My Thoughts On Audiobooks

6 59
Avatar for Rose.artsss
1 year ago

My thoughts about books

I’m one of those people who aren’t fond of reading books, like my mind just wants to do literally anything else, eyes keep wandering to nothing in particular, like your skin just wants to crawl out of its place. This might be an overstatement, but that’s basically what I feel like whenever I read books.

Okay, it’s not like I hate books, it just lacks the visual my mind needs, you know what I mean? Like I’m the type of person who is no longer a kid but would still choose to read a pictured book than a normal book lol. As a visual person, I always crave that visual to keep my mind entertained and sane lol. I think that’s why I became an artist too, to give the world more colors and art it needs.

it might be also the fact that I haven’t tried reading a book that I want, or a genre I’m fond of. I couldn’t be bothered to actually try reading a book now since I’m always too busy with stuff and trying to fit in reading a book (like I have to force myself to read a book in my little spare time) yeah, I’d rather not Hehe. I’m not completely closing the door to reading books per se, let’s just say that I don’t have the luxury to do it now, maybe in the future, I could actually try and maybe, fall in love with the wonders of reading books.


Here comes the meaning of my title.

Have you ever been to an instance where, you got sick or bored listening to music? Like you’re doing house chores, working out, driving/commuting, etc. And you’d like to listen to something apart from music? Then here it comes, The wonders of audiobooks.

Audiobooks are such a wonderful thing that existed in humankind, the one that brings light to the darkness. The one who - okay I’m over glorifying it at this point xD but you get what I mean lol.

I know that this is not something new, based on the internet, the first-ever audiobook recorded was in January 1952. Then later in the early 1990's-2000's audiobooks became more popular.


So you might wonder, Rose, how exactly did audiobooks change your life?

Let me tell the tale of how did it change my life, at this point you already know that I don’t like reading books, so here’s the part where the magical audiobook comes in.

Most of the time when I paint (if you still don’t know yet, I’m also an artist.) Before I always listen to music and other kinds of stuff but, there comes the time when I got sick or bored of listening to music, so my mind craved for something new.

So I tried listening to podcasts. I mean, I kinda liked it (?)... but it just doesn’t sit well with me.

For me, it’s too... how do I say it... I don’t know, maybe I just simply don’t like it that much lol.

And so my search continues, and then one day I was watching this artist YouTuber, in the end part, she talked about her sponsor, audible. I think most of us already heard about this site. But in her video, she talked about how she always listens to audiobooks while she paints, how she gets lost in painting while also getting loss to the audiobook she’s listening to. It’s like hitting 2 birds with one stone! So that gave me the idea to try audiobooks out.


Where to find Audiobooks?

So, where to find audiobooks you might ask, well there are a couple of sites out there. One I recommend is Scribd. It’s a quite well-known audiobook site apart from audible. The good thing about Scribd is that the payment is per subscription, unlike audible you pay per book. And that would basically cost a fortune, especially when you go through tons of books. Tho, the upside of audible is that they have the largest selection and widest library to choose from. So it’s basically up to you which one you would prefer more.

Also,* cough.. cough* if you’re a cheapskate like me (sometimes) or a student on a budget, there are tons of *cough…* you basically just put ‘’(book title) free audiobook” on Google and tons will pop up XD tho there’s also a huge chance you wouldn’t find a free audiobook for the specific title you’re looking for, basically, it’s still up to luck lol


The first-ever audiobook I listened to.

The first time I listened to an audiobook was around mid-2021, I can’t remember the exact date, but I think it’s around May-June, or something like that.

So The first audiobook I listened to is ‘’They Both Died In The End’’ by Adam Silvera. This is a quite popular book, especially on BookTok, so I decided to listen to this one first. At first, I wasn’t fully on board with it, but after 30 mins – to 1 hour of listening to it, I got fully hooked to it!

Imagine, being able to listen to a book (audiobook) while also doing something else. It really is like hitting two birds with one stone!

I also love how narrators convey the story and emotions of the book, like when the character is sad, you can hear and feel it in their voice when the character is happy, you can also hear it in their voice, so on and so forth. You get what i mean.


How I listen to it

At first, I usually listen to audiobooks when I paint, I’d grab my paintbrush, play the audiobook I’m listening to, and start getting lost in the world of painting and listening to the story. Time would fly so fast, and I wouldn’t even notice that hours and hours have already passed.

Then I started listening to it too while doing house chores, house chores would be more enjoyable and fun, it’s like you wouldn’t even notice that you’re working or something like that because your mind is focused on the story you’re listening to.

Now that I also handle my own small business, where everything I sell and do is handmade by me, of course, the production of my work requires repetition, tons of it.

So, have you wondered how I stay sane while making sketchbooks for hours on end? Yeah, I listen to audiobooks, it’s the thing that keeps my mind entertained, and sane while doing my work. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job and work beyond words, but my mind needs something to listen to something when I’m working because if not, my mind would go wild with overthinking if it’s not occupied. Yeah, I’m an overthinker if my mind is not occupied with something. That’s why I love to always keep my mind busy lol.


Conclusion

So that is how audiobooks change my life, not only that I can listen to books, it also helps me focus more on my work (yes, I can focus more on my work if I’m listening to one, I don’t know why, but it just does.) it keeps me sane when working for hours, helps me with my overthinking, and overall, it just simply makes things more interesting and fun for me. So for me, audiobooks are now my necessities whenever I work on painting, business, etc.


So if you haven’t tried audiobooks yet, then I think it’s time you go ahead and give one a try!

And if you also listen to audiobooks, tell me your thoughts and experience with it!


I would also like to thank my first ever sponsor, @kneelyrac ! Thanks so much, ate!


Sponsors of Rose.artsss
empty
empty
empty

Where To Find Me?

You can find my other stuff on social media by clicking this image below, also if you might be interested in taking a look at my sketchbooks, information is also available from this link. 👇

RoseArtssBioLink

5
$ 1.44
$ 1.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @keeneek
+ 1
Sponsors of Rose.artsss
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rose.artsss
1 year ago

Comments

Thank you for sharing your experiences and insights in audiobooks. I wanna try it sooner. You know, books are kinda complicated when you are a busy person. But, just like what I've learned, audiobooks are convenient, especially when you're doing something. Thanks for this wonderful article. Have a great day!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oooohhh! We're the same. Others think I'm weird that I listen to audiobooks while working, but I don't know. I can work efficiently even when I'm listening. Prefered genres for audiobooks are romance and crime & thrillers. But it also depends on my task. Sometimes I pause it and then play it again. I tried painting while listening, too. Doing chores plus audiobooks is a perfect combo. cough I use cough VK. cough It's cough ya know. Hehehehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha cute mo gumawa ng article. Para kalang naga kwento bs haha. Haha. Like parang we're talking casually and having so much fun haha.

Anyways diko pa tu natry. Feeling ko lang mabobored ako. Pero pinakang main reason, mabagal ako mag pick up. Mahina din ako sa engols. Alam mo ba pag nanonood ako ng Movies need ko oa mag download ng subtitle. Kasi minsan diko rin talaga maintindihan ang words na sinasabi ee, bingi pa hahahaha. Pero if tagalog siguro yan keri lang. Pero mas prefer ko pa ring mag basa ng tagalog pocketbook. Yon lang hahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

bago palang me sa pag sususlat ng articles ( more like di pa talaga ako marunong xD) ate ruffa kaya ginawa ko nalang like casual or like nakikipag kwentuhan like you said AHAHAHH pero epektib din naman yung results (≧▽≦) HAHAAHHA

Same tayo atee, bingi ako pag dating sa English movie need ko talaga ng sub kundi jiberish lang naririnig ko 😭 HAHAHAHA pero idk ang clear kase mag salita pag audiobook ih (like walang background noice, eme eme) so madali shang intindihin. Try mo din ate minsan kahit 1 try langg malay mo ma bettan mo diba✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ehee mas bet na bet ko yong ganitong article. Saka no unfamiliar masyado kaya madali talagang egets. Minsan kasi yung iba nakakahilo, very deeeepppp ang words na ginagamit diko masisid ba hahaha.

Hahaha yong kahit naka headset ka pero bingi pa rin huehue. Tatry ko nga minsan yan, try ko yang napakinggan mo na. Sana meron kay gogool. Ehee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truee, di ko kinakaya pag and deep ng articles ate 😭 eme HAHAHAH

Goo tryy mo na ate! For sure meron nyan since popular to, also if your into bromans/drama type magustohann mo tong "they both die in the end" (≧▽≦)

$ 0.00
1 year ago