He was so thirsty!

3 22
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

Once again, I want to appreciate you so much for your contributions so far in this platform. Surely we are impacting positively here. I want us to really look inward to our minds and hearts to really search our souls and ask ourselves and conscience this question about the way we make sacrifices to help the next person beside us to be happy.

I want to ask this question to you and I believe you will give yourself the right answer because for me I will really share with you my own personal experience so that you will get to find for yourself the gain you can get when you make such effort to solve another person's problem through sacrifice.

My question is; How well do you make  Sacrifice to one another?

I believe we have had this question asked to us countless times and in many places of our endeavour maybe in our church gatherings, market places, at recreational centres, etc and some of us may answer Yes! I do make sacrifice to others and to some other they will answer a different thing. But I want to tell you that your answers you have given and the one you are yet to give does not go a long way to really give the right answer suitable for this question.

Many atimes you go out on the streets and you come in contact with different persons with different characters and conditions maybe these conditions can be health related conditions, emotional, physical or financial conditions even at times these people you meet each day maybe different from you through religion, ethnicity, tribe, language and even body complexion. How well do you make sacrifices to affect the next person around you positively? Do you really see yourself in them? Or do you see them as piece of trash that is worthless?

Let me tell you a personal story of what really happened to me some years back in Nigeria when I was working and learning fashion designing so that you can truly understand the need to always make sacrifices in your daily life. Before I continue my story I will love to define what sacrifice is.

According to Oxford language dictionary, sacrifice simply means to give up (something valued) for the sake of other considerations. Please I really wish you take note of these underlined words in this short definition according to Oxford language dictionary and ponder carefully on it so as to really have a proper clear understanding what I am about to share with you here as we proceed further in this context.

NOW MY STORY

I was coming back from work on a Monday evening so broke with no money in my pocket wallet except my transport fare which was about one hundred naira(#100) in Nigerian money, on getting to a bus stop station there was no available bus or taxi to take me to my place and so I waited for about 30minutes yet no vehicle was coming forth,  I started asking a man who was also waiting for the bus to come what could be the reason why the buses were not coming forth, he told me that there was a heavy traffic jam on the road all the vehicles are stocked at a place and because of that we can not really be able to find any vehicle going our way at the moment, so after a serious thought on what to do to get to my place since the day is really getting dark, I decided to start trekking home since from the bus stop to my house was less than 30mins drive but with trekking it was about 1hr 45mins walk, as I was walking I had in my wallet just my transport fare which I already told you the amount and if I pay for my transport fare I will go empty pocket back home, so I took to the road and started going home since there was traffic jam on the way, I reached a place and I began to feel thirsty so I stopped at a shop nearby and bought one bottle of cold water which was sold at one hundred naira (#100) naira with the last money which I was supposed to transport myself to my place, my intention for buying the water was to drink it on the way gradually while trekking to the house so that I will not to get too tired before I get to the house, as I was about opening the bottle cover, a beggar at the road side immediately begged me to give him some water to drink that he was so thirsty, I was quiet for some seconds because the same water I wanted to drink that will not even be enough for me is the same water this person is requesting that I should give him to drink, and I was not having any other Money with me to get another water if I give him the one I have already, I decided to give him the bottled water to drink and leave the shop without drinking nor buying another water because I was not having any other Money with me.

I began to think on how to make it home because I was feeling so thirsty and sweating all over, I encouraged myself and started going home, not up to ten minutes of my trekking I heard my name called from a car window close to me and I looked, I saw my Reverend Father who was my former parish priest inside the car and he said; "my friend where are you going?" I replied and said; father, I am going home and immediately he asked me to join him in his car so he can drop me, he drove me straight to my place and as I was about coming down from his car he called me back and gave me huge sum of money which he folded into my hand and I was so shocked and was trying to show him how grateful I was he said to me that I shouldn't worry and he drove off.

When I reached my door and counted the money he gave to me I was overwhelmed to see twenty thousand naira(#20,000), I was so happy and couldn't describe what really happened.

LESSON TO LEARN

1. Always have compassion when you see those you are better off.

2. Do not under estimate the power of selfless sacrifice, it can unlock the doors of so many good things on your way.

3. The sacrifice that pays more is that one that you give in pain for another to be happy and satisfied.

4. Do not withhold yourself from sacrificing that which will put smile on another person's face if you are in position to help.

5. Always see another person as yourself and learn to make sacrifices that will change the world to a better place where everybody will surely live in and be proud of.

Thank you so much for your kindness In reading my post. 🙏Rafd9828

Sponsors of Rafd9828
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 2.19
$ 2.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mariteen
$ 0.05 from @Yzza0625
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

Comments

This is so nice sir. Your story teaches us that if we do something good, God will repay us. This is very inspiring. Thank you for sharing this to us sir. God bless you.😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Today times have changed. No matter what you do for others, they are not yours

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes I know alot have changed but we can still make it right in this our own time, I believe we can! Thanks for your contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago