Beat the heat with these homemade drinks

16 45
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago

It’s mid of May and summers are just around their peak. Daily the temperature is reaching 40 C or above. It’s getting hard day by day to go out of the house for daily chores due to the scorching heat. It seems like this situation is going to stay for a while.

Today’s temperature

Many people are getting dehydrated due to the loss of water from the body in sweat and reduced water intake. The weather is so hot that if I open the windows, hot air circulates the entire house or if I shut them close, I feel like suffocated. The best way to describe this weather is by using the famous line of my grandmother who goes on like:

“It is so hot that if you break an egg on the floor, it will get fried”.

Due to global warming, summers are getting extremely hot and it’s getting harder to withstand the heat. Whatever the situation is, we cannot change the weather or reduce the extent of heat, but one thing can be done to bear it. That is keeping ourselves hydrated by drinking lots of water and healthy fruit juices and shakes. That is what I do every summer to keep myself from getting heatstroke or other adverse effects.

So, today I am going to share a few delicious and nutritious shakes and juices that I make every day to keep myself healthy and hydrated. When served cold with ice, it feels like I am in heaven. I know I am exaggerating but they really deserve this exaggeration.

Rooh-e-Afzah with lemon and basil seeds:

Those living in Pakistan must be aware of the famous Rooh-e-Afzah. It is easy to make and delicious as well. All you have to do is take 2 to 3 tablespoons of it and mix it in ice-cold water. Squeeze a lemon in it and put some basil seeds in it which get puffed up in a few minutes. Mix it and enjoy. It will literally kill all the heat in your body besides basil seeds are well known for this purpose.

Rooh-e-afzah juice

Mango Shake:

What else can be easier to make than making a big glass of mango shake by simply adding mangoes to milk in a juicer with lots of ice? Everyone either younger or older people, everyone loves mangoes. Especially, summer is the season of this fruit. So, try to enjoy as many mangoes shake as well. It will give you strength and nutrition and help in boosting body energy when you feel lethargic.

Mango shake

Mint Margarita:

This one is my personal favorite. I have been enjoying this since Ramadan. All you have to do is take a juicer, add 7up, ice cubes, mint, lemon juice, and black salt. Blend, blend, and blend. Your fresh and healthy margarita is ready. Enjoy every sip of it. Its main ingredient is mint, and we all know that it keeps our digestive system on track as it helps in the digestion of food. As a result, our body stays fit.

Mint margarita

Falsa Juice:

Last but not least, falsa juice is highly refreshing that soothes the body. Although it is a little bit time taking than the above three mentioned juices and shakes, however one thing is for sure, it is the most delicious juice anyone can ask for. All you have to do is take half a cup of falsa, some sugar, and black salt in a juicer, add one cup of water to it and blend. It will have this highly thick consistency with crushed seeds. Strain it in a jar and pour two glasses of ice-cold water. Mix it and enjoy.

Falsa juice

I hope you enjoyed reading my article! Thank you for your time! Stay happy & blessed!

All photos are self taken.

10
$ 0.75
$ 0.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 7
Sponsors of Raheela
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago

Comments

I will definitely try out the mango shake because I'm a big fan of mango and also mango are in excess over here so getting mango is easier for now

$ 0.01
1 year ago

From where do you belong by the way?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That’s great.. enjoy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How nice your grandmother said my dear, really some days an egg can get fried on the floor. All this shakes seems so delicious an nutritious. And what nice colors they have. Roohe-e-Afzah was very interesting and new to me. I liked mint margarita very much, I will definitely make it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad you liked. I would love to hear your feedback. Thankyou for commenting’ means alot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its too hot outside I'm just waiting for finals, as they end and maybe i get another chance to visit abbottabad..haha, My all time favourite mango shake, reading your article make me crave for mango shake, I'm going to have one dear raheela(lol).

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Too many flavors in one hand. Lamo you're beating all it yourself. (haha)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha yes and sharing the idea with all of you as well to beat the heat with me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Would that I can try all juices in Pakistan. Here weather is too cool to go outside. You should be careful in case of dehydration.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Which region are you from?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am from sub arctic region of earth that is why I can feel only Cold all around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh i see. I would love to see pics of your region in your articles someday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For sure, I shall also write about it as soon as possible.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very kind of you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the most falsa and mango but if we count these to beat the heat so root afza with basil seed is best along with it we should take all more water containing fruits and juices like lemonade. When go out keep a bottle of water with you. It's really too hot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes you are right. Thank you for sharing more details to my article

$ 0.00
1 year ago