Fruit Trees in our Backyard

21 45
Avatar for Prettybee123
2 years ago

Hello! I’m back again with a new article which talks about the fruits in our very own backyard.

In this article, you will know about my memories with each of these fruit trees, what they taste like and much more! I will also share ideas that you can also do out of these fruits.

Mango

It’s mango season again! Mango is a fruit that you can definitely see anywhere in the Philippines. Here in the province, it seems like almost all of the backyards have been planted by Mango. Because of the large supply, others sell them as a fruit shake which is really popular.

In our backyard, we have three Mango trees, and this is one of them. When mangoes are unripe, they are crunchy, and when they are ripe, they are sweet. Unripe mango is kinda sour, that's why it is best eaten with alamang or shrimp paste or just sprinkled with salt. On the other hand, we usually serve ripe mango after we eat lunch or dinner. It served as our dessert because of its sweetness.

When there are occasions, ripe mangoes are used as an ingredient to dessert such as Mango Graham Float or in Mango Sago’t Gulaman. Actually, I made Mango Graham Float last Mango season. I am planning to make one  again since I received compliments from my family and friends who took a bite out of it. Take a look at this! Isn't it mouth-watering?

Chico

Sapodilla or Chico as we call it here in the Philippines, is a fruit that is native to the Philippines. Some people describe the texture of the fruit as grainy while others describe it as a fruit that has an intense sweetness.

This tree was planted by my grandfather many years ago in our backyard. Nonetheless, it never fails to provide us with fruits year after year. Although, I noticed that it bears a lot more fruit years ago than what it bears in the past three years. Chico is a quick-ripening fruit. Because of this, my mother would pick them when they were unripe and place them in the rice dispenser. She thought the rice would help ripen the fruit and that we would eat them if they were already perfectly ripe. By the way, it is best served when they are chilled. 


Guava

Among the numerous fruits that thrive in the Philippines, the guava, locally known as bayabas, is one of the popular choices for many.

Whenever I eat guava, I would remember my childhood friends and my grandmother. Guava makes me remember my grandmother because she usually makes jam out of the ripe guavas. She would normally share the extra guava jam to our neighbors. They love her for that.

On the other hand, guava also reminds me of my childhood friends because we would climb every guava tree to pick up its fruit no matter how tall it is, that’s how obsessed we are with guava!


That’s the end of my article today! Through this article, I am able to reminisce the past out of these trees. So glad that I have an opportunity to write and share my memories with these trees to you, my readers! 


9
$ 5.11
$ 5.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Stories4U
Sponsors of Prettybee123
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Prettybee123
2 years ago

Comments

Climbing trees is what I always do when I was still young. I don't just do it to get fruits. It is also my favorite hiding place when we are playing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish we can turn back time and experience those once again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg! I also experienced climbing out a guava tree just to pick its fruits. Will to experience it once again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy to hear, my friend hahaha. Miss those times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love all these fruits, my friend. We used to have a mango tree in front of our house but it dances when the air is strong and one day, it almost fell to our house that is why it was removed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww, sad to hear that. You should plant one if you have time. Mango typically are easy to grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would be nice if you can give me one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course. I'll be happy to give you one. Should I ship to you? or you'd visit me here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nature gives us incredible things and food such as fruits that we often harvest at home, a true miracle

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree sis. I feel nice whenever I eat something from our backyard

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omoo, like why do every Filipino has almost the same story with these amazing trees? Hahaha. I can totally relate with your article today especially in mango and guava. Mango trees are also seen everywhere here in our place because they easily grow. But I've never ever seen chico once in my entire life huhu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah sis. We didn't notice that these trees, in one way or another, became part of our lives. It became part of the memories that makes us smile everytime we are reminiscing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤍🤍🤍🤍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis saan province niyo? Ang dami naman fruits. Gustong-gusto ko yung mangga na may shrimp paste. Minsan sinasawsaw ko lang sa toyo na may suka kunti then asin sis. Sobrang sarap. Mahilig talaga ako sa maasim sis. 🥺🤤

Yung guava din. Sobrang sarap niyan. Sinasawsaw ko lang yan sa suka sis. 🤤 Yan talaga gusto ko sa province.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here sa Ilocos sis. Mahilig din talaga ako sa mangga hehe. Hindi ako nagsasawa sis hahaha. Minsan pinagkakamalan na nga nila akong naglilihi🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taga Ilocos ka pala sis. Oo sis sobra. Mas maganda sa inyo sis kasi di na kailangan bumili kukuha nalang sa puno.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shru sis. Super free yan dito

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda naman ng province niyo sis. Sa amin walang ganyan, province din kami pero sa coastal areas kasi kami sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same tayo sis, nasa coastal barangay din ako sis pero maraming puno.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti pa sa inyo sis. Sa amin walang Chiko. Merong mangga isang puno lang tas hindi sa amin. Bibili pa kami. Wala din guava sis. Punta ka pa ng bukid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago