How I Started My Own Business at the Age of 14.

16 180
Avatar for Rose.artsss
2 years ago

This is my journey of how I started my small business at the age of 14.

Now I just turned 15 last December and by the looks of it, my business is successful, and still growing.

For starters, here's a little background, I'm an artist who started my art journey in 2020. You can see the details here:


When and how it started

It started in the year of 2021, August. Like any other day, I was browsing TikTok in my free time, then I stumbled upon a book binding/sketchbook making video. After watching that video, I instantly got the inspiration to try it out and make one for my self.

I saw the video fairly late, around 10pm. I don't have all the supplies I need, but I do have some stuff that I could butcher. At the time, I only had a few sheets of watercolor paper left. And the other materials are also very limited. I couldn't make a medium size Sketchbook with the materials I had available. So I decided to make a Mini watercolor sketchbook. 📘

At first, I had a real hard time figuring out how to stitch and bind the Sketchbook, it took me around 2 hours just to make my very first handmade watercolor sketchbook. And I must say that the result is really wonky and has a massive room to improve XD, but that's the best I can do with all the materials I've butchered lol.

And here it is, the start of it all.

At that time, I was really thrilled with what I was able to create. I have a circle of friends in the art community who are also artists. We have a group chat called "HUMBLE ARTIST✨" After I made the Sketchbook I was really excited to share it with my fellow artist's friends and know their reaction to it, and surprise! They loved it!

Then my twinny in our group chat, we call each other twinny because we have the same name hihi. She then told me that she wanted to buy it! Omo yes, she told me she wants to buy a handmade sketchbook from me!

The first person who took interest on my work ♡(> ਊ <)♡

When I read what she said, I was happy beyond words, like someone is willing to purchase from me even tho my first prototype was really wonky (༎ຶ ෴ ༎ຶ)

Then the idea of selling handmade sketchbooks struck me after she said that she wanted to buy one from me.

Luv you Twinny ♡

Make the idea into reality.

Now that I had the confidence and motivation to start my business, I now need to know the things I have to do and know about starting a business.

I have come up with these pointers that I followed when I started my business

1.) Platform to sell products

I now have an idea of what product I would be selling, but must also have a platform to sell my products. I have very limited options to choose from, it's either Shopee (an online selling platform in PH)  Or  I'll build my own shop website.

And I chose the first one, which is Shopee. Why? Because Shopee already has a huge platform that could reach so many people, and it's very convenient for both seller and buyer, and shipping costs less for buyers if it's within Shopee. Overall, it would be more practical to sell my products on Shopee rather than building up my own website.

Though Shopee also has its downside, their TF or transaction fee costs 7.5% per item. Well I mean, it's an understandable tax since we're using their platform and all that stuff, right?

2.) Products

I already know what I'm going to sell, but it's all handmade. So I must know the cost of the investment I'm going to spend on my products.

Materials

Like I've said, I didn't have enough materials to make my products. So I went ahead and shopped around for various materials such as: watercolor paper, material for the hardbound sketchbook, sewing supplies, paints, packaging etc.

My first initial investment only cost around 500 pesos or 10 USD. Yes, for only 10USD, I had everything I need to start my small business. ✅

3.) Making the actual product

After my first handmade watercolor Sketchbook, I practiced and practiced the right way and technique to make them. After a couple of days, I was satisfied with how my Sketchbooks are coming along.

So I went ahead to do the next step.

Make your product unique and stand out from others

This is one of the most important steps, how would you make your product stand out?  Because let's face it, you're not the only one selling that kind of product. So think of a way for that product to stand out and be unique and for people to notice your product.

As for me, I have done my research on my fellow sellers who sell handmade sketchbooks. I noticed that almost all of them sell their Sketchbooks with a faux leather cover. So I have come up with the idea of hand painting my sketchbook covers. 🎨

That's what made my product stand out from others, not only that the Sketchbook itself is handmade, I also hand paint every single Sketchbook cover. With that, I also had more freedom to make different and unique designs.

4.) Know your target audience.

I'm an artist, and my target audience are also my fellow artists. I had the upper hand in this point because I have a lot of mutuals and friends in the art community.

So know your target audience people, you wouldn't sell handmade sketchbooks to gamers right? You get my point.

5.) Where and how to promote.

I'm an artist who uses Facebook to post her works and stuff. That's why I already have a handful of people who always sees my work, So that's why I choose Facebook to promote my product. I already have the upper hand again because my target audience is also artists who are my mutual/friends already. So I choose Facebook to promote my products.

Presentation.

Also, this might not seem important, but the presentation is key.🔑 Even if let's say you have an amazing product, but you present it poorly, no one would notice it.

So take your time with taking photographs of your work, editing them, etc. Present them beautifully and aesthetically for the eyes of your consumers. Because trust me, The first thing people notice is the presentation. 💐

And finally, the day of release.

On September 8, 2021. The day I released my product. It's only my test run whether people will buy it or not, so I only made 10 stocks. Here is my post on Facebook that day.

My promotion post on Facebook.
My handmade mini watercolor sketchbook ♡

And surprisingly, in only a matter of 4 hours, I was able to sell all of them! Not only that, people loved it so much and are waiting for the next restock! (灬ºεº灬)♡ this was a massive success and I couldn't be more happy and thankful.

For now, I will end this here. I'm excited to tell you guys in my future article how my business is doing now.♡

Authors remarks.

If you're also hesitating about whether you should start your small business, then this is the sign to start your own business.👈

I know it's hard, The fear of it failing is keeping you back from even trying.

People might not believe in you at first and that's alright. The first and only person who should believe in you first is yourself.

Let's face it, not all people will believe in you, and sometimes they'll even make fun of you for the things you want to achieve. And that's alright. The first step you must do is to believe in yourself.


Where To Find Me?

You can find my other stuff on social media by clicking this image below, also if you might be interested in taking a look at my sketchbooks, information is also available from this link. 👇

Sponsors of Rose.artsss
empty
empty
empty

10
$ 3.22
$ 3.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @keeneek
$ 0.05 from @CrazyRichFilipina
+ 4
Sponsors of Rose.artsss
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rose.artsss
2 years ago

Comments

congrats po sna maging boom na boom pa ang iyong business po . nkakahanga sa murang edad po unique na po idea mo para dto..goodluck po. sna mkaabot din yan overseas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala maraming salamat po! I'm also happy that i was able to find my business, product, ect. For me with such a young age! Wahhh really hoping for this din po! Sana within the near future i can achieve this po🤍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You started your own business in just a minor age, it's so incredibly brilliant dear. A big applause for your achievement. Make a development for that and be consistent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im really glad i was able to build my small business at my age, thank you so much for the great and wonderful wishes!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so very proud of you Hannah! Nakakainspire and nakakamotivate Hannah! At your age, you have you own business na and I pray that God will continually blessed you, your family, and your business. We miss you Hannah! Keep believing and praying to God. Godbless and Keepsafe always! I love you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ackkkk thankyouuu ate niq! I miss y'all too sm beyond words! God bless you too and keep safe always aswell atee!! Wuv you<33

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always wanted to know about your business journey haha. So this was really insightful to know. I hope your business grow and prosper even more in the future:)

By the way the link to your other article is not working by the way. It's just showing me an error.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, solumvis! Been planning to writing an article about it for some time noww, im glad I'm able to do it now!

Oh I didn't notice that, thanks for telling! Already fixed it!🤍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooow! What an inspiring story from a young soul, keep it up author! You got a bright future ahead of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww thanks so much! May we all have a bright future ahead of us all!🤍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really admire on how determine you are in starting a business. Just continue doing that and I know for sure, lot of customers will come on your way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww thanks for the nice and great wishes! More customers and blessings to come!<3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really admire you for your perseverance at such a young age. You will surely go far as you couldn't have imagined. Congratulations for your business. May it continue to grow!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank youu sm atee!! Hoping for this as well! We'll see in the future that awaits.🤍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations, Rose!! I bought your sketchbooks before, and my sisters love them. I'm planning to buy again, after this hectic schedule, but this time for myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ackkk yass i remember this ate! Thankyouu sm ulit! And omoo yeheyy atee!! Our shope is always available! Anytimee<333

$ 0.00
2 years ago