Got Gills?

8 38
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Grease? Smell of cooking oil after work? Nah. I don't think I'd want that. That was what we did last summer - work in a burger chain called Mambo Burger. After that experience, though it pays good de niro, I think I have had enough with flipping burgers and wiping tables. Besides, I think I need to go solo this time.

So I picked Rose Island Lighthouse. Oddly, only few people are booked in for the summer. Lighter foot falls, lighter the tasks, hence, there is a much-needed alone time by the docks staring at the inviting waters. I can swim in the water, too! Very refreshing. Good thing I brought my fins and my snorkel with me.

Oh, the serenity the underwater world brings. In my head I always remember Sebastian's words to Ariel,

Ariel, listen to me

The human world, it's a mess

Life under the sea

Is better than anything they got up there!

And cannot help but agree with the funny, old crab.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

One time, swimming under the water and aiming direction towards the dock, I noticed a shadow under where the dock is situated. I never gave it attention until looking at it longer made me realize it is an opening and may be a tunnel. There is that eerie feeling brought about the darkness of the opening but there is also that invitation to come check it out. And check it out is what I did.

I had to swim fast but cautious. Should the tunnel be longer then I need to be able to return and surface to catch breath.

But not too long after swimming fast, the water seemed to become lighter and I realized the water became shallower and then my head surfaces. Then later on, I am standing on ground.

Whoah! It was a cave! The tunnel led to a cave. I looked around and saw another tunnel and I walked through it. I mean, why not, right? I am already there. The tunnel led me to a room and in the middle of the room, was a golden medallion.

I quicky snatched it and wore it over my head while remembering Ariel's treasure trove. I then walked out of the room, back to the cave and jumped into the water. I suddenly remembered I didn't quite prepare for the swim back and the thought of running out of air made me want to resurface. But on the way up I coughed. I have anticipated the feel of the water coming into my nostrils and also prepared myself for the pain. But I was surprised there was no pain. Matter of fact, I found myself breathing normally. I got excited but then again thought I could be dead already. I looked around to find my body thinking maybe I am already just a spirit floating about and my body is unconscious somewhere. But no it is real! I am breathing normally. I reached out for the medallion in gratitude then I proceeded to get out of there.

Truly choosing this for the summer job is way better than the burger chain. I got to swim even more excited everyday.

With the medallion , I get to stay undewater longer and explore every single part of the underwater world while humming "Under the Sea".

As weeks past, I noticed I have been finding it hard to breathe. I get the relief though while I am in the water. Must be really my happy place.

One morning while I was preparing to go to work, I felt my legs itch a bit and then some more. And when I scratch my leg there is a feelign of slight roughness. I also thought i saw my own legs glimmer under the bright sun.

I looked in the mirror to see what is itching on the side of my neck . It may be just an allergy. But i saw a slit there.

"Have I gotten gills?" I thought.

Days progressed and it seems so, scales are showing and the gill slits are opening wider.

I have got to find a way to reverse this.

Else, I just might become part of Ariel's world!

Should I break the medallion?

Should I put it back where I took it?

What would you do?


I am bound to sleep and yet my mind wants to work the keyboard out. As much as I can just spill what ever is crossing mt mind I decided to stretch my imagination with the help of a prompt. That way, a scenario is already given, I just need to write up how the story goes in my head.

If you do want to try, you may use ServiceScape. My go to prompt generator was the one @meitanteikudo once recommended. But I wanted to try something else so I googled up more generators. Anyway here's mine...


What is your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

9
$ 3.18
$ 3.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 2
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

I love it. I didn't know that it would turn out like that. I was sceptical though about working ok burger junctions though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha thanks mura! Di mo bet ang flipping burgers?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aguyyy, napa search ako kung ano yonh gills, huehue.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha ... Di kasi madalas nababasa ang gills

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di pa ako nakapunta ng cave pichi at when it comes to burger hehe super favorite ko yan. Isa sa the best snacks for me pichi. 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Masaya bumisita sa caves minsab sis! Haha aba pag burger opkors masaya tayo!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya pichi gusto maka experience. Hehe sarap ng burgers lagi. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Masaya bumisita sa caves minsab sis! Haha aba pag burger opkors masaya tayo!

$ 0.00
1 year ago