I was duped but my mom was the best.

54 84
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago
Image created by me from Canva

My mom was a trader and involves in so many menial Jobs. She was a strong woman and I admired her so much. She wasn't dull at all, whatsoever business she sees, she jumps into it and thank God she was always successful in it.

My mom started the business of selling big containers, drums used at the party or at home for water. She would always go to their company in Lagos and order many of them. Sometimes, she will use truck to bring in more than 100 drums and there was massive gains. Within a week, my mom would sell everything.


I was in school then and we were on holidays, I decided to pay my parents a visit and it was also during the Redeemed Christian Church of God convention around August in year 2013. I love to handle my mom's shop then. I was always happy making sales everytime I come home and she was always happy with that.


One Saturday, she went to the company as usual and handed me the shop to take care. She gave me the whole recharge cards she bought the previous day worth 50k ($100) and left some amount of money there as change for me incase I needed to give out change to customers.

We use our Dad's car to sell bread on the road as we believe people are more attracted to bread in the car and it moves faster than putting it on a table to sell.


I was sitting down beside the car selling when a guy came to buy bread. He was hastening me to answer him immediately. I was so devastated and confused at that moment because according to him, he would miss the bus he was in and I don't want such to happen and I also needed to be fast to attend to him

He bought bread and recharge card. Perhaps he saw the much recharge card when I brought it out to give him his own. I gave everything to him and wanted to give him change.

I didn't know when I dropped the bag containing the recharge cards and money inside the booth to go look for change. When I came back, he was gone. I thought he left the change for me and I was happy I gained something.


I totally forgot the bag and was sitting and counting the numbers of cars and bike moving on the road when a man came to purchase a recharge card

I started searching for the bag. Sweat came rolling down my face, I was shaking and confused. The man noticed me and asked what was wrong. I told him I couldn't find my bag again and I won't be able to sell him the card.

He went away. I ran into our shop to see if I kept it there, I couldn't find it. There was one woman selling engine oil beside our shop and she asked what happened, that was when tears came rolling down and I explained everything to her.

She felt emotional and saw me crying and wailing on the floor. Recharge cards worth $100 with other money in it. What do I tell my mom? Where would she see the money to get them again? Our capital and profit are gone. How do I do it?


I was still crying when my Dad came. I couldn't reply him but the woman told him what happened. Instead of my Dad to show empathy or concern, he started blaming me and saying all manners of words to me. I couldn't blame that man because he was drunk. They started pleading with my Dad to stop blaming me that it wasn't my fault. It can happen to anyone. I was duped.


After a while, he stopped and was with me in the shop. I didn't even mind him because I was so angry with him that day.

Few hours later, my mom returned. Fear gripped me again, the woman was looking at me and signaling to me to calm down.

The truck offloaded all the drums while my mom was busy calculating the money to give to them.


"I want to buy recharge card" a customer said. I was helping them bring down the drums and pretended I didn't hear them. I and the woman looked at each other and she felt pity for me. She knew I couldn't tell my mom. "I want to buy recharge card" the customer said again.

"Busayo, answer her now" my mom retorted.


It was then the woman called my mom to a close place and explained everything to her. My Dad was watching everything and couldn't talk again.

The next thing was my mom putting her hands on her head and was like "Ha, Busayo you have killed me. Owo olowo (meaning she borrowed the money from someone) and now everything is gone.

She came to me, locked up my dress and was shouting that I have killed her. I bursted into tears again while people were rushing to her to leave me alone.


I knew I won't be able to go back to school with any money. The convention started the following Monday and we already resumed. I couldn't go but decided to assist my mom to sell during that programme

There were many people who came for the convention. People from different states and countries. The road was blocked, there were traffic. In fact pedestrians were hooked on the road and all traders were selling massively.

Business men and women don't joke with days like this because there would be a lot of gains and market would keep blooming. For five nights, I didn't sleep but was selling all through the night. I only slept for some hours in the afternoons and would wake up immediately I remembered I was duped and I must help my mom during this program.


On the last day of the convention, my mom made serious gains. I saw it on her face, she was so happy. She recovered everything including the money I was duped off.

She said to me one morning after the convention "Busayo, go and take your bath and go and cook this special meal. Don't worry about what happened. You really tried for me this period". I looked at my mom and tears came down. What a mother indeed.

(Don't mind me, I am crying typing this) seriously, I miss her.


I went back to school with doubled pocket money. My mom made great sales during that moment. I knew God came in for her through what happened and she never used that against me.

I knew right there that my mom was the best mother. Whenever I remember such incidence, I would cry but smile later when I understand the true love of a mother to her daughter.

Thank you for reading. I hope this day become great for us all.

|August 03, 2021|

31
$ 17.14
$ 15.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 17
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

The mother's love is agape,after GOD's love mother's love is next and it can never be compare. i was reading these laughing and same time crying.Mother will use her right hand to beat you and later use her left hand to draw you close to her.Take heart .

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right. The love of a mother cannot be compared at all. Though they discipline but with love. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mothers unconditional love indeed. Even if we made mistakes that a simple but big mistakes they will always there beside us, ofcourse they will scolded us but that doesn't last long. It is their way of teaching us. I also missed my mom already. She rarely scolded me because I always do the best for her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwwnnnn.... Mummy is so sweet

I can imagine the psychological effects the dupe had done to you, and it reflected whenever you barely get enough sleep because you are constantly startled by the memory and you wake up

It's great that God made it possible for you to put a smile on mummy's face, and mum placed a smile on yours too

Now, your tears turned to joy.... Hallelujah... Lol

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehehe Yes, whenever I sleep then, I will wake up immediately I remember it and seeing the fact that I must help my mom then. It was really a bad day but thank God for now. Thank you dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Must be a sad for you my friend..Hugs🤗🤗🤗 Well, Mother will truly gave their best to do their duties as being our mother. Kuddos to them!

God bless to you my friend!😇 I wished I could hug you personally.😌

$ 0.05
2 years ago

How great it would be to get such beautiful hug from you Ren🤗 Mothers are truly great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyyy...😌🤗🤗🤗🥲 Stay safe my friend..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mom is the best in the whole wide world. They can be difficult sometimes but they will do everything for their child 💚.

Anyway, if that's me oh Gosh. I don't know what I'm gonna do. That amount is a big amount in out country.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I didn't have a choice then too because everything became shock to me The money was so huge at that time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. That's to be expected of fathers. Some of them are practical and won't show empathy and mum was more understanding and she felt that was when she heard too because of the money involved. It's not an easy thing to go through but it is an experience that will stay with you forever because it allows you to speak glowingly about her and of course to show how much you have missed her and lastly, to learn from what happened. It would help you to stay alert, going forward.

This is an emotional one, dear.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Mothers are always concerned more than fathers😁 but that doesn't mean fathers too don't care. They do but at that point, they would go practical and wild considering what happened. Thank you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha that's true. Women are more sensitive I must agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really made me cry. All of us mothers try to be the best for our children. But not all sons usually show how much they love their mothers with deeds. You managed to show how much you were worth. You are a beautiful and valuable woman. May God open your ways and continue to bless you.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I am sorry it was emotional. I understand too as I also cried writing it. Yes, female children are still caring to some extent than male ones.

Amen. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are so brave to overcome through it all and you are right, moms are really the best that we can have even if they don't stop nagging sometimes.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, moms are really the best. Thank you my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are always welcome, my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mum rocks too. She is my rare gem. I hope I would be able to pay her someday.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Amen. You would by God's grace

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moms are the best in life. It is very difficult to find someone to replace them when they are not with us because of the heart of true love the possess. Due to this geniune love of mothers, your mother did embraced you with a heart of love after all this mistakes. Your story is a heart touching and you nearly made me cry after reading it. Keep on with the good work.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am sorry it was emotional. Mothers are really true gem to their children. I can't forget such moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am so glad it turned out well, mother's are the best. One day they are gone and we need to cherish the times we have with them.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly. I am always remembering moments spent with her and I wish she could only wake up and come back to life but it isn't possible 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fact remains that whenever you remembered what your mum has done for you so far, you can't just hold it but cry. Your mum is really the best...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, it is always a sad moment whenever I remember it and truly I cherish the true mother in her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moms are like that they get angry from time to time but their love for us is unconditional❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, to every great mothers, their love for their children is unconditional. No one can come in between them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The love of a mother can never be traded for anything here on earth. Uhmmm redeem camp their always lots of thieves during convention we do attend back then right from minister conference to the end, and have a look of thieves been caught.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

One need to be careful during that moment because not everyone has come for prayers. Different People with different agenda.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. Mothers!!! Its a pity she's late. I hope you find solace in God.

A tear dropped of my face as I read the story.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am sorry for that. Amen, thank you Corper Ray🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one and nothing can really beat the Love of a mother.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree with you. No one can replace them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just to chip in, fathers are known to be pragmatic in situations like the one you narrated. Irrespective of how the person in question is feeling, they will shout and even go to the extent of beating the person if possible. But mothers will always allow emotions and empathy to come into play.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That was in the case too but thank God my mom showed concern then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not a good experience but I am happy your mom has recovered from it. I was a bit moved by this. We know moms are always moms and they are our biggest blessing from God. No wonder you miss her.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I really do miss her and I wish she isn't dead. I want to repay her but I don't have an option

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sure your mom sees all you did today and she's happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You made me teary with this, I have a lot to share and I will summon the courage to do so.

Mothers are unique and I am glad God came through for you guys during that moment, I am sure are definitely going to miss a woman like that.

💖

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Amen. Thank you for the reposting on Noisecash. I really appreciate it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one can compare a mother's love to her child.💗

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Absolutely no one. They are the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Till today people still go about duping innocent traders. The most common nowadays is stealing from Young girls at POS stands. May your mum's soul continue to rest in peace. She's a great mother indeed.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Stealing and duping will never end in this world. They are so heartless to rob People off of their hard earned money. Amen. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moms are really best.. And I felt sad as well while reading your story.. If I were in your shoes, I don't know what to do as well..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It was beyond me then but thank God everything was recovered through the gains she made.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing can be compared to a mother, I had tears in my eye reading this

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And I suddenly miss my mother 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, I just sent her some money and I know she will be surprised because I did yesterday morning. Many times I feel like there is nothing I can do to repay everything she has done and went through for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am always thinking of how to repay her. Coz seriously..she went through difficulties and had too many sacrifices as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Must have been a bitter experience but it's all good that your mom recovered it through good profits with your help.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes oo I was also happy then because I wouldn't imagine what would have happened if it wasn't during convention time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago