Road Trip Soundtrack

8 35
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

If you will be driving for a long 3 to 5 hours, what will be your pick for a good playlist?

It has been a long while since I was only a passenger during a long road trip. It was a delight. I was not even sitting shotgun. That means I am sitting at the back seat with no obligation but to laugh at the jokes shared, pipe in to whichever random topic we can think of, and yes, EAT.

Also, I can opt to sleep instead the whole trip if I want to. But my friends are crazy and they might run out of topics and start targeting me while I am asleep. Paranoia much? Not really. It can happen. Our messenger group might end up with photos of me asleep. Thank goodness we still use mask inside the car else every sleeping person will be caught with their mouths open and close to drooling.

It was a grand treat to just be in the back seat. Also, there is work to have as an excuse. The other one I was sitting in the back seat with opened her laptop, too, when I opened mine to check on some few things before really closing Friday duty.

Another fun thing to do when you are seated at the back is to sing along with whatever the driver is playing. Cool thing is that my friend also have a wide range of music interest. It is not-so-silent rule that whoever drives gets to pick the music for the whole ride.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

Though I was groggy from insomnia the night before that trip, the panic repacking of 3-day trip stuff plus work laptop, it was hard to stop myself from joining in on the crazy singing all throughout the ride. It was a fun group. The first group was already in the resort. We were the last to arrive because we were that group who had things to do still.

The night view, the moon, and the smooth ride to Batangas was partnered with the following songs in no particular order and picking only few from what kept us awake and energetic through out the almost four hours plus trip from Global City to Batangas:

One: Simple Plan - Perfect

The song brought about curious conversation of trying to recall if Simple Plan has some of their songs written around some member's issue with parental relationship.

Two: Backstreet Boys - Quit Playing Games With My Heart

Then this song brought about the question of which decade of music is it that we loved most? It was a tough question honestly. I answered anything from 60s to present depending on what type of mood I am in.

Three: Celine Dion's If You Asked Me to

Not upbeat and maybe will lull most people to sleep but not when you listen to the lyrics as well and start talking about it. This is a song I coined in as "marupok" song. You know? That song that projects that state for when we say "I've had enough!" but not really when our partners start being sweet again and start saying the "right words".

Four: Ghetto Superstar

This is that one song that I threw in a trivia that this song adopted rhythm and some lines from Dolly Parton's "Islands in the Stream". So the way we sang this one was a mix of Islands in the Stream and the real lyrics of this song. We've had other mashups along the way too. Some intros of some songs will lead you to think it will play a different song.

Five: Think of Laura

This song had a more modern adaptation. Boys 2 Men had a song dedicated to the late artist, Aaliyah, when she died on a plane crash in the Bahamas.

We also had local songs in our queue and we explored information about which singing and songwriting competition were some of the songs we know really rooted from.

It was a soothing and fun ride. Being that we have not seen each other for a real long time it is so good to have a crazy conversation connection via music.

It was even crazier when we were going back because we prepared for songs for the trip back and all four of us have a ton of list to put in our playlist. Nostalgic.

The youngest in our car also requested for old song.

Six: Who's Holding Donna Now

This one brought me to think of the other songs that goes in the famous album compilation where this one is in : "Crusin'" they call it back in the day.

What is your goto song/songs/artist/artists/palylist when you are going on a long road trip or travel?


Music does connect people. The ending of our trip actually had us planning a jam session since most of us can play instruments.

What is your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content.. (except the clippings from Youtube.)

Unless specified otherwise...

7
$ 3.28
$ 3.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.03 from @LykeLyca
+ 2
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

Mas marami yata pang emote dito heheh! I love the cruisin album too but not while driving, maybe when I sit at the back and snooze hahaha! No friends, of course 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Simple Plan is also my favorite band. And when I'm having a trip, I always bring with me my earphones to hear some music along the way, because I find it boring when music is not around me during the long travel.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

SP is my favorite band ...omg iniyakan ko dati yung kantang Think of Laura at yung kay Celine Dion yung kay Eric na version na yung nagustuhan ko..

my go to songs would be the chill one,,,mostly Anson Seabra and Jeremy Passion hehehe...also Gabe bondoc..ohhh I so love their voices and their songs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A trip will never be boring when you play the music on. Da best! I love your go-to playlists ate Pichi. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the songs sis. Feel good and ang light lang. Mabilis maidlip kapag ganyan any music

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I am traveling I use to play acoustic music it makes me relax while enjoying the view of the place

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love old songs but I always listen to hymns and worship songs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako pichi gusto ko din talaga mag sound trip pag bumabyahe ako kasi minsan yan nagpapawala sa pagod ko at nagpapa enjoy sakin while bumabyahe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago