Volcano dive, anyone?

7 57
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

*Sips the hot morning cup of Kalinga Robusta*

I'm kidding... throwing in a FACTIon. Coining uncle Ed's @TengoLoTodo term :) Here we go...


Lolita stares off into the magnificent view of the Taal Lake. She looked like she was replaying a scene she recalls from way, way back. The corner of her lips slowly lifted to a sideway grin. I was waiting for her to respond to my question, "What did she want to become when she was younger?"

It was a Saturday afternoon. I decided to go to a trip up to a colder place. Sadly, I have the work laptop in tow. That is just how it is, I guess. But at least me working over the weekend over a hot Toffee Nut Latte and the Salmon Dill is a torture less than the ordinary days of working over a hot water (because I ran out of coffee - instant and the beans) and pancit canton that will probably be already cold, before I finally get to really eat it because of the intense December activity with w. o. r. k.

This was my second time doing it. Fortunately, I have always found a spot with a comfortable and wide enough for my stuff table, chair and a nearby socket where I can plug in both my personal laptop (catching up on "cleaning up" my crypto portfolio and really checking if I am doing the right thing), and my work laptop.

I have seen Lolita the first time I went there. She seems to be doing the same thing I was doing then - taking a time out. Except that she is doing it the relaxed way enjoying just a cup of Peppermint Mocha - Grande; while I do it with sparks of tension, hints of grumbling and a lot of tongue clicks in between.

She ended up walking to my table that time when she saw me literally with my face down on my laptop keyboard. It was after a draining meeting with the lead (I had my headphones on no worries). Exhaustion made me do it. Slumped down on the table with my face on the keyboard. I swear a little longer in that position I would have dozed off. Plus the heat coming from the keyboard to my face somehow felt relaxing.

A short pause before I continue. Just for the record, I haven't tried that position in real life so please don't try it. But if you are curious if that will make you sleepy when you are too tired and the heat is relaxing, do let me know. I could use a little affirmation of reality in some things that I imagine. Now back to the story...

It was then that she decided to approach me. And if I remember correctly, she said,

"Would you need help in slamming the laptop cover over your head? Like really hard?"

I also was counting to 10 then. Trying to manage my thoughts that were really raging mad. I stopped at number 7. Made a sideway glance to where the voice was coming from and I saw Lolita mimicking in air gestures how she would be helping out with slamming the laptop cover on my head.

I made a quick mental check if I made a mistake of putting the headset on, but only having the jack halfway in place on the laptop. Meaning the meeting would have been broadcasted all over the coffee shop and the heated argument also that goes with it. Checked the jack and it was properly placed. Sighed a breath of relief.

"And how hard would you like to have it done?"

At that I chuckled and it was a welcome interruption of thoughts. She reminded me it was a weekend after all and I can try to take pauses and longer breaks than usual. Try to enjoy the coffee I bought rather than having it just as a props to go cold on the next sip. oh what do you know?! There's "sipping:" again. Hehehe

Sponsor break!!!! Do click on these wonderful people and see what has been going on 
in their beautiful minds!
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

That was the first conversation we had. I went home that time lighter. Patted my shoulder for a job well done and hey I found a new cool buddy. Turns out I do need a short chat every once in a while and she seems to understand. She's seen years, I guess. Retired she says. She does not look over sixty though. Part of me envied her when she said "retired" and then she looks younger than someone who would have retired at 60 as most in our place would normally retire at that age. But I am not one who'd voice out shock and then ask her age. I figured that part will come along during a regular conversation.

This time I decided to put away my laptop and have a conversation with the one done being a corporate slave. What's her secret? But I did not ask her that directly. I was curious about her path. I asked her, "What did she want to become when she was younger?"

Seems she finished the flashback movie in her head before she answered me.

I wanted to be EVERYTHING in my younger days. I started wanting to be a doctor as we all were raised to think that. Teacher but then I realized I have no patience with kids. I wanted to be a lawyer. I have seen a lot of courtroom dramas. I have been engrossed with the books I've read and figured I can be that, too. But I saw the thick books of laws and things to memorize and I figured it is not something I see myself doing during the process of getting what I want to become. Forensic scientist, marine biologist, I even considered being a painter! Though I have close to zero talent in making art. But I am interested in it. Nothing cannot be not learned, right? The question would always be would you LOVE what you would be learning enough to pass it down to others? or would it be that thing that you LOVE doing that you do not mind doing it ? Like breathing?

I followed up with, "so what did you end up picking?"

She goes,

I admit, first part was because of the potential earning that I picked engineering. Then as I get older, worked my ass off, realized the earning isn't much a good match to how damaging it is for my well-being. I later on learned to unlearn, learn, and re-learn something new. I aimed to save up and someday, decided to pave way for others to have a job. And so far five years down the line, I've never felt more fulfilled.

I decided to put up this business (referring to the coffee shop we're in. It never dawned on me that she's the owner).

Don't get stuck with the cycle of your now. If you can, envision and re-visualize yourself years down the line. And you will realize, your current slaving should only be a tool and it should never own you.

Pray about it. Ask for purpose and re-direction continuously.

I let that sink in for a while. Guess it was my turn to look at the far off volcano spewing steams (at least in my imagination). And as I took a gulp, yes a gulp, at my hot cup of latte, which scorched my lips, tongue and esophagus, I felt a sting of pain build up a tear in my eye. And in my imagination, I dunked myself in the volcano because at this point, I am second-guessing if I can make that big decision.

She breaks my thoughts with

Hard work pays off. But it should get you somewhere. Not with your head in between your laptop monitor and your laptop keyboard.

Again a disclaimer... this is a work of FACTion. And now I'm sleepy....


Heya! Ever had a similar conversation with a stranger? Or someone you know?

What is your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

12
$ 7.05
$ 6.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 9
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

hahaha sa dami nang courses na sinabi niya..and then naging cafe owner xia ...di talaga natin ma pre predict ang future ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good story, I have not had conversations like that with strangers, but it is a reality that we become slaves to work, the moment you stop you have been stuck in the same place for several years, is it really worth the effort? I would like to be near a volcano, they look so impetuous, regal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally I never have that kind of conversation to stranger. Anyway, ang ganda ng faction story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice Faction story Ate, I am having a hard time thinking what faction story I will write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

me thinking what faction to write for the contest entry...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to work hard, because we get rewarded for that but we must not overwork ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Volcano? Regular thing in hell. Boring! Now coming through your story, incredible dear! Lolita's vision is accurate. My guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago