When I Became A Couch Potato

0 35
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

So I have a confession to make, this past winter I have become a true couch potato. To be fair I already started to become a semi-potato before that during the whole covid lockdowns. But last winter I really just gave up on pretending not to be a couch potato. I got pneumonia in the fall and the recovery took forever and in the mean time I just sat on the couch and didn't move...


Source

I spend a lot of time browsing the internet and watching series. I got completely addicted to Downton Abbey and I read lots of books. I also started doing a lot of Lego and I gained about 15 kg's. Though the Lego was lots of fun, what was not so fun was not being well and getting pretty big...

Luckily the fiance always know how to get me motivated again. He booked a vacation to Belgium where we would do lots of walking in nature. I had also recovered quite a lot from my pneumonia so I was more able to do things. There in the Belgian nature, things just clicked and I decided to come off the couch!


Source

I realized that the outdoors is where I need to be. Tough I am also going to the gym again, my favorite way to exercise is to just be active outdoors. Ihave lost 7 kilos since this decision and I am already happier, though I still have a long way to go!
Since that time we have gone on lots of walks, went hiking in the alps, went climbing again for the first time since covid and I have been cycling 22km a day to get to work and back.

I also got really inspired by some people here on Hive that shared their stories of becoming healthier. I have also found more fun again to put time into cooking nice things, make our own sauces and bread and cook healthy meals with lots of veg. It is insane how much better you feel when you improve your diet! Anyway, if any of you are currently being couch potatoes and need some motivation then consider this it!

4
$ 1.84
$ 1.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
+ 2
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

Comments