Just A Little Random Silliness

2 35
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago
Topics: Fun, Silly, Random, Funny, Goofy

Sometimes life doesn't have to be too serious, and certainly not every single word I choose to write on a site like read needs to be something profound, enlightening, or even frankly useful.

I mean, even if you were to summarize my profile description, it almost says "anything goes."

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

And besides, I can be a silly guy at times. Okay, a lot of what I do tends to be akin to what we in America like to call dad jokes. In other words, corny ones. For lack of a better word, downright silly ones.

I rather amuse myself, you know, often times to the chagrin of my wife who more often than not resorts to rolling her eyes and reminding me not to quit my day job. Which is probably very sound advice, you know.

Unless I happen to be short on vegetables. If I were to hit the stage and "ply my trade" there, I am sure I'd get a few thrown at me which I could basket up, bring home, and whip up into an awesome salad.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user diapicard. Tomatoes Pasta Food - Free photo on Pixabay

Last night we were watching a documentary series on inventions that changed the world forever. And of course, I was quite at my wits watching—perhaps it was the beer?

In one part they talked about the Wright Brothers who, of course, were known for the invention of the airplane. I could not resist telling my wife, "You know. I have to hand it to the Wright brothers. They invented the airplane entirely on the fly."

She did giggle a bit at that. But did not hesitate to also roll her eyes at me as per the usual.

"I tickle myself sometimes," I told her.

In another segment they introduced the story of Willis Carrier who invented air conditioning. It was another momentous moment of opportunity, and I turned to the wife and told her, "What a cool idea that guy came up with."

More rolled eyes from the wife.

"I've got a million of them," I said with a smile. She told me to let her know when I had one good one.

Tough audience, you know. Brutal, even.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user Tama66. Stadium Rows Of Seats Grandstand - Free photo on Pixabay

I said of the guy who sold the idea of the M&M to Forrest Mars that they were engaged in "some real sweet negotiations." Of the guy who invented the microwave I told the wife, "he came up with that idea rather quick." I said of the invention of Mr. Potato Head that he was "way ahead of his game." Of the Slinky creator I said he "sprung into action getting it to market."

By this time my wife had had enough, grabbed the remote, and switched the channel. And at that moment my gig was up.

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user kropekk_pl. Horse Konik Silly Face - Free photo on Pixabay

7
$ 3.59
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @rebeysa85
+ 5
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago
Topics: Fun, Silly, Random, Funny, Goofy

Comments

World of inventions never stopped, it is continued from the beginning of big bang. Your wife has good perception. I am kinda happy to see you both have good funny temperament that needed in a relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha. Women can be funny when it comes to Tv, they love to glued to the TV when it comes to movies and a big no to news, inventory or sport especially.🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago