Be charitable no matter what!

3 20
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

Well, I will like to start with what my mother usually say to me each time we are having a mother and child talk. My mother will always say to me, my child! Always do good to people anywhere you find yourself. And ever since I started knowing what is good from wrong, I have never stopped remembering and repeating  those words my mother told me in my heart up till this moment you are reading my article dear friend.

I believe that being charitable to people is another way of serving humanity and projecting peace, togetherness and love amongst ourselves and the world entirely. It does not matter where you are from, your tribe, your religion or your ethnic differences, all of these factors does not matter and not important when it comes to charity. No matter how small you think you have and can give out, no matter the countenance you may receive from the person you are being charitable to, whether good or bad response you get from that person you are being good to, do not hesitate to continue being charitable and do not turn off that spirit of giving in you.

I want to share with you my personal experience that happened some days ago, the experience and response I got from someone I wanted to assist as a result of the way I saw him appear as he came to work for me.

I needed to repair my beloved mother's shoe that got spoiled, so I saw one shoe mender that was crossing my gate, so I beckon on him to come and do a repair work for me, as he came close, I noticed he was so dirty, the cloth he was wearing was not in good form, so worn out with so many torn parts, I could sense he has not taken his bath for days because of the way he was smelling and looking. I couldn't hold my breathe and my heart was bleeding in tears and pity towards this young boy that I called to work for me.

After repairing the shoe, I felt compassionate for him and the way he was looking, as he finished his job, I paid him above what we bargained for, then as he wanted to leave my place, I called him back and asked him if he can accept some cloths from me, he gladly said yes. I went inside my house and selected few cloths that are good which I was still using so he can take them and change the worn out cloths he was wearing. When I came out and gave him the cloths, he said thank you and was so happy that I gave him some cloths, out of pity I appealed to him to come inside and use the visitor's convince room and have his bath since he was so dirty and the weather was so hot and sunny, he obliged and said he was coming.

I went inside my house to get my phone as someone was calling me, as I finished answering the call, I heard someone's voice outside calling sir!, I came out to know who was that, I was shocked to see the young boy returning the cloths to me and said he is not taking them, and also he is not interested in taking his bath either, he quickly left and never looked back. I was asking him what really happened? he didn't want to answer me and he left at once.

I started wondering what could make him to reject the good deeds I offered to him. I was confused and didn't know what to say at that moment. When my mother came back from where she went to, I narrated the ordeal to her, after narrating my story, she replied and said;

My son, you know in this life there are different strokes for different folks, for him to turn down your helping hand and good deeds does not mean another person will also turn your helping hand down, it does not mean your gift is bad or what you are trying to do for him is bad either, but you know as the situation of things are in this country and in the world where we live in, I can tell you that maybe he is afraid and trying to be safe and protect his life, maybe his reason for rejecting your helping hand could be because of how insecure the country is, or maybe because of the stories we hear of late about of how people are used for money rituals,  serial killings, kidnap and disappearance of people, etc through gifts and arms giving. These could be his reasons for rejecting the gift and the offer you made to him.

But don't change your heart from doing good any little moment you see an opportunity to, quite alright the days are evil but we can not because of that change from being good to bad. Even when you try to be good to people, don't expect to receive good back or expect to be treated the same way you did to people, when you are doing good, have it at the back of your mind that you are already sending positive signals to the minds of the people who see you, even to that person that rejects your good deeds today, one day he or she will remember your kindness you offered to him or her and feel remorseful for not accepting it and would want to try being kind to another.

Sponsors of Rafd9828
empty
empty
empty

After the discussion with my mother, instead of being sad over what happened, I became happy and increased my charitable spirit. I have promised myself that I will never ever give up in giving and sharing love to those that I am better off and even to those that are also better than me. For through giving, we share love, peace, togetherness and harmony amongst us.

Have a great day.... Rafd9828 loves you.

3
$ 2.09
$ 2.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

Comments

It is indeed always right to always choose to be kind. God would surely bless you with your compassion towards others. Godspeed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much and it's also a wake up call for every one of us to never stop giving and showing charity to those around us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've touched my heart reading your article. Showing love to other people is showing love to God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago