Clauses

2 19
Avatar for Polaroid
3 years ago

    A group of words in a sentence, which contains a subject and a predicate within the group, is called a clause.

Eg.:-

When I went to my village I met my school mates.

Today I have seen the film which was released yesterday.

This is my favorite dress which I prefer to wear during festive occasions.

    In the above sentences there are two parts. In each part there is a subject and a predicate.

    In short a clause contains a subject and a predicate, but the phrase does not contain a subject and a predicate. But both the phrase and a clause form part of a sentence.

We have already seen that a clause is a group of related words containing a subject and a predicate.

I went to my village. (one clause)

I met my school mate at the village. (one clause)

When I went to my village, I met my school mates. (two clauses)

    The sentence (1) as well as (2) there is a subject and a predicate and the clause stands as complete sentence.

    Such clauses are called as main clauses. In sentence (3) there are two clauses.

When I went to my village is a clause and there is a subject and a predicate.

    The other clause in the sentence is --------------------- I met my school mates.

    The first noted clause does not stand independently as a sentence. But the second noted clause stands independently as a sentence.

    As such the first noted clause is a subordinate clause and the second noted clause is a main clause.

One more example is given below to differentiate a Main clause and a subordinate clause.

I went to the market where I purchased fruits.

I went to the market - Main clause

where I purchased fruits - Subordinate clause.     Subordinate clauses in a sentence are divided, on the basis of the functions as, 1. Noun clause

2. Adjective clause

3. Adverb clause.

Hi! English Grammar Learning Free Offline is one of the best app to learn and test your grammar ability. Click the link to download at:https://bit.ly/374UunL

8
$ 0.00
Avatar for Polaroid
3 years ago

Comments

Good...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank You Mister. 😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago