Page Flip

9 30
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

I squinted at the bright sun as it slowly dips into the horizon. It was beautiful. Ain't it amazing that we can watch the sun set every single day and still find it magnificently breathtaking each time?

How many of us breaths a sigh of relief, content or gratefulness everytime we see this golden thing go down and revel even more when it puts on an after the dip show? It lights up the sky with even more beautiful colors for few more minutes even though it is already out of sight.

Tonight I found myself taking a deep breath, holding it in and letting out a long sigh of ... "oh, crap!"

I watch the minute hand of the wall clock move one tick forward. I watched the rhythmic tick tock of the second hand. There ain't no stopping time as it pushes forward , alright. In few more minutes, it will be my day 1.

First Day High Returning To New Normal

I half-thought new normal is this gap life we are living between the awesome two years of lockdown to this reality of "eventually we are going back to the office".

I half-believed we would not need to.

But then, again, life progressed. We all got past the vaccination period and here we are trying to test it out. Sort of.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

I knew deep inside eventually we will have to go back to how we used to be living except for the occasional wearing of face masks. But I never thought it would bother me a bit when it is my turn to join the workforce outside battling it out with the traffic to get to the office.

Don't get me wrong. Few weeks back we were already talking about this and planning about it. Free but meticulously making sure we are and we will be aware of the protocols. I was not surprised. I was even the one who picked my days of the week to report. So we had time to take things in. This. Is. Happening.

The Fun Forward

I was and am also excited to be surprised at who among my friends have the same sked as mine so we can finally have "coffee breaks like we used to".

Being able to check out the food places in the area. What has changed? What's new?

The Flip Side

I never thought I'd be a little stressing out about it. Tracing changes that happened.

First cycle we all had to stay home. Groceries were an excuse to go out and no other agenda is reason to be out of the house.

Cycle two was when we had to keep working normally quote and quote but from our homes. That broke the cycle I was comfortable with doing for like since I started working :

  • waking up early

  • prepping for work

  • getting stuck in traffic

  • rushing to badge in in time

  • setting up your workstation

  • Pinging anyone who is up for morning break

  • Continuing work

  • Lunch

  • Continuing work

  • Pinging anyone who is up for either a sunset walk or an afternoon joe

  • Continuing to work until traffic outside seems to loosen up.

  • Pack up

  • Badge out

  • Drive home

  • Get stuck in traffic

  • Arrive home hungry

  • Eat dinner

  • Do stuff

  • Sleep

The work process got streamlined and simplified.

And in few minutes after two long years, we are going back to that routine.

The morning rush begins again.

Till further notice of another change, we are going back to how it was.

Sleep gets cut off now in place for preparation of going to work. Ehhee. Howell.

I must look forward to that new (semi-old) adventure.


...another chapter ahead.. a lot of short stories to come...

There is a slight resistance and protests inside me surprisingly. But it can be tamed, managed and handled.

I guess it will take some time to get used to again.

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

10
$ 4.26
$ 4.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Korgueshy3.50
+ 4
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

aigooooo back to new normal na talaga kayo kasi nga wala nang WFH set ups fighting beb..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Things have changed so much ever since the pandemic struck, my daily routines have also changed as to how the situation is going on these days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikr. And going back to the old "new" routine is another change adjustment.... Accckkk .. hope you had a great thursday, buddy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a daily routine too but once in a while, I break it just so as not to get bored. I salute every people hanging on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems to be normal routine of yours

$ 0.00
2 years ago

another daily routine.anyway that's way better than my daily routine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

damn at least you have a nice routine going there.. mine sucks dude.. Also, I missed you :*

$ 0.00
2 years ago

'sup... Hope you are feeling a bit better now? A day at a time yeah?

Yeh so far i have the routine in tact.. so far

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More like a second at a time lol...

$ 0.00
2 years ago