Focusing On ONE Thing

1 18
Avatar for R23
Written by
1 year ago

Backstory

I have always found it wildly difficult to maintain focus on projects for more than a few days. With that being said, there are many things that I have been working on for a longer period of time (i.e. @dunksocial or my web 3.0 personal blogging), but most entrepreneurial ideas or new routines/habits I come up with fizzle out after a few weeks.

That doesn't mean that I don't accomplish things, but I have noticed that what I am feeling the most passion about tends to shift rapidly and often I end up with a lot of half-completed projects. Looking at this, the obvious good news is that there are a bunch of ideas I can pick up and continue working on at any moment, but the challenge will be to establish a new way of focusing in order to get those things done.

Moving Forward

I have been reading a new book alongside my Bitcoin books. The book is called "The One Thing" by Gary Keller & Jay Papasan. It is a really interesting concept and it is that we as a society are trying to do entirely too much and never focusing on what is actually the most important to get done. Thus far it has harped on some of the lies that are spread throughout society regarding productivity, multi-tasking and goal-setting.

The authors of the book are seeking to make the case that we should be finding the one thing that drives us every day and basing the activities we do on reaching that overarching goal. For example, if your one thing is to make it big in the crypto markets, you need to establish daily routines, spending habits and research time in order to maximize your potential for gains.

I have focused a lot on thinking about overarching goals that could be my "one thing" and though I haven't quite found it yet, I do feel satisfied that I am working on it. When you become an adult, much of the direction of your life becomes a freestyle. Of course there are people who know exactly what they want to do, but without the formal regulation of schooling or living with your parents, your decisions gain a bit of freedom... But also a lot of ambiguity.

Finding my path hasn't been easy, but it has been rewarding thus far. I have been very focused on getting rid of bad habits rather than formulating good ones, and though I have been successful in dropping the bad, the lack of an overarching goal has led me to a period of boredom. I will be working hard to figure out what I want to get out of my life and then building my daily routines to accomplish it.

I hope you all find your passion and get the chance to really focus in on it!

Come talk basketball on Dunk Social!

Links and Connections:
Join me on Splinterlands exploring blockchain gaming
Get paid for your search results with Presearch
Follow me on Twitter/Instagram: @ Rob_Minnick23
Hive: @ rob23
NEW TRIBE: @dunksocial
Join me on Torum
Check out Cake DeFi for staking rewards
Bitcoin Cash Apps: @ rob23
Join me on Publish0x to talk crypto

Who I am:
My name is Rob and I am a financial analyst with interests in cryptocurrency and blockchain. I have enjoyed my time thus far engaging with Web 3.0 and am looking to continue learning more and sharing what I learn through my experience.

3
$ 0.93
$ 0.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for R23
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

You actually did hit the right spot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago