together now enjoying the Minamdang Cafe on Netflix. Marcy!! Where are you. Please come back here."

And the loud cry of Meriel is the only noise that can be heard on that silent night. A wail of desperation.

--

"We will continue the search Ma'am. Be ready if you want to come." The officer.

"Yes, I'm all set. Let's go."

And the search go on but Meriel hope is getting down to zero. And even if she want to believe that Marcy is okay she's still afraid that something's really happened to her. She don't want to be negative but it's been 36 hours already but she's still nowhere to be found. She's thinking deeply that she didn't notice the the small rock on her way and that made her fall into the ground.

She cry and cry because of the fall and also with her thought that maybe Marcy is already dead. She really didn't want to think about it but her mind is saying the opposite. "Marcyyyyyyyyyy!!!" While she's still crying something caught her eyes and just to make sure she blink her eyes and confirm, it was Marcy's earring. The one she gave to her. It is her gift for her last birthday. If this one is her then she's just close to where we are now.

And not far from where the earring is located she also saw the a red dot on the rock and she's sure as hell that is is blood. "I FOUND HER!!!" She can't help but to shout because of what she found. She immediately get close to one of the officer and showed it to her. She confirm it. She also show to them the blood that she saw and confirm, it is really blood. One of the officer get a a cotton buds and use it to get the bloodstain.

"Let's move, the body is just close her."

"What body? Don't conclude that she's dead. She's alive I'm sure of it."

"Sorry Ma'am."

--

They are getting close to an unfamiliar place. Meriel is sure that they didn't check this side of the woods. If only they check this one. They focus on the other side and now that they are getting closer she can't help but to feel scared. Scared that her best friend might be already dead. She just wash away the thought and continue to walk. She need to be strong or else she will be a burden to everyone.

"Shhhhh, slow down and don't make a sound. I can see it. A small house made of wood. And there's a man on his back doing something. Ma'am is your friend wearing a white nike shoes?"

"Yes, yes, she is. And black pants and a hoodie."

"Confirm. It's her. Now, stay her and we will go there slowly. The man maybe armed so we have to make sure. Just please cooperate for your friend's sake."

"Okay okay, I will stay here."

--

She watch them walk slowly to where the man is. She's getting impatient but she has to wait. For my best friend sake. "Why they are slow. I feel like it will take forever before they could reach him."

When she can't finally wait any longer she decided to act on her own. What if the man plan to cut up her best friend. Then she will just watch it while the officer is taking thier time on their march. I'm tired of waiting so I will do it my way.

She ready herself and with the rock that she saw on her way. She held it in her hand tightly. It will serve as her weapon to that man. And she run. And it made a sound. The officer got startled and they just watch her run to them. But even so, the man didn't notice it. Maybe the man is deaf.

When she's just a step closer to where her friend is she shout loudly because she thought that's the right time to make him notice her. And he did notice her. The man look to her direction but he did it in slowmo. And that's when she notice that it is actually an old man and not just a man.

She stop while her hand is hanging midway with a rock on her hand. And her best friend, she saw her on that small bed with a bondage on her left foot. "huh? What's going on Marcy? Did the old man hurt you?"

"What? Off course no! I was actually hurt because of that rock that I didn't notice. I am shouting for help but you didn't hear me. You have your headset on your ears and for sure you are listening to your fav band artist again. That is where this old man showed up. He help me and brought me here in his place and treat my wound. Oh gosh, what's with those armed officer are they with you?"

"Oh, they are the one who help me to find you. Don't worry they are the officer outside. They afe good people."

"Then why their gun is still pointing to us. It's scary beshy, please ask them to point it in other direction."

"Officer, we already found her. Why you are still holding your gun. You can hide it now I think?"

But thr officer didn't listen instead they point a gun to them. Particularly to the old man.

"It's you old man, the one who keep on stealing people's foods. We've been looking for you for so long and we didn't think that we will find you here. You keep stealing and stealing that no one wants to visit here anymore because they are thinking that this is a haunted place."

The old mad suddenly become silent and you can see on his face that he's very sorry to what he did.

"I have no choice. I have to steal food coz foods here on the forest is affected by whatever chemicals that is flowing here. My guess is maybe it's because of the newly built resort that anyone is visiting. Just look at those trees. Those plants that I work hard to plant but in just one snap everything become like this."

[Pixabay]

"Who do you think can live in this kind of place. Everything become ugly since they allowed that resort to exist here.


Written: August 11, 2022

Published: August 15, 2022

--

14
$ 2.21
$ 1.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 8
Sponsors of Ruffa
empty
empty
Avatar for Ruffa
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

May namatay ba sa story? Wala. May nangyari ba kay Marcy na malala?? Wala. Pero bakit ang sakit ng story na to😭 Kasi naman sad reality huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

grabe yung kaba ko akala ko kung ano nang nangyari...mukhang ikaw ata makakapatay sakin baby gerl dahil sa kaba

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dramatic full of moving voices, the reader's heart feels pain, the ending is not pleasant bringing a tense atmosphere.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not a happy ending talagaaaa huhu ang sakit sa puso. 😭

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Baka lang someone is also suffering because of others wrongdoings tsk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was glad that Marcy is okay, but my heart got devastated with what the old man's suffering to. Aside from being judged he also suffer from starving because of humans greediness. If they didn't destroy the forest, he can still get some food inside the forest and he don't need to steal foods just to survive.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya nga ee, yong iba kaso basta magawa ang gusto wala na silang pake sa epekto. Basta kimikita sila bahala na yong iba. Nakakalungkot na ganyon, aigoii

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is literally a not a happy ending story po. Kaya dapat po hindi talaga tayo judgemental eh kasi minsan yung akala natin masama sila pa po pala yung mabubuti.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya nga ee, yong iba kasi tatapunan ka agad ng masamang tingin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kawawa naman yun matanda sis, baka malalason pa siya sa pagkain dyan. Buti nakita na din si bestfriend. Fiction lang to diba, mega patol ako oh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha donwori fiction lang pero baka nangyayari in real life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda ng story ate, binasa ko ng buo .hays intense! Kinabahan pako sa old man, akala ko yung parang sa wrong turn.hays heheheh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha ganon dapat story nyan ee ahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung Minamdang Cafe nakailang beses ko na yan dinaanan sis ruffa pero di ko talaga na try panoorin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ehhhh, maganda un

$ 0.00
1 year ago