Why do we always feel inclined to do the things we are restricted to do?

21 60
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago
Article # 55
Date: May 29, 2022
Sunday 

I remember my childhood was so beautiful. Not every kid is blessed enough in this world to have a beautiful one. Those who are raised without the affection of parents always have a hole in their hearts that doesn't go away no matter how much they are loved by others.

Everyone's childhood has some special moments that you never forget whether they are good or bad.

I was never a mischievous sort of a kid, but when required I could turn into one.

Like every child, I was a cartoon lover. But unlike many kids, TOM & JERRY was never my favorite one. Although I had multiple CDs of this cartoon and I liked watching those, I didn't have that strong attachment to it. However, I used to be a lot possessive about my CDs, as I remember once a kid from my neighbors borrowed two cartoon CDs from me and never returned them to me. Later, he shifted and I still wish to see him, as if I did, I will demand him to bring back those CDs to me.

My father is a very kind person and like every father, he loves us so much. But there were some restrictions that were set by my father which were to be taken care of. At that time, I would think:

Why does my father do this? Why doesn't he allow us to do this? Or why he doesn't allow us to go there or sit with those people?

But now I understand everything that was restricted, it was for a good reason. Certain actions taken by our parents initially seem strange to us but later when we grow up, we realize that they did everything for our betterment and we would want to do the same to our kids.

Anyways, one of the things that were restricted in my household was Cable/Dish connection. Almost every kid in my school had it in their house and they would talk all day long about different cartoon characters on the CARTOON NETWORK channel. I also wanted to be a part of this but I knew father wouldn't allow for dish connection but it was not because of the cartoons but the other Indian and English channels that really were inappropriate to watch. As I said, I was never a mischievous kid but I could become one when necessary so one day I thought of an idea.

When I returned back home, the first thing I did was climb on the roof. Actually, it was also strictly forbidden by my mother because I once got hurt while climbing. After climbing up, I went to my neighbor's roof and started searching for their cable wire. Once I found it, I started dragging it, until I brought it really close to our television antenna wire. Then I got down, turned on my TV, and started searching for cable channels with the hope that getting the cable wire near our antenna wire might fulfill my wish. I was so happy and amazed that I really had accomplished what I wanted to do. Cartoon Network, Star plus, HBO were the three channels that I could watch. Although the picture quality was really bad often interrupted by lots of noise still, something was better than nothing. I used to watch cartoons on that. Later, my parents bought me a DVD and some cartoon CDs when they realized how crazy I was about cartoons.

Another restriction that I had to face in childhood was I wasn't allowed to go to nearby markets alone or even with friends. But it's in human nature that when you are restricted from doing something, you are being pushed by some innate force to do that very thing. So, once I was outside and I had some money. I came back home and ensured that mom was busy doing her chores. I went out and headed towards the market. I was so happy but a bit scared at the same time. I bought myself some chips, biscuits, tamarinds, etc. By the way, my mother wouldn't allow me to eat tamarinds either as they always got me sick.

But what can we do?

WE ARE ALWAYS INCLINED TO DO THE THINGS WE ARE RESTRICTED TO DO.

On my way back, I was thinking what if mom catches me here? What would she do?

And while I was thinking this, suddenly my mom appeared and I could literally feel my body getting numb. My mom started scolding me. I was so scared that I pretended to have fainted to keep me from getting scolded anymore. Watching me like this my mom got so anxious and suddenly forgot all of her anger. That's the incident that I and my mother still remember and laugh like mad.

Disclaimer:

Every word written in this article is my own and doesn’t involve similarity to someone else’s article. This entire article is checked by Grammarly and is plagiarism free.

Thank you for reading this article! Stay happy & blessed!

Lead image is taken from unsplash.

13
$ 0.18
$ 0.03 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
$ 0.02 from @Niazi420
+ 6
Sponsors of Raheela
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago

Comments

Haha, I can relate to your article. Ahh, those were the best memories of our life. I wish I could go back to those days again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish the same.. childhood is always so beautiful who wouldn't wana go back?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would of say it is curiosity that often leads us to do those things. We want to know why...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly that's the reason

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know why, but maybe because it gives us the thrill?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I like your answer.. it seems true too. Nice one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isn't it strange cos same is the case with me(lol) i mean parents also restricted us from both of these things, when i was kid i was not allowed yo go alone and i my father strictly forbid everyone not to connect cable i used to have many cds of tom and jerry, video games, mr. Bean cartoons for hours, haha each and everything in your article is similar to my experience, yeah i also love harry Potter series but tom and jerry are really close to heart😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha .. it happens in many Muslim families😃 but seriously we are blessed to have such restrictions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sense of espionage force us to go there where some one disallowed or restricted us. That is natural phenomena of human.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what I think. It's really a natural phenomena, something that is innate in humans.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I watched Harry Potter too😅. At time times, it seemed weird if someone hasn't watched Harry Potter😅😅. It got to a stage that I became addicted to it😂😂. Thanks for our parents. They deserve the best. I'm happy that they've tried us right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Harry potter really is addiction😄 & Yes you are right our parents deserve the best!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to buy a lot of CDs with my money back then and my mom will advise me to save the money instead of buying CDs. I also watched Harry Potter that year. It was so nice and interesting. All thanks to my parents for giving me the right training.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I too used to spend all of my money on CDs. I remember I had a lot of Pokemon CDs haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My Gosh i wasn't familiar with your this act and craze. I think still you love Harry Potter series. In our case, the craze for series of my elder sister was almost like yours. She was used to had Stack of CDs and also letting no one around her computer was once her obsession too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Harry Potter is my all time favorite 😁 and Yes I know about your sister's obsession, I still remember that flour box she used to hide her CDs in, from your dad🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahahahha you never forget. the cds you gave your friend years ago? He broke them I guess. Our parents put restrictions because they think for our well-being. I realized this over time. Goodnight

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our parents are our best Guardian. They have experience and better know about bad evils of society. Cartoons are not bad but sometimes it inculcated learning like you did jumping. So it can be dangerous for our good health also. It reminded me once one my mom punished me for cartoon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha really? Why did she punish you🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have addiction for Mr- Bean Cartoon 😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha oh i see

$ 0.00
1 year ago