You know being sentimental doesn't become you!

2 10
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

I have come to realise that most people you meet and sometimes become friends with in life may have one way or the other acted in a kind of way that may surprise you to begin to wonder and doubt your friendship status with them. They may perform unexpected and unimaginable character that may go off from what you expect from them, maybe through their responses to questions being thrown to them, maybe their body language or even the manner at which they see and relate to things around them.

When they act in such unpredictable manner, you will begin to misunderstand them and start to judge them based on their character they may have displayed at that particular time. Often time, some even go to the extent of destroying the good relationship they have built in years with such person because they allowed their minds to be clouded by anger and pain due to the person's attitude towards them. But in all of these surprising attitude and character been displayed, it does not really mean that this is who they truly are, it does not mean that they are bad people when they act in that manner.

Let me use myself as an example, I was debased by a friend I so much cared about many years ago for no just cause, his reason was based on the fact that I was sentimental in taking sides with him over a misunderstanding he was having with his girlfriend, a relationship of about 4years with his girlfriend before the misunderstanding surfaced. It all started when his attitude towards his girlfriend changed and his girlfriend ran to me and complained about his sudden change of attitude and that I should help her talk to my friend to really know what the problem was, I called my friend and asked him what was going on and that his girlfriend came to me and reported that he has been acting weird towards her for some time now and she does not know what did to him to warrant such treatment from him, after I finished what I was saying, my friend couldn't give me any tangible reason for his actions towards his girlfriend and so I kept quiet.

Sponsors of Rafd9828
empty
empty
empty

One faithful day, we all went out to have some relaxation at a bar near my house, because the issue at hand was not forth getting any positive headway between my friend and his girlfriend, so my friend invited his girlfriend to come over for a discussion, as she came they began to discuss and before you knew what was going on they have already started exchanging words and the boyfriend got angry and slapped his girlfriend, when I saw what was going on, I felt so sad because he raised his hands on his girlfriend for no just course, because of that I pushed my friend away and he failed down on the ground and got his cloth stained, immediately my friend got up from the floor and he starting fighting me, before you knew what was happening, we got into serious fight that  led to people coming to separate us from fighting.

When everything calmed down, the people that came to separate the fight asked what was the cause of the fight, I told them that he was having issues with his girlfriend and it got to the level where they started raising voices at each other and before you knew what was happening, he slapped his girlfriend and was about beating her up and that got me angry so I tried stopping him, I  pushed him to the ground and that was how the fight began. Because I was very sad for his action, I continued by saying that in as much as he is my friend, I will not take nonsense and condone his ill-mannered lifestyle of beating a woman no matter what, if I am sentimental about this please my friend you go and deal with it, I will not accept that.

When my friend heard what I said, because he saw I took side with his girlfriend, he immediately told me that I should never cross his path and that he has been suspecting me of having feelings and eyes on his girlfriend and that was the reason I fought him for trying to slap his girlfriend. That he does not want to ever see me anywhere around him.

I was surprised because of the way he accused me before everyone of having feelings for his girlfriend, I didn't see that coming and that was how we ended our friendship till date. Of a truth, I know I may have acted irrational that day but my actions was based on trying to defend a lady in trouble, by so doing, I was so sentimental at that point according to his understanding to forget the good relationship I had with him and instead fought with him for hitting a lady. Although I lost my friendship with him, but I know I am not fighter nor doing that just to take away his girlfriend from him as he wrongly accused me of.

Most people have because of this particular situation in life misjudged and lost their good relationship and respect to that person in their life that have been of great value to them.

When one acts in a manner that really seem surprising to you, try to find out his or her reasons for doing so rather than jumping to conclusion and destroying what you have taken time to build in years.

Know this today my friend, being sentimental doesn't become you, there is always a reason for every action, try and see beyond what your eyes can see to find the right answer and reason for every action.

Thank you for reading my article 🙏, Have a great day! Rafd9828

3
$ 2.34
$ 2.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

Comments

I think your friend has unleashed a new character of him that you don’t know about And he seems to be a very jealous person

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My good friend you are so right! Everything happened for a purpose! I am not regretting because it's been a long time this happened and right now I am seeing the good in all of that

$ 0.00
2 years ago