My Tragic Pet Story: Part I

17 44
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago
Article # 46
Date: May 18, 2022
Wednesday

Everyone likes to keep a pet. Some people like cats, some like dogs, but I like parrots. But every time I have kept them , they either die tragically or fly away. I have kept parrots as pets thrice, and I lost them every time.
I was just a kid when my mother first bought me and my younger brother a pair of parrots. Mine was the female parrot while that of my brother was a male one. We used to play with them. We would make them sit on our shoulders and on our index finger. They could not fly much high, we had cut down some of their feathers but still, we never opened their cage outside of our house because we thought what if they fly away? As it is famous parrots are the most unfaithful of all the birds. So we couldn’t take risk.
We used to give them green chilies because it’s a known fact that parrots like green chilies and they often start talking like humans, obviously a few words, not the complete regular talk that we humans do.
But it is just a misconception, yes parrots do talk but not every parrot. Talking parrots are recognized by that multicolored strip that is found naturally around their neck. The parrots who lack that strip are not able to talk ever.
I have also heard from some people that cutting a parrot's tongue a little bit can make them talk. But I don’t believe this it’s barbaric. They are living beings, how can someone even think of hurting this way to make them talk.
Anyways, those parrots stayed with us for only a month I guess, but even during that time I and my brother got attached to them. One day I woke up, and I couldn’t find one of the parrots, it was mine that was missing. Instead, I saw its feathers lying around in my hall. I got so scared as many thoughts crossed my mind:

What if it flew away? What if a cat from the street entered the house and ate my parrot?

I followed the tracks of those feathers, and they ended below the window where we had adjusted our exhaust fan. I climbed onto the chair and when I looked at the exhaust, my entire body started shivering. I don’t know how and when my parrot got stuck into the moving blades of the exhaust fan and died there. I was so heartbroken to see it and to think how much pain he had endured before dying. It was merely a poor little bird. I cried that day so much. Now we were left with only one parrot. It was used to living with the other parrot and now it was all alone. So, we decided to set it free and we did.
I still have a feather of that parrot with me.  I was a very sentimental kind of a kid, and the attachment with a pet at a small age is so strong, that you never forget it even after losing it. So I took that feather and pasted it on a blank page and wrote quite an essay expressing my love for that parrot. Although I don’t miss it much now but when I look at that, it reminds me of the tragic death of my parrot.

It was the first time when I lost a pet and I was literally heartbroken.

A few years later, when I was in college, I and my mother decided to keep a parrot again, and this time we brought a talking parrot. It was just a small baby parrot and it had that colorful strip around its neck which indicated that it will be able to talk once it’s grown up. It was so small that we used to feed him Cerelac with a needle-less syringe. With the passage of time, more and more feathers started to appear on his body but still, it couldn’t fly much higher. We used to keep him out of the cage most of the time. It was more attached to my mother than any other member of my family. As I still remember, he would often hide itself and would not respond back to us when we called his name “Mithu”. We would spend the entire day searching for it but it was so stubborn that we would not come out of its hiding. But as soon as my mom would come back from the office and call its name out, it would suddenly respond back in its unique shrill voice and come out of its hiding. We all would laugh so hard. It used to have its breakfast “Tea & paratha” early in the morning with my mom.
Slowly and gradually it started learning a few words and now it was able to “Mithu” and he also learned to whistle, as my brother used to whistle in front of it. It would sometimes whistle so much that our heads started to ache. But, we loved it too.
During one winter, the temperature was very low and it was extremely cold weather, I noticed that our parrot got a little lazy like it had caught a fever or something. All of us got so worried as we didn’t want to lose him because it was its 4th year with us and we all were so attached to it.

What happened then? Find out in the next article…

Disclaimer:

Every word written in this article is my own and doesn’t involve similarity to someone else’s article. This entire article is checked by Grammarly and is plagiarism free.


Thank you for reading this article! Stay happy & blessed!

Lead image is taken from unsplash

10
$ 0.75
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of Raheela
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago

Comments

ccccccc i am about to cry to read about the parrot that got stuck in the blades of the exhaust fan. i had also a parrot but my mom didn't allow me to cage it. 6 days after I brought it she asked me that if anyone locks me in the room for my whole life you will miss us .can you survive in a locked room. i said nooooo it would be obviously difficult so she said just think about parrot and free I. so I opened the cage and he flew.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That’s a very beautiful things to do actually, because birds are meant to be free and fly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parrots are cute but I know nothing about how to take care of them. Sorry to hear none of your parrots survived

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No one knows but when you keep one, you slowly get to know how to take care of them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, I would love to know what happened in that parrot, I'm anxiously waiting to read your next article. Sorry about the death of that first parrot. I actually never believed parrots could talk, even though I've heard of it. I enjoyed the read, this is an incredible write-up

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Ella , you have always been kind towards my articles. I am glad to have found a friend like you here on this platform & yes I will let you know in my next article what happened to that parrot

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwn, dearest Raheela, I'm more than happy to be a friend of yours.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister I also have kept Australian Breed of Parrot. Birds have stress issue. Even stress from fear is enough to kill them. Very sad to hear death of your first parrot. Provide them as much cool environment as you can.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Actually it’s very hot here in my region. But I will try muy best to do so! Thankyou so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome sister we all share and we all care about birds.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can feel your pain, i lost my pet cat too during Covid time period.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sorry about your cat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My friend, I am very sorry about what happened to your parrots. I can not even imagine the moment you saw it stuck in to the moving blades... 🥺 It is very difficult to have a pet, because you are always worry about them, you can never cope with the grief of losing them, and you can never forget them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes that was a horrible moment to see my pet that way.. but time heals everything! I still miss my parrot though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Intriguing, didn't know parrots are that intelligent😀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wait till my next article then you will find out how intelligent they are😃

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure, I look forward to it

$ 0.00
1 year ago