Food for Thought

1 14
Avatar for QueenRaay
2 years ago

March 20th, 2022

When you consistently yield to temptations, you diminish your ability and capacity to resist it.

This is exactly how I felt about a particular habit I had.

I was too weak to resist it.

I was always doing it, no matter what.

It made me do things I wouldnt ordinarily do.

It caused me to lose good opportunities.

It caused me to fail on my promises to myself and others.

It caused me to blame others for my failures.

It caused me to be inconsistent in my walk with God.

It caused me to not take proper care of myself.

It caused me to turn against the people who loved and cared for me the most.

It even affected my relationship with others.

But the temptation kept coming, time and time again, until one day it hit me: "When you consistently yield to temptations, you diminish your ability and capacity to resist it."

Sponsors of QueenRaay
empty
empty
empty
Special thanks to my sponsors for their support always ❤💕💖

The other day I made a pretty standard purchase. It was at a place I frequent a couple times a week and the food there is pretty tasty. Despite its deliciousness, the pricing is reasonable and the service is attentive (which surprisingly is not the most common). But what really brought me there this time, was the smell.

As soon as I walked in the door, I remembered why I loved it so much. My senses were firing on all cylinders and in a matter of seconds, my brain established a new craving.

This may seem like an ordinary situation but nope, this had happened to me before and I was familiar with the feeling.

However, that familiarity was not something I was proud of. It was more like a scar that represented all the mental issues that would come with recovery. That smell and visual stimulation consumed my thoughts and left me powerless to resist.

I must confess, I am an addict. I have been addicted to junk food since I was a kid.

When I say "junk" food, I mean basically anything that is not good for me. Junk food has its place in your diet, but only in small amounts, and never more than once a week.

This is why it's called "junk" food.

But when you yield to this temptation too often, you diminish your ability and capacity to resist it.

The problem is, you usually don't know you are already addicted until your addiction has already taken you out.

So when you know you are addicted, how can you overcome it?

That's the part that might seem difficult for an addict.

Just try to analyze what the addiction is based on, and see if there is a way to fix it.

#Foodforthought

#writersblock

#dontknowwhattowriteon

6
$ 2.03
$ 1.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 2
Sponsors of QueenRaay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRaay
2 years ago

Comments

Your first quote is so right. The more we indulge a thing, the harder it becomes to ever get above it

$ 0.00
2 years ago