What's wrong?

8 27
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

My weekend was damn stressful. I had wanted to join in the coordination of the WAEC marking. One of the examiners that came to invigilate had encouraged me to join in the marking. Though I don't intend to pursue a career in Education since the situation had made joined, I think having experience in marking these scripts would help me one day.

Yes, I'm the type of person that doesn't look at them now but let me borrow the financial language "I take calculated risk".

So I have been going for the training since Friday and it ended Sunday.

I think I'm the youngest there and the head of coordination for my subject gave me the name " used corner". Of course, we are being used by the federal government and we are being paid stipends. Lest I forget, I was going to mark for English language but the coordination centre was too far from my place. And I went to the nearest around me but I will be marking for Literature.

We were told to come at 1 pm and I came a bit late though and the leader immediately picked on me and began calling me "used corper".

I was exhausted...

Registering was rigorous and at last, I was given 244 scripts to mark.

I got home tired. I decided to have my bath first and politely chased my little friends that have come to play with me, I don't have time for our play.

After taking my bath I ate both my breakfast and lunch, Lol.

Hubby called and we began talking. I purposely delayed our conversation because it was easing some stress.

Hubby was on night so I needed to dismiss him to rest before work starts. I was refreshed and ready to write. As I opened the first paper, I got a discouraging paper. Nothing was written on it. The candidate just wrote the questions back to the exam board. And I was wondering if the three years spent in college didn't impact anything into his brain. That he can't illustrate a Literature book which he has read for three years in an exam that means his life. And I was left to ask...

What's wrong?

But what's actually wrong? Is it that the educators don't teach well or what. But I will speak from my experience. When you give them assignments they don't do and they come to give excuses. Make them read these texts on their own so that you would just come to class to analyze and explain, they won't attempt to read.

The major issues are from the students. They are too lazy to read and even write. To construct a good sentence is a huge problem. When they come in clusters, they only talk about ball and other frivolities.

I weep for this generation of students. Can you believe that most times educators go as far as going to beg them to come to class for teachings? They feel that during these exams there would be a guide. Guess what, during their Literature exam, a strict invigilator who do not accept this malpractice came. And they had no choice than to work on their own. Those that do not read have their booklet to admire and the ones that have read will write proficiently.

I used to think WAEC marking is too strict, but with the way we were trained, we were encouraged not to mark the students down rather encourage them.

I think I have to stop here because I just stole some minutes of my time to come here to express my displeasure of the Nigerian students towards their exams...

4
$ 4.83
$ 4.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of Prisca
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

That's the challenge, how to make students be more interested in learning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think all the problem starts with the children at least showing interest in learning!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a student and I somehow agree with the thought that we relly are becoming lazy hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is well...but pls don't join them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The laziness of our teachers is been transferred to the students. Without the assistance of the teacher's student can't write waec on their own and pass successfully.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes...the blame is not just on the students alone. The teachers, parents, and governments have a hand in this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very nice as you are sharing your experience marking scripts, some students are lazy that they just depend on exam malpractice which sometimes fail them and they also tend to fail as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It fails them big time...

$ 0.00
2 years ago