Ways to be a Consistent Writer(Day 9 in Camp)

9 75
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Success, Life, Feelings, Nysc, ...

7/8/21

Please go through this article if you're battling with consistency as a writer.

Contrary to the majority's thought, consistency is not you "necessarily" writing and publishing your content daily.

I can create multiple contents daily and even when I started writing, I was posting contents daily.

Until I read a post where it was mentioned that giving your audience a breathing space to digest your contents matters and choking them with contents is not consistent.

Sometime later, my very good friend who is also a content writer confirmed what I read.

It's not wrong to show up every day with content but it is better to give your audience time to digest your content.

Consistency is you showing up regularly and not daily as a writer. You can have a plan to publish your content 4 times in a week and you stick to it.

When I newly joined LinkedIn. I remember that I'm always trying to figure out what I would write about, and if I'd get anyone to even want or like to read my stuff. I see people post different things daily, I mean good contents, I wonder if I can ever get to that level.

But a post I read on LinkedIn, I really can't remember the person who made the post. I tried locating the post but couldn't. That particular post really helped me to get over some of those initial confidence scare that were preventing me from publishing my first good post.

And also, being consistent here on these community for close to two month has also built my strong will for writing.

The writers first two tips were;

✍Write what you know", and

✍Write often",

and these were just the kind of encouragement I needed to get started with my writing.

Many writers on LinkedIn that I know and follow up on their posts on LinkedIn have often maintained a consistent schedule of writing, some have published far more than I have.

But I also see many people write only once, twice, or thrice, and then, they stop. That's because they lack the spirit of consistency. They need to be more consistent and keep hitting until they get it right.

Many other people have not even attempted to publish their first post, they only opened the site without trying to update their profile and make it catchy.

Sponsors of QueenRay
empty
empty
empty

Check out my sponsors posts

Maybe they have mindsets of getting started, but they haven't mustered the courage to hit publishon their post yet. Or maybe they haven't even figured out how they would go about writing yet.

I seriously empathize with these kind of people because I have once being in their shoes.

Writing on what you think or feel about a topic you care about and sharing it with hundreds or thousands of people you don't even know or that you've never met at all around the world can be daunting.

And you might just be having a second thought that who will be interested in reading what you have to say?.

Just look at the loads of words that are published everyday: records shows that 150,000 new posts are published each week on LinkedIn.


Here are a few reasons that I hope will convince you to get started:

✍Write because you want to make things better at work, at home, or in your community.

✍Write to discover new things about yourself and the world.

✍Write because you're tired if consuming other people's ideas and you want to start creating and sharing your own.

✍Write because you want to leave your mark on the world

However, being consistent even if it's just 3 days in a way is not easy but with these ways, it will be less stressful:

  • Mark the days on your calendar and set your reminder: Don't just say you want to be consistent, mark out certain days of the week that you want to show up and set your alarm device to remind you.

    Let the days stick in your head and remind yourself that no matter what, you must feed your audience with content.

  • Remind yourself of the reason you became a writer.

  • Have an accountability partner: Having a person that can keep you on your toes will help you to be consistent. Inform the person of your schedule and make it a duty to report to the person. When you're struggling to be consistent, your partner will be the one to ginger you.

  • Have a content bank: Storing your content ideas will help you to be consistent even though you're busy. All you will have to do is copy content from your bank and feed your audience.

On Nysc News: Today was my Man'O War drill. I climbed everything climbable. I really enjoyed myself.

15
$ 6.94
$ 6.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 8
Sponsors of QueenRay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Success, Life, Feelings, Nysc, ...

Comments

I write based on my everyday experience. Thanks for this wonderful tips, Queen! ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for the tips, Queen!:) Consistency is the important thing, and you are right, that doesn't mean writing every day. It even overwhelms me a bit as a reader when someone publishes every day. My reading hours are not enough to read all the content that I follow, hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, limited reading hours but lots of things to read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to write with passion from the heart. And reading users whenever you like the topics is my best way to keep an eye on reading the articles. When I don't understand the message or my translator doesn't help me I go ahead and just tip. I don't stop.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I always have this problem when I don't have anything to write or even I have but I can't find time to do so. Writing takes time, but some people can write in minutes and all I can wish was I wish I can do that too. 😄

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, writing really takes a lot of time. It takes hardwork to write ooo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I honestly have these questions in my head like "what to write? Will they notice my work? Is my article even worth their time to read? " even though I doubt myself sometimes, I continue to write because I am enjoying it. 💗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I write mostly my own experiences.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totally true I prefer to write based on what I already know or read online or based on my own personal knowledge

$ 0.02
2 years ago