I had a short TIME TRAVEL

2 13
Avatar for RAIZYREESE
2 years ago
Topics: Memories
Saging con yelo (sweetened banana with tapioca pearls,ice,sugar and milk I also added some toffee bits to give salty twist to it's taste)

Back in my highschool years

While having our snack which is saging con yelo I started reminiscing my highschool days.They say secondary school is one of the most enjoyable years of schooling because it is the start of adolescence,making more friends and a lot memories to cherish in the journey to adulthood.But as an introvert I haven't had so much memories with friends.I became focused in aiming academic excellence without realizing that I didn't enjoyed my adolescence.I have friends only few and upto now we are still in contact with each other,some became my daughter's godparents,some became my sister in Christ through some couples marriage encounter. OK back to my highschool life hehe.

As I've said I haven't had so much stories to share because after school I go straight home even though we are in morning class.So 12:00 noon I am at home,doing homeworks.I was enrolled in a private school but with 50% scholarship,so half of my monthly tuition is free.I only borrow books from known friends a year ahead of me, because we can't afford to buy new books yearly.Unfortunately during my junior and senior years I have no books to borrow because they already lend them to their relatives.So every afternoon I go to my classmates/friends house to borrow books and sometimes I just stay to their house and do our homeworks together.I only walk during those times.We are two barrios away from each other.It doesn't matter if it is too hot or it is raining during those days,for me I need to do my responsibility as a student.

Those experience made me and my classmate as close friends,there is this time I was scolded by my mother because I allowed my classmates mom to cut my hair same length as hers haha.My mother got mad at me because she was the only one who's cuts my hair.And it is true (magtatampo daw ang buhok kapag di hiyang ang naggupit)it took months that my hair didn't grow longer.not until my mother decided to trim its edges.It was classmate too who taught me how to ride a bike (bicycle).I got some scratches and bruises during those time.Still good memories to cherish.

So what is the connection of saging con yelo in my article?

If I will tell the whole story of my boring highschool life it will take too long haha.Saging con yelo is my tipid (budget friendly) snack.During my schooldays I am lucky if I can have a 10peso baon (pocket money).There were days I don't have even a single penny but still I will go to school.My father is a tricycle driver so he will send me to school,going home I will wait for him until he had his passenger.I'll be in the backride.Quite lot of sacrifices back then huhu.

Saging con yelo is one of my favorite during summer.it is worth 6pesos per order,1whole banana Saba with crushed ice and milk,I would ask the seller to add more ice and milk so I can be full in one order haha.If I have 10pesos or 0.2$ I can save the remaining 4pesos for the next day or buy few pieces of pad paper,would you believe that I experienced asking for a piece of paper to my classmates just to take short quizzes?Owh remembering my experiences way back then can make me teary eyed.And yes there are days that I really cry, specially when I need to skip classes due to some reasons.

________________________

Just an additional story:

I haven't had enough moral support during my school days reason why I didn't finish my college.After I graduated in highschool/secondary level I started working.At the age of 16 I managed to earn little amount of penny to help my parents with our daily expenses.I was 20 when the school near us offered short courses/vocational courses which is free so I grab the opportunity.I studied Computer Hardware servicing and had my NCII .Got a chance to be an OJT in an electronic company in Laguna where in it is an OJT with salary.For almost a year I was so happy to earn 10,000-12,000 a month.Even though I rent a house with co-OJTs I still managed to send money to my parents.And from then on I was able to work in another company where I have benefits like SSS and philhealth.Though I failed to earn a degree still it didn't became a hindrance for me to strive.Right now I am still dreaming of finishing my studies,I don't know how and when I can do it but I am still aiming for it.And if time didn't allow it to happen I will do my very best to make my kids become degree holders in their time.

________________________

4
$ 1.31
$ 1.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Tilawat
$ 0.01 from @ALDEC314
+ 1
Avatar for RAIZYREESE
2 years ago
Topics: Memories

Comments

Me and you pursue same desires and goals . I can't deny the fact that my studies is making me offline and also I can't cooperate more on this platform but it good to see you mam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully we can achieve them by the grace of God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago