Old Acquaintances

12 27
Avatar for QueenRaay
2 years ago

April 6th, 2022.

I happened to attend a friend's weddingg today and reconnected with an old acquaintance, catching up on what we've been up to these past couple of years. I've missed our one-on-one conversations and catching up was fun. We were secondary school mates but lost contact after I left the school for another school.

The conversation eventually shifted from catch-up to relationship problems. As she opened up about her complicated relationship with her mother, I found myself going from one end of the spectrum to the other.

I felt sad for her. I sympathize with the situation. But then I went to the other end of the spectrum wondering if I should say anything, tell her what I did or be honest about how I feel about it.

What do I do when I'm faced with situations that tests my moral compass?

Sponsors of QueenRaay
empty
empty
empty

Am I a bad person if I don't say anything?

What do you think?

Is there a right thing to do?

If you were in my position, what would you do?

You've probably had that thought before. You say something to someone and they assume you're trying to be hurtful or malicious, but it was just the opposite.

The thing is, people can take things in different ways, and you have to remember that. The other day, I got a message from an old friend I'd lost touch with. He's gone through a lot since we were last in touch and had found himself in a very tough spot.

I sent him my answer, followed by a follow up message of support, but I still felt bad and wanted to do more so I reached out to find out what he needed more of and how he'd like me to help.

What would you do if a friend sent you a message asking for help, in particular, a friend that you've lost contact with for long.?

Like, I haven't talked to this friend in almost a decade. We were good friends, I think. He messaged me out of the blue a few days ago asking for help. He was in a bad situation, and even though we weren't close anymore he said he needed help. I don't know him anymore though. He's probably changed a lot since we've lost contact.

I haven't talked to him in 10 years. He was one of my best friends, and I am wondering if I should reach out to him? What do you think?

Should I give him what he's asking for?

If I don't do what he asks for does it mean I'm a bad person for not contacting him after so long?

For the last 6 years, I have been saying stuff like "I'm going to reach out to all my secondary school friends this summer". But I've always been too busy.

The main question remains though: should I reach out to any one of them at all, because I'm sure everyone has one or two things they are going through?

And I wouldn't want a situation whereby I'll be faced with a problem or the other. I also have my challenges.

I think we all struggle with this question at some point. Making that first move after not hearing from someone can be very difficult. As much as we'd like to think that they are waiting to hear from us, most likely they have moved on with their life and have forgotten about us.

Maybe it makes us feel bad that we've not reached out before, but the reality is – people move on with their life. We deserve to do the same. It's okay to reach out, because we never know what will happen when we reach out.

Just follow your mind and do what you feel is really best for you.

6
$ 2.18
$ 1.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 3
Sponsors of QueenRaay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRaay
2 years ago

Comments

I have found myself in similar situations before when I always procrastinate about calling hold friends but by the time eventually do, I'd be glad I did..... Pls sister, I lost the number you sent to me on Whatsapp ( about Amazon book publishing). I would really appreciate if you resend it again

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. Procrastination is the word. No problem, I'll resend it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks alot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's nothing bad in reaching out to those we have lost contact with and suddenly, we get to find their numbers. Even at that, I think the one question I would ask if I happen to meet a long time friend who came to me for help "Why is it when you needed my help you reached me?"

If I am in the capacity to help, I might help not Minding if it has been long we see each other. We all have our needs and struggles but when we get to see each other again, let's be happy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. Whatsoever we can do, that is with our capacity we can do it for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes it's just better to keep one's opinion to oneself especially when the other party isn't that close to us or as close as they used to be.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ummh. Seen from another angle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really confusing situation that how a person reaches to you for help after long time but if he really need help you must do as much as possible for the sake of humanity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes you are right. We should do what we can afford to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, if he's asking you money, I think you don't really have to. You see, if you were really close enough back then, communication between the two of you would never stop even if not's everyday, atleast you were able to connect at least once or twice in a year.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So true. Closeness determines communication. And once communication is lost, there is no friendship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, that is so truuueeee! That's why, you don't really have no obligation to do any favor for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago