An Opportunity to Share

15 52
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago

I have written before about my little hobby of creating music. It is just something that I enjoy doing, for whatever it is worth. And it is nothing that I ever take even remotely seriously.

I am not in a band. I am not a studio musician. I am not a session player. I don't do it professionally. But I do make "music," and I do enjoy sharing what I do, and the benefit is that some people actually enjoy it.

It makes even the tiniest of efforts worthwhile.

The interesting thing is that today, when it comes to indie music, which is essentially the "group" I am part of (that's basically unsigned bands), the access to an audience is greater than ever before.

My music can compete alongside pop stuff and other more established artists on Spotify and iTunes and Amazon and Pandora or wherever else music is streamed. My music can appear on YouTube for people to enjoy as well.

The way I see it, there are 8 billion people on the planet. If even just one half of one percent like what I do, so be it. That leaves me with 400 million people. Even if only one percent of them are my audience, I can still reach 4 million people.

By the way, I don't even reach that many people. Still, I reach enough that it makes it all worth sharing.

And besides, I get quite a lot of enjoyment from doing it. If 100 people like what I do the effort of sharing it is worth it.

Image by Porwest, of Porwest, working on a song.

All of this is to say that a few weeks ago I was just playing around a bit and shared what I did with a small circle of people who said, "Hey, I really like that." So, I decided to get it out for more to have an opportunity to enjoy if they so chose to. And of course, to share it with my current audience, small thought it may be.

Incidentally, there are two new songs I am currently working on that I may release soon. Just wanting to do some final touches on them. Just trying to clean them up a bit, something I did not do with the current one I want to share with you now.

Sunny Days. I released it to all of the popular streaming platforms, but figured I would share the link to the Spotify version and the YouTube version here.

By the way, it's raw and purposely lo-fi, and also quite a bit outside of my norm.

None of my music conforms to traditional structure or rules. I just do what I do, and do my own thing, and because I am not doing it professionally, I have the liberty of doing whatever I want.

I love that freedom.

It's not to say any of it is good. But to me it's just my thing and again, some people actually enjoy it.

This post was also an opportunity for me to say I have taken a bit of a break from read.cash but I want to get back in here full swing in the coming days. That means coming back to write more as well as get around to the important people who continue to make this site worth stopping into rather often.

You, the real people who make this site great, who have stuck with it despite Rusty's absence, who have done the work to send a message to the powers that be that the site matters to us, is important to us, and worth sticking around for.

You know, that small audience that matters. Like the few people who like what I do musically.

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

Lead image by Porwest, screenshot of YouTube page for Sunny Days recently released.

11
$ 0.32
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @rezoanulvibes
$ 0.05 from @MicroReylatos
+ 3
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago

Comments

Jim, I have listened to the song. Your voice came nicely for the song. The recording is also quite good. Why don't you embed the YouTube link by adding it using the ReadCash writer tool so that readers can play it in the article here?

I have subscribed to your YouTube channel with my YouTube account (channel) https://www.youtube.com/@learningtimes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also love music though I'm not a good musician. I just really feel at ease when I hear my favorite songs and it helps me reduce my stress and anxiety.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow its nice to know that you are creating your own music, I will listen to it..continue your hobby

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Music is a very interesting hobby to have. I also love listening to music.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Surely, it is your passion. I actually into music but when it comes to creating my own, I still struggle. There were times that I just compose a phrase or two but end up, not finishing it. Hahaha..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As i say, i really love your music, is something i feel connected.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I really do appreciate that. More than you know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Generally I want to have more time to share, but it is very difficult for me due to different types of limitations. But you know that I'm always aware of everything you do, and whenever I can I support you, whether it's telling someone about your work or sharing the link of your YT and Spotificy channel among my contacts. brofist 4ever!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how you maintain your passion in music. It's something I have been struggling for for weeks and I get frustrated all the time because I feel tired even when I haven't started at all. Since making music is your passion and for leisure, what do you do for a living?

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I am in sales professionally and that's where I make my living. But I also make money from music, writing, and of course from proceeds from my investments in the stock market, and my involvement in private equity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see. So your music is already monetized on Spotify and Youtube?

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yeah. They pay me. Not much. But they do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, awesome. We've already launched our album on Spotify but we're not earning from it yet though

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It takes time to get found.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How long it took you to be recognized?

$ 0.00
1 year ago