We never visited the hospital.

32 63
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“We never know the love of a parent till we become parents ourselves.”

Henry Ward Beecher

Parenting is the master of all professions. I agree with @George_Dee on the article he made yesterday. You can click here and it takes you to his recent post.

I can never agree less to it because he has said the truth. Parenting is a hard task and if you aren't ready to be committed to it, I don't know what you need a child or children for.

When he got to this part that says;

Parents are doctors. Do you agree with this? Before the intervention of medical practitioners, parents are the first responder to their child's illness.

Yes, parents are doctors. He talked about how his mom trained them in drinking herbs to cure illnesses. I was inspired to write about my experience with it too. I would say, my mom was a strong legend to her children. I don't think there was any herb she wasn't conversant of.

The five of us were given birth to in a white garment church, and we never stepped our feet in any hospital. It wasn't that there was no money to take us there, but at that time, she believed in local herbs. Maybe this is why I don't like visiting the hospital for anything, until now, that I was forced to, by my Big sis.

My mom knows the name of all herbs and knows the right one for our illness. If it is malaria, she knows the combination. Fever? She knows it and the likes. She would always send me to get the herb from a particular woman, and she would list their names on a paper for me. I will just go to the woman, hand over the paper to her, and in a few minutes, she had gathered everything and I would take it home.

My mom made sure we drink this herb every morning before eating our breakfast. If you don't take the herb, you aren't eating. She would always say to us.

When we know how to eat sweet things, we must taste bitter ones too. We love taking sweets and the likes, and she was always careful and never missed a day forcing us to drink herbs. That made me prefer herbs to anything today. Though, I still would go for injection rather than taking drugs.

There was a time I was sick in school. I went to the school health center but that wasn't enough, until a friend volunteered to make herbs for me. That was when I missed my mom the more. After drinking it, I slept, and by the time I woke up, I had already sweated and felt completely fine.

Finding the right herb for your ailment heals faster for me and I love it.

Our mom was the doctor in the house. We don't visit the hospital. In most cases too, when we are sick, she would ask if we want an injection or herb? We would echo herb. It got to a point, they thought I was a spirit girl with the way I fall sick every time. They got scared, thinking my time wouldn't last on earth and so, they would always take me to the church.

When my grandmother was narrating those times I was with her, she would always thank God for my life today, because they never thought I would stay longer like this. I hope to live longer the more 😎

At the church, they would have informed them that they would be bringing me over for prayer. The church would have prepared herbs in a big bowl. The hotness of the herb itself would scare you, and make you pretend you are well so you don't go through such predicament.

They would dip my head into the hot herb while I inhale the smoke and thereafter, they start wiping me with a broom, chanting some things and sending away evil spirits. They believed I was being possessed then 🤣🤣🤣🤣

So, whenever I fall sick, I pretend to be okay because I don't want to go through such trauma 😂😂😂

Why wipe me with a broom, with the thought to send away evil spirits? Am I a witch?

But in all, I still appreciate my mom's love for her children. She trained us so well, and I am glad to have such a great woman. May her soul continue to rest in peace.

Thanks for your time.

Thank you so much, @Jane for renewing your sponsorship. God will keep blessing you. I really appreciate it ♥️

Image by Conscious Design from Unsplash

[September 02, 2022] (No 244 articles for the year)

24
$ 4.25
$ 3.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 13
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

The same with my mother..every time we are sick she's finding ways for us to get better soon.. They are not just doctors, but caregivers.. 24/7 looking after us to make sure we aren fine..🥰

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Caregivers and still, never take their rest. They really deserved the best from us. They are our lifesavers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My mother was a nurse for many years. She always had a remedy for us. What food to eat, what to drink, and medicines to take. Yes there were times our ailments required more attention. As a parent we sometimes take the roles of a doctor. Your lucky to have a mother that is so knowledgeable with herbs.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes oo. Every mother is great in that aspect. They are doctors professionally on their own without obtaining any certificate 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah exactly to the point that our mothers somewhat overreacting on their way of treating us when we get ill.hahaha this is also a memorable experience when we get old.on how our mothers show their love on us

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes. When we keep growing, we would understand what our mothers went through when we are in the position too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We're the same princess. My mom never tried in the hospital when she was about to give a new born which is us. I don't like hospital princess because I have a lot of traumas. I have a lot of worst experiences there.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I don't like visiting there but we don't have a choice now that we have grown, but I still do not forget about local herbs because they are effective.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes princess we don't like visiting hospital because we felt uncomfortable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The comfort that we get from our parents especially mother when we are sick will wipe away all over health related issues. Nice to know your mom has remedies for most diseases. That itself is a blessing my dear.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

A big comfort for us when we know our mothers are there to care for us and act like Doctors and Nurses to us. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parents are the best doctors I've known and seen. I have so much interest in the herbs too and I took a lot while growing up. Even my mother in law before she passed on to glory, she made a lot of herbs for Dara for bathing and they helped a lot with her skin. Parents are amazing. I wonder what this Gen Z generation want to turn out to be because they only know of parties.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Herbs are so great and beneficial. Even bathing with it would cure the sickness. Thank God for our mothers then. But you see these our generation mothers, na party dem know oo 😅😅

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Gen Z 🤣🤣😂😂🤣 only parties o... That is the only language they understand. It's scary, KP... Really scary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your mom was truly a legend, as she always treated you and your siblings with herbs. Herbs are actually a good and natural cure.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Very good and natural. I love taking herbs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Moms can know their child,s health even without checking the pulse because they have telescopic view in the eyes and great sensors in heart. They are our first doctor and authentic one with merciful heart.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. They feel many things and knows the exact thing happening to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Onisegun nla, even though it is God's name but we can as well nickname our mother for that. My mom too knows every herb for every sickness and I wonder how she was able to know everything. She even give prescription for some medicine and it works. Kudos to them all, I wonder if ladies of nowadays can do same..😅😅

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same with my mom. She is indeed Onisegun nla who God has brought Himself through our mothers. They are so great.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mother's knows best and it's true . I also believe in the healing powers of herb ,technically because of my mom too. I like the broom part hihi! I can imagine your face while your undergoing the seem like ritual then. lol!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The broom part.... 😂😂😂 I just couldn't stop laughing when I remember how I was beaten with it, with the hope that spirits would be chased away 😄😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Herbal medicine is actually better and kind of more effective than drugs, but it's the lack of standardisation that's the problem

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. Some now use the herb for a different thing entirely. They took it for their own advantage and not the patient again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha the last part of your story is funnier Princess. Pretending than being traumatize for me is also better 🤣. I personally believe in herbs too and that you're not a witch lol. My wounds got healed faster with herbs though medicine is fine too.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehehe. I just had to endure and pretend because I didn't want to experience such moment in that church.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I watched a debate recently about the modern form of treatment and the ancient use of herbs. We don't know how important those herbs are back then. By the way, what they do at the church isn't fair at all.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lol.... I saw something in that church oo 😅😅 They believed demons and spirits are always in every one that are sick and should it be that way? Lol

Herbs are so important and effective.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While modern medicine has come a long way, there is still a lot we can learn from herbalism. Herbs can be used to treat a wide variety of ailments, and they can be a great option for those who are looking for a more natural approach to healing. Our older generation are much aquented to this method and your mum is one of them.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes. Herbs cannot be ignored or taken out of the equation because that was what came into existence before everything became modernized.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are so lucky to have such a great parents who inculcated everything in you. No doubt, parents are doctor as well as our first teacher.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, they are. Even before going to the hospital, they are the first people to take care of us. Let's appreciate our parents.

$ 0.00
1 year ago