Is Re-Publishing Own Content Frowned Upon?

3 22
Avatar for PinkGeeRough
2 years ago

Re-publishing Own Content

Hi all! I'm a poet/writer who has been on Steem and Hive for a long time, and I have also published poetry (and a couple of collections) in the classical fashion as well. I was wondering if, re-posting certain poems (which I wrote and have publication rights of) would be frowned up, or whether I should only post original content that is previously unpublished.

The Issue of Publication Rights

Most journals / publishers are very iffy about publication rights, and rarely accept any writing that has been already posted online or published elsewhere. It's a double-edged sword, because if you keep submitting without getting published, your art is dying alone. But if you decide to share it with readers online, you're practically killing your chances for that poem to ever be published. Especially when looking at larger publications, the last thing I want to do is lose opportunities.

I would appreciate your opinion on this! Regardless, I will definitely be on read.cash to post more frequently, but whether that's poetry or other is yet to be decided.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @sh33la
$ 0.01 from @TheEmpress
Avatar for PinkGeeRough
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for asking the question I have wondered too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can post things that you have posted on other sites but you will not be eligible for the random rewarder for those post. To be eligible for the random rewarder it must be published on read.cash first. There aren't any random rewarder rules against publishing on other sites after you publish it on read.cash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! The response I definitely needed. I'll definitely mix it up with some re-post when I'm dry of new content

$ 0.00
2 years ago