Running an Online Sales

13 24
Avatar for Royaldiadem
1 year ago

When the COVID 19 pandemic broke out in 2020 we were all told to vacate the school and come back home. We all thought it would be a very short break and we would resume school in no time. After the COVID 19, we went into ASUU strike and I spent a whole year at home. During these times things were quite unpleasant for most of us. I decided to try some business and help myself somehow since I had nothing to do than watching movies. I had a cousin who is into online sales, they import goods from China and Turkey and sells it here in Nigeria. I joined her group chat and I startes posting the goods on my social media.

The first challenge I had was that, the goods were luxury so they are very expensive, not everyone could afford that. I had some who were willing to buy but couldn't because they cannot afford that amount. I tried to reduce the price as much as I can so I would also gain something. Since it's an online business, of course payment for delivery will be included on the goods, some will have the money to buy things but can't afford the delivery fee. All these made me a little bit discouraged, every one around me started asking me how much I have earned so far, how much there are giving me wasting my data all these while.

I was still new to the business then, so I was still learning a lot of things. Some have decided not be buy things online again due to previous disappointment. There are some post I saw most times on the social media; "What I ordered vs what I got' It contains two pictures one which was a very nice cloth or something else, the other picture will be a very bad version of the same nice picture. If it was a physical sales, they wouldn't have fallen victim of that situation. The post are sometimes hilarious and it's common among tailors.

I once chatted with a sister who wants to get some shoes with me. She told me to send the pictures of the ones I have presently which I did. The next thing I heard from the voice note she sent was that she wants real picture not "oyinbo picture" I didn't know when I started laughing. The picture was nice taking with a good camera, it's a nice picture that will attract anyone that wants to buy but this sister said "no" she even wants to see the shop where the shoes are😂😂😂

After some times, I gained more experience in online sales, I later got some other suppliers from different states which are easier and cheaper. And I tried as much to convince them to buy anytime they are having some kind of doubt or second thoughts. Some I didn't even think of buys from me without stress and of course I still argue with people like that sister. It takes almost a whole day showing them what they want and convincing them to buy and lastly there are people that priced goods ridiculously, while some will just come to your dm to ask and compare prices and say 'okay, I will get back to you' that's the last thing you will hear from them.

For now, I still have some little challenges especially when people asks for something and I do not have at that particular moment or the person's size is not available. Being a side business, it has helped me in one way or the other and ain't giving up anytime soon.

Lead Image Source: Unsplash.

Thank you for reading ♥️♥️ ♥️.

5
$ 0.91
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
$ 0.01 from @OurKitchen
+ 2
Sponsors of Royaldiadem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Royaldiadem
1 year ago

Comments

wow this is great do not give up . Go on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rica ederim

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow you really are doing well with your business, online business can be poor as u begin but it will love fine as time goes on

Thanks for the article!.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it comes with a lot of challenges. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

my pleasure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This online sales especially wears is something I still find "somehow" maybe it's because of the way I see the frequent disturb on WhatsApp status lol🤣. People doing it are trying because it's not easy to convince people online especially someone like me🤗

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I know right. There are people like you 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are really trying with your online business cos it's not easy out there. Getting customers is no 1 which is not a day's work and another thing is convincing them to buy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You understand those kind of problem 😢

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless to your business sis. I planned that once sis but I don't have time because of my work. I am loaded but my sister she tried online selling.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. It's just a side business and people hardly find time for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome friend. You can do it friend trust always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago