A Little Upside, But Not So Fast

9 49
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago
Topics: Money, Investing, Lesson, Market, Bitcoin, ...

I have to admit it is fun watching the entire—or at least most of it—crypto market going up. It feels like it has been forever since the market has really done anything at all.

But like most things in any market, I try not to let it cloud my judgement or get overly excited about it. That's when you tend to make mistakes.

Of course, you will have a bunch of people coming out of the woodwork now who will predict the end of the bear market and start making bold predictions as they usually do.

It is just the nature of things. "To the moon and beyond," might be something you will hear a lot of in the coming days if you are not already hearing it now.

When it comes to investing in anything the one thing that has always worked best for me, beyond carefully researching an investment and making sure I fully understand how it creates or maintains value—or of course, grows in value—has been to abide by "slow and steady wins the race."

In other words, you don't change what you are doing because something is doing something today. You stay the course and keep doing the same thing regardless of what something is doing today.

That's whether the price of an investment is going up or down by the way.

I will freely admit that when it comes to the crypto markets, at least from my perspective, there is much less to know about it and therefore it is harder for me to determine the true future value of any cryptocurrency.

As I have said many times before when it comes to the stock market, I am not investing in stocks. I am investing in companies. And that mentality makes a difference.

Because stocks will do what stocks will do. But if a company is solid and good and doing good business, eventually the stock price is going to catch up with it. It has to.

One would assume that cryptocurrencies may work in a similar fashion. If a project is good any value it truly has should eventually catch up with it.

Image by Porwest. Enjoying the view from our bedroom patio at the beach house we rented for a week in Saint George Island, Florida.

I no more necessarily double down in bad times as I halt increasing positions in good times. I stay the course and keep on doing what I do. Slow and steady.

Sure, sometimes this means I may miss an opportunity. But at the same time, it also means I may avoid a fall. During this "bear market," which I think is still a bear market right now, I really have not changed much of what I have been doing with crypto.

This rise in "value" recently may be a short-term blip. Or it may actually be the end of this bear market and the start of a new bull run.

I think the greatest thing to consider is that no one really knows. To me there remains to be a lot of mystery behind what makes any coin go. As I alluded to previously, when it comes to stocks it is different than in the crypto world. You have much more to understand and go on when you make a decision whether or not X company is better than Y company, and whether or not it is a good investment or a bad one.

Because I do have at least some skin in the game when it comes to crypto, it makes me happy to see the value of what I do have go up a little bit. Of course I want that to keep going.

Perhaps what I am alluding to here is that when it comes to making money, emotion can be a dangerous thing. It causes one to act in an irrational and misguided way a lot of the time.

Someone may look at their bitcoin, for example, and see that it has gone from $16k to over $20k as of this writing, and then become emotionally influenced. "Here we go. It's going to the moon."

They will suddenly fear missing out on something bigger and make a rash decision to pour more money into something that may not be the best decision—even if it does mean you will miss out on something.

Slow and steady wins the race.

And emotions can be further fueled as well by those people who will now be making some of those bold predictions, and if you don't have your britches firmly on, you may find them wrapped around your ankles.

Which, by the way, is uncomfortable and embarrassing.

I am having fun watching the numbers go up a bit here. There is no denying that. And it does give me some hope that maybe the next leg of this journey might be right around the corner. I don't deny that either.

At the same time, I am going to just stay the course and keep things as they were as to what I was doing. I see no reason to change that. Had I gone hog wild in the last bull market, think of where that would have gotten me. Greater losses with a lot longer path to getting back to break even point.

But staying the course up or down? Staying slow and steady? I really do come out much farther ahead doing it that way.

Because again, no one really knows much. And it is still a very young market with very little real historical data to go on. We don't even know how much this thing will catch on. Or if it ever will.

Being very careful and calculating is a good idea is what I am saying. Being optimistic, but cautious is what I am saying. Being vigilant and discarding emotion is what I am talking about.

Slow and steady folks. Be watchful, vigilant, careful and calculating. You can thank me later.

Image by Porwest. My ugly mug enjoying a cold beer in sunny Saint George Island in the Florida Panhandle at Paddy's.

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 0.83
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.25 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.10 from @rezoanulvibes
+ 4
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago
Topics: Money, Investing, Lesson, Market, Bitcoin, ...

Comments

Perhaps what I am alluding to here is that when it comes to making money, emotion can be a dangerous thing. It causes one to act in an irrational and misguided way a lot of the time.

Completely agree with you. When the crypto price goes up, some people get into FOMO and start buying. But when the price goes down, again they start selling. Having a long-term plan is important when you make investments. Otherwise, you will move here and there, and eventually, end up going nowhere.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Wow 😮 the view from your place is really amazing. You can feel peace and serenity,a kind of emotion that I want to experience but sad to say I haven't.😔but life must go on no matter what.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Saint George Island, Florida is a great place to visit if you ever get the chance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's my pleasure sir thank you but it's impossible to happen we only live in a low class here in the Philippines I only have in my wallet for food and for important purposes for a living but of course, it is not bad to have an ambition to visit some great places around the world☺

$ 0.03
1 year ago

From my many years of experience observing charts, I believe that in order to assess whether we are in the bear market or already at the beginning of the bull market, it is important to pay attention not to the fact that prices are rising sharply, but to how they rise and fall. The BTC charts are crucial in this respect.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

There's too many people who teeter tot on whether to buy or sell all the time. All it does for them is put them in a state of second guessing themselves. I'll go with the plan of being consistent. When I get on that one year call from retirement I may make changes but it will be simply adjusting to more fixed options. Emotions are definitely a downer when it comes to anything financially.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Yeah, no one really knows where the crypto will be going but for me, I will just go with the flow...

$ 0.03
1 year ago

For whatever it is worth, if there is one coin I think can be successful, it would be BCH. It just seems to me to be the most practical one to use, the easiest and least expensive to use, and more adoptable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah! every coins counts, worth it, and important these days✨

$ 0.01
1 year ago