Sunday Blabber

13 53
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

At the moment of writing, it's 11:11. Feels like a lazada or shoppee sale but it is not. Just making an initial time start record. I am not yet putting myself in a timed challenge but would like to know what time I will be ending my endless ramblings.

There are a lot of topics to choose from that I wanted to write for this week. Specially it is the holy week.

There's

  • How is the holy week celebrated and observed in different countried

  • What is palm Sunday to me?

Etcetera. But you know when you have lots of ideas but none of it gets started or typed, they just remained that - ideas.

As I was planning for this week work-wise I confirmed with my colleague if our current project client observes or celebrates Holy Week and I got the answer of "no". I made a mental note of where we got the idea of celebrating it and that would probably be traced back to who influenced us with Christianity. Can you guess? The Spaniards.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

I also made a quick peek at who else observes this occasion and I got the following from that search :

  • Jerusalem

  • Guatemala

  • Philippines (oh but we know that already)

  • Australia

  • Slovakia

I suppose there are other countries who celebrate as long as there are "substantial" number of Christians in their population. I was surprised Indonesia was in the list in this link. But it said something like "there are a number of Christians" I guess the list then can go as far any parts of the world with any Christians allowed to observe and practice their religion.

The second bullet requires reflection. Reflection means serious talk with the self but the self is not up to talking. Yep so that will probably just be included in the weekend wrap up? Again just a thought.

I grew up looking forward to the Holy Week because that meant a week-long break from school, a long drive with the family, definitely a beach time, just endless, no school-task days. Like this week, original plan pre-pandemic was we should be in Batanes. It was a week of getaway.

Then as I grew older and personal studies of the word the Holy Week starts having more meaning. Now it is impossible for me to think of the Holy Week and not think of Christmas and vice versa. Don't get me wrong. The week of getaway still stands. But this time I bring with me that celebration while on vacation .

For my end, it is an endless celebration of the portrayal of God's love - the one that redeems my soul.

This song is one I am playing in the background as I type.

The fast-forward scenario in my head is this:

  • Jesus came riding on a donkey with a funny and interesting background story.

  • Everyone joins a rally with palms.

  • Days later Jesus was sentenced to a punishment of being "hung on a tree" (the worst punishment ever for the worst sins ever). Crown of thorns on His head was placed not gently of course.

  • While hanging on that cross, battered, bloodied, broken and bruised (the lashes have hooked spikes so I will leave the imagination up to you) He faces the same crowd who followed Him, joined His rally, heard Him speak and now they are chanting a picket-fence rap. Yet He looks at these people and sees their struggle of themselves - Forgive them Father, they do not know what they are doing

  • There was an interesting conversation between the three criminals on the cross - two of which were legit and proven guilty.

  • Jesus died.

  • He was buried.

  • He arose again.

  • Some days later He ascended to heaven

.. And I know that Jesus holds my future..

Holding it here...

Letting it seep

Maybe some sense will drip

And you'll know you are well-loved by Him, dear.

Ending at 12:11.

Adding this too. Way cool storytelling:


What is your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

11
$ 3.31
$ 3.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 6
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

As I grew older then I realized the sacrifices Jesus Christ did for us and also the stories he made that made sense and you can get all values from it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True mommy kim. And also, there are times that you've already heard or read the story, but each time, there would be new lessons from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the holy week is definitely as important as Christmas... it is when the prophecies in the old testament have been fulfilled... it is the gospel and it's the most amazing thing that ever happened to humanity...

think of this... humans sinned against the holy God then God sent His only begotten son Jesus Christ, the God incarnate, then he lived a perfect life, he knew no sin, but He was crucified, He became sin for us so that you and I and whoever believes in this truth will be given the right to be sons of God...

We only have to believe in the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus to be given the assurance of eternal fellowship with God. When God sees us, he does not see us the sinner but Christ, and He will see Christ's righteousness that's why we can be in fellowship with God in heaven.

It's the most amazing thing so we must make a decision while we are alive. Else, it will be an eternal condemnation instead.

For me, it is the truth that I hold on to that gives me assurance of my future so Holy Week is a very important occasion for me as a follower of Christ.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree! I was trying to put in John 3:16 there but I am thinking next entry. Hahha.

I pray people would have their hearts and eyes open to understand and come to a decision to believe and follow Christ.

The most amazing love one can ever be a recipient of !

Thanks sis jean!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

En semana santa acostumbrábamos a viajar a caripito, donde realizan cada año la procesión en vivo, con actores escenarios, caballos entre otras cosas, pero debido a la delincuencia no se puede viajar, par ir a la zona de oriente hay que ir escoltado por policías porque hay piratas de carreteras que disparan a los vehículos par robar, y que lastima este año se celebra el aniversario 55, mas de medio siglo de tradición y también se va a intentar romper el récord guinnes del chocolate mas grande del mundo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

¡Gracias querido amigo por tomarte el tiempo de leerme y visitarme! Estoy muy encantada y feliz!

Vaya, tuve que buscar a Caripito! Y se ve bien. Eso da un poco de miedo con el tiroteo. ¡Mantente a salvo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a religious person but I have a God. I am not the type that goes to church every Sunday. We still observe the holy week as a family. Maybe because it is what we used to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa mga country na dominant ang Christian religion, nagcecelebrate tlga..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes . tama! sa HK oo diba? Big ang easter egg hunt ata if tama alala ko...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga ibang religion din aside sa Christian

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True dat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, may christians nga sa Indonesia. I was surprised, actually. I thought Islam and Hinduism lang dun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

gulat nga ako na recognized ang Christianity. Which is good

$ 0.00
2 years ago