A lie I developed (The prompt word by Coquicoin)

41 57
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

I left home for Worker's Meeting in my Church on Saturday as a Chorister and we rehearsed a song for the next day which is Sunday. I have always loved to sing to the Lord and inspired every congregation and also won souls to the Lord. After the end of the meeting, everyone went to their different homes and I was sure I would be going for service early the next day so I don't serve any punishment as a late comer.

Grrrrgrrrrrgrrr, my phone rang as I got home.

Jane: Hello babe! How far?

Me: Hey girl, anything for me? Why did you call?

Jane: Don't tell me you have forgotten what's happening tomorrow.

Me: What is that? I asked my friend who was talking to me.

Jane: The tournament babe, tomorrow is the tournament.

Me: Oops! I have forgotten totally. I am sorry, I won't be coming. Remember tomorrow is Sunday and I am the one taking the Open Heavens by 7am tomorrow

Jane: Really? But we talked about this two days ago. I already thought my friend would come and encourage me tomorrow. Anyways, no problem.......

Me: Hey! Try to understand me na! Do you want me to miss the church tomorrow? What would I say? You don't expect me to lie again, you know?

Jane: Like I fucking care! Who doesn't lie? Abeg, just find something to say. They won't come drag you at home. Babe, please come over. I don't want you to miss it. Oh! I didn't tell you. Kelvin will be coming too.

Me: What the fuck? Did you invite him too?

Jane: No, he heard when we were talking two days ago and he came to me after you left promising to be there because you are coming.

Me: Oh no! This is a bad moment. I can't lie to them but Kelv.....

Jane: Oh please, you don't have a choice than to come. Goodbye (she hanged the call)


I didn't know what came over me the following morning. I immediately called my choir master, telling him I was having a fever. I have to devised a means of excusing myself for the service because I don't want to disappoint Jane and moreover, it's an opportunity to see my Crush Kelvin. Kelvin has been the hottest guy in my class and every girl's dream in the school. I really like him but I don't know how to go about it. Perhaps he likes me too and I just found out from my friend last night and I am not missing this chance of telling him my feelings.

After lying to my master, I hanged up and gave a fake smile. I was already preparing my mind when I heard something within me

"What does it profit a man if he gains the whole world and loses his own soul"

I ignored it the first time and the voice came again

"My daughter, why are you doing this? Why did you lie? Is the tournament important than serving me?"

I was now scared as my conscience was judging me. I was confused and sat on my bed trying to understand those words I have heard.

Could this be God? What am I doing to myself?


If you were in my situation, what would you have done?

Try going to church even after lying you had a fever and so weak? Or calling your friend to inform her you aren't coming again?

I had to stay at home and decided not to attend any. Lo and behold, I experienced fever immediately that same minute. I was shivering and I couldn't even moved my legs. No one to call and I was on my bed crying till the end of the service in the church.


Around 12pm, some members came to my house and found me lying on my bed. They saw me crying.

Sis. Joyce: Sister Mabel, what's wrong with you? Why are you crying? But you were so healthy yesterday when we were rehearsing.

Me: I looked at them and nod my head in a negative way. I lied, Brother Dave, I lied to you this morning and this is the result.

I never had any fever, I only covered myself because I wanted to attend my friend's tournament and while dressing up, I heard the voice of the Lord twice and I was confused. I didn't want to come to church because you may be thinking I am a liar and I couldn't go to the tournament for the fear that something might happen to me.

Then, I immediately had this fever. Could it be the lie I created brought this to me?

Brother Dave: You shouldn't have lied to me, perhaps I might understand you if you'd opened up and tell me your reason for not showing up. We all thought you would come since you were the one anchoring the open heavens. Thank God for Sister Joyce who helped you out.

But no problem, we need to pray and ask for Mercy from God on your behalf. Next time, don't lie especially to the things of God. God hates lies.

They all prayed for me that day and went their ways. Before the end of the day, I was normal.


Everyone of us find ourselves in a situation where we don't have a choice than to lie to cover ourselves up or defend ourselves. No matter how little a lie is, our conscience will judge us and we will be restless until we say the truth.

Just as @HappyBoy said in his article when him and his friends kept covering up with many lies but eventually laughed it out when they knew they were caught and couldn't continue lying. I have been in this situation every time and till the end of the day, my conscience will always judge me.

Conscience is the moral sense of right and wrong. If we are lying, our conscience will tell us, same thing when we say the truth, it will give a sign of satisfaction in us.

But my question now is, can we do without lies?

Should we go our ways to lie because we want to defend ourselves?

Our integrity needs to be protected always.

The comment section is opened for everyone to contribute.

This is a prompt word by @JonicaBradley but was hosted by @CoquiCoin

I wish ma'am JonicaBradley a quick recovery in Jesus name.

Do you want to participate too?

Thanks for reading

|September 26, 2021|

25
$ 9.36
$ 8.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 13
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

I believe our conscience is the most severe judge we can get sometimes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. The conscience is so strong that it can judge our actions any day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess it's your conscience that makes you to fall ill, and you have to say the truth and it will set you free. No matter how hard it might be we should always try to say the truth.

Though in a case where life is involved, I think I will need to lie just to save an innocent soul, being truthful in the case can be so dangerous.

But if it doesn't requires life, it will cost me nothing to say the truth but it's difficult sha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There are some situation where we don't have a choice than to lie especially trying to save someone. I think that is pardonable though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe, sin is sin Sha🀣🀣🀣 But I cannot help but lie when it comes to that , God go understand as the matter take be🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand what is happening to you. Your conscience is your best judge. I wouldn't stop going to my church to please a friend. If they are my true friends they will understand that the Lord's day is his. The other days you can take care of the man. But we have all been through these temptations and sometimes lying has been the way. I can't stand lies. Then I must go to my priest and always confess my lies.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The best is to confess and ask for forgiveness when we find ourselves in such situation. Thank you for your input.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I like to tell you that the fever you suffered didn't come because you lied, that was a coincidence. God doesn't punish anyone with Evil, don't get me wrong. We have the Holy Ghost to convict us when we sinned against God, and that conviction is what leads to godly repentance. But it's gross spiritual indiscipline for someone to lie in such gravity, choosing pleasure over God's service.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! Another perspective. Thank you very much for your explanation sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You wish for it, I mean your reason is you have a fever and now it happen. So don't ever lie again - think first in every action you want to make. And remember those line that you mark in your heart πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ We need to be cautious of what comes out from our tongue because it is the most powerful organ in the body.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Conscience can't make you sleep if you did something wrong, can't make you a peace of mind.πŸ₯Ί

It's okay princess. All of us we commit mistakes. Just ask a sincere forgiveness through prayers I know God will forgive us.πŸ™

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, God is able to forgive us when we come to Him. Thank you my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy your conscience made you to realize your mistake of telling lie and you decided not to go to attend the tournament. Finally you get a peace to speak the truth, we should avoid lie in every situation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, everyone lies, but to lie about the things of God, hmm; dangerous thing to do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is bad to lie against things of God. We need to be careful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You might not have had the fever if you didnt lie, our conscience helps to guide us and help us make the right decision. We should always listen to it!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. This is why the conscience is always there to help us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true what they say; there is no higher court than the court of consciousness - for those who still have one hahaha and I am glad you still have yours intact as described by the character. Forgiveness and mercy was shown by those who visited you too and that's what Christianity is all about, not about judging others to feel we are better than others.

This is truly a thought provoking message you have shared, Princess. Beautiful...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the feedback. Perhaps it might be something else if they should have retorted back and criticized me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I were you I would have gone back to church I know they will believe that I stay strong to come and serve my God sis that's my truth and meanwhile assuming you have gone to church back you might not have fever at the end

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right Sis. Thanks for the feedback

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True and she might not have understood the lessons deeper. Sometimes we understand things better when we see the consequences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's power in the tongue and most times, whatever we say will surely happen. I have seen a lot of people using sickness to lie in order to escape doing a task, some people even use their mother's health! Tomorrow if those things they spoke with their mouth starts happening, they blame it on village people. We should all take care of the lies we tell, they can be destructive most times

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for bringing out morals from the story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God is a forgiving God. Just repent πŸ’š

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Lies was what that rubbished this world till date and hence you did that, then repentance should be all that will follow

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. Who no Dey lie. Even the person you Dey call might have just finished lying

One thing I do say about lies is that we all lie But getting too much of it tarnishes one’s image and makes people lost trust in us.

I pray God forgive you miss liar πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜ Am I a liar or Mabel?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You want me to lie again?? πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Conscience is our greatest enemy.. It's killing us every time we commit a sin, lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, this is why we need to come out of it by saying the truth so we can be free.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our conscience is like a lantern that lights our part. I can say I've been in sis mabel's shoe before. I lied but my conscience won't let me rest and the most painful part was when what i said came to pass.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We need to be mindful of what we say especially to ourselves because the tongue is powerful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I am going to participate in this promp but only with point 5: Have fun πŸ€­πŸ˜….

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ I will be expecting your entry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh. That was not good. We must always seek God first. And everything will follow. Anyway, lies, we can never avoid them. But let us make sure we lie not too often and try to always tell the truth as much as we can.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we need to get back to the truth even when we have lied. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago