Getting There..

8 61
Avatar for PrettyDiane
1 year ago

Rainy Sunday to you readers. Our current weather here is rainy, and it is perfect when paired with coffee while writing my article for today.

I am very happy to share with you the progress of our house renovation. We wanted to renovate it a long time ago but since we were short on funds, we couldn't afford to buy materials to start the project.

My parents started joining Coop, where you can save your money and at the same time loan money from them. My parents are both members of the said organization and it helped us really to start renovating our home. My father loaned 100k pesos and from there we started buying materials to start the renovation on our second floor.

Disclaimer: I wasn't born with a golden spoon, so ever since I was in elementary, I have always strived hard to help my parents build a comfortable home.

To start with, our home was already badly damaged through the years. It happened that when super typhoon Odette came and destroyed houses in the Visayas, our house was included and was badly damaged. I was in Bohol when it happened and right after my father sent me the photos of our house, I was so worried and hurt.

Yes, that was our house in Cebu. Odette came raging and almost destroyed the whole second floor. It was only made of light materials, but even if it was only made by that, light materials are super pricey. 😭

My father initiated saving our coins in our DIY piggy bank. We started it last February. We started saving our coins late, but it helped us to save 4500 pesos (~90$) for 3 months.

Here's the picture of our DIY piggy bank.

Selling ice or yelo also helped us save more coins.

Okay, getting back to the home renovation story. Last May 20, we finally got the loaned money and my parents started buying materials for the house. So when it started, my partner and I went back to Bohol also because once the project started, we will have no room to sleep.

My brother sent pictures for an update and whenever I have some savings from noise, I'll automatically send it to them. To be honest, starting a renovation is pretty hard, you need to have enough money to buy all the needed materials. We are short on money already and we haven't started fixing the first floor yet. Lol.

But here are some of the photos my brother sent to me.

I am hoping that by this year, we will be able to live in a comfortable home. We are not dreaming of a concrete home, but rather I am just praying that our house gets fixed. This is already an answered prayer for us.

We always struggle whenever it rain, we couldn't sleep well because our roof has holes already and we need to get big basins to catch the falling water from our roof. Seeing our roof like this makes me happy. My priority is my parents, I don't want them to struggle every time it rains. It is very painful for a daughter to see them having to go through this. So thank you, Lord God, that even if it isn't as grand as other home renovations, you still grant us a happy and comfortable home. This is enough for me. I still won't stop achieving everything in life including buying a house and a lot for my parents.

These little achievements make me want to dream more for my family.

I just want to share my story. Thank you for listening readers. I will write an update after it is 80% done. Hehe, I am already excited.

8
$ 2.04
$ 1.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
+ 4
Sponsors of PrettyDiane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PrettyDiane
1 year ago

Comments

soon po matatapos na rin po ang renovation ng bahay nyo ate. nakaktuwa naman po na kahit natumba ni bagyong odette pero lalaban pa rin. mas mahal po kapag bato? para matibay na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahal beh. Mahal na nga talaga kahit light materials lang sya. Sobrang sakit sa bulsa ang magpagawa nang bahay ngayon. Mas maganda talaga ang sementado pero di na kaya nang budget.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hope the renovations turns out to be fine and completed too, and so far to us here to it has being raining too and the weather is just amazing that you will be in the room and be feeling heat but once you make yourself out of the room the cold weather out there just hits you and you will be cold again, just a beautiful weather too. And most of us too were not born with silver we had to try and try everyday to get by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I always pray that the renovation will be completed in no time. And yes, we have to work hard to buy things we want. We won't achieve any if we continue procrastinating. Hope you have a great day!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing naman! Sana mas marami pang blessings para tuloy tuloy din ang saya. God Bless sis. 🎉♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maraming salamat sis. Hehe yan din pinagpapray ko always. Sana sa iyo rin. 🤍🙏🏻

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, sis, hoping na ma fully rennovate na po bahay niyo. Fighting lang sissy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank youu sis. Hopefully nga matapos namin ito. Pag pray ko na may blessings pa 🙏🏻🤍

$ 0.00
1 year ago