New Start: Moving to a New City

12 35
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

I have told you all in previous posts that I have switched jobs and with that switch also came a move! After a looooong search for a house we finally found a new place in Alkmaar and moved last weekend!

Our Lives in Boxes

It is funny how much more stuff you acquire quickly. Me and my partner are both cheapskates haha so most of the stuff we own we got for free from friends or for cheap at the second hand shop. All nice and well until you have to pack all your crap! We rented a big VW Crafter (I love driving big vans!) and luckily all our stuff fitted in one go.

We had driven in the morning with a small car to pick up the keys and drop of some of the most fragile plants (I am a huge plant fan and we have lots haha). The result: my 2 meter tall partner with a giant tropical plant in a C1. I had to laugh for two minutes before I could get in the car to drive!

And so we said goodbye to Leiden, I lived there for 9 years (how time flies!) but I feel it is the right time to move on, the place got too busy and expensive for us.

Moving All the Boxes Back in Again

After an hour in the car we got to our new home in Alkmaar (cheese capital of the Netherlands!) I'll post some more on our new town some other time. And funny thing is that moving in went a lot quicker then moving out! But the unpacking...... was a lot of work. so not everything is neat and happy but these pictures should give you some impression of the new place.

We have got two bedrooms and bathroom and toilet of course, but they are still a work in progress haha. The bedroom mostly because we ordered a wardrobe that hasn't arrived yet, so there are clothes everywhere. But today we finally got connected to the internet and we hung up some pictures so it's starting to get homely.

Thanks everyone for the support in the whole frustrating process of getting a house! I'll let you guys know more about the new hometown and area around it soon!

4
$ 2.11
$ 1.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @renren16
+ 3
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It is really gard to find a comfortable house You are so lucky you find one Goodluck on your new house i hope you enjoy staying there

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wishing you Good luck with your moves. With your move to a new residence, I wish nothing but a love and pleasure.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am curious how many boxes will remain unboxed!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha me too! Have some old boxes with childhood stuff that will probably stay in a box haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are now living here for 5.5 years and still have some unopened boxes!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw the post about changing cities, I am glad you could achieve that easily. Wishing happiness at your new residence, my regards to your partner.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! He is currently installing the PS4 so he can relax with some games haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you already moved in. It was stressful for sure but you did it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! Man moving is always such stress but glad to have it done with now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is quite a relieve for sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago