The First Part of Your Mornings

16 54
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

One time I want far away. Into the mountains but not exactly secluded. It is a monthly thing. It used to be a quarterly thing but then again it started feeling like it is a monthly need - to get out of the city's hustle and bustle. I needed to recharge. Unplug they say. Which is a funny way of saying it. We know that when we "recharge" things these days, we'd need to have it plugged.

for the curious: the prompt for this Midjourney render was a lonely appliance unplugged plug near a socket, comical, tired, two-prong plug --ar 3:1 --chaos 100 --s 2300 --opt2

** Anyway. I'm referring to my social batteries. For that type of battery, "unplugging" or disconnecting is how it is getting charged. And for when solemnity is needed, it is not entirely without human contact.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

** Stranger is a better company for such cases. No bias. No walls. No second-guessing if their pitch was something you'd need to be witty about. Not all the time, but most of the time. It was my first time visiting this place. I also make it a point to pick a different place each time. Like I said, stranger is better. To get that chance of seeing some same people I saw from the previous month, I have to pick a different place. Seeing same people would breed familiarity and along with familiarity cultivates bonds. That is not my aim for each unplugging.

The point of unplugging myself is to make sure I still have my "me" together. In tact. And not yet shredded into a thousand of other identities just because of each adjustment to each social interactions. Not that I do no have my own splits. You know what I mean if you know.

But this particular getaway is remarkable as it changed how I start my mornings. There are few people booked in that place. And I happened to have a healthy interaction with one old man.

It was breakfast time. I was going to grab my plate and my coffee from the claim area and I saw him. He was having tea, sort of looked like nodding off but he was reading a book. Sipping his tea every once in a while and then forking a berry or a slice of his pancake and eating them. He was also smiling every once in a while more to himself or more like he is talking to someone else. Was I weirded out? Not really. Instead there is this serene thing about the old man that is quite inviting and enticing. I think I was staring at him for too long that the person next to me at that time waiting in line had to call my attention. But his attention, too, was caught by the old man.

We decided to share tables with him.

He was welcoming and indeed did not mind our presence or our barging in in his seemingly intimate moment with the self. We found out later on though that it was what he calls his quiet time. He says, it is the key thing for his every morning. It sets his mind and his heart to walk in the direction of what is pleasing to God.

Makes sense. I kinda know how that goes. But in my busy everyday life, I sometimes forget. The conversation with him was enriching but he ended with questions for us to ponder on:

If you would choose love .. how would you go about it today?

If you would choose joy .. how would you do it?

If you would choose peace.. how would you do it?

If you would choose patience.. how would you do it?

If you would choose kindness.. how would you do it?

If you would choose goodness.. how would you do it?

If you would choose faithfulness.. how would you do it?

If you would choose gentleness ... how would you do it?

If you would choose self-control .. how would you do it?

And why would you only choose one path when you can choose for today and every day from the start of your morning to set your mind to these things.

Yes.

Not all the time it is easy. That's why in the first part of the morning, as you choose these things, also ask for His grace to get you through...

Ah that talk with mister Miyagi, I mean, the old wise stranger is refreshing indeed.

Indeed.


hey! what's up everyone. Mixing a fictional story here. How I DO WISH my unplug sessions would be a different place monthly. Do you unplug, too? or find time to move away from the usual crowd? If so, did you or were you able to share some stories with some strangers? Has a stranger touched your life in the process, even?

What is your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

5
$ 1.33
$ 1.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 2
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

Nakakapagod nga naman laging nakakabit lol!

These days, finding a place in our minds is the only solace.

This reminds me of a post online about a guy all alone and the author who posted it said he was lonely. Equating being alone with loneliness.

Indeed for us to do what we need to do, we need God's help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahhh diba.. if the guy who was alone and "laughing by himself" he would not be tagged as lonely but "crazy".. lols.. hahah natatawa tuloy ako bigla...

the path leader, no other than the True North in deed in the form of Jesus.. :) happy day sir bestie...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love this! As someone who does the same, recharging my social battery is a must. It is not easy being with a lot of people almost every day to the point that it drains me out. Also, sometimes a stranger is someone who is better to talk to. No judgments, just wholesomeness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes ! and ung pag stranger.. wala kang history niya na pwede mong gamitin to doubt or to reference his story to. kaya pure no? have a great day kapatid... !

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have never unplugged in a place so different. I wish I can do some soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hanap tayo ng masayang lugar at tahimik!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm doing a screenshot of the questions! Hahaha. I'll try it in the morning!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahahah inice nice Meyzee! hope you are well!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I want to choose peace of mind and being alone sometimes,but Im not be happy living alone and knowing that my family needed me coz they are always depending on me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is a tough situation maria. Hopefully you all can go in one vacation and you can find one spot where you can take a breather even for a moment. Or even if you do not have to go away... in your everyday life maybe find a 30 minute breather spot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I did unplugging and I have never been happier. Miss you, Pich!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

very relaxing indeed ate no? Thanks for renewing your sponsorhip by the weeeeeee

$ 0.00
1 year ago

when are we going out? hehe. xoxoxo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hayyyy hahahhahaha... Hirap mag set lagi nauudlot huhu... Hahahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Soon if I have the capability to do social unplugging too, I'll do it. It is needed for our mental health.. indeed talking to strangers are refreshing, no boundaries and pretentious.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uu soon let's get that getaway na much needed. yuppers no holds barred

$ 0.00
1 year ago