Enjoying Sky Replacement

10 53
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

I started having interest in taking photos when I was a kid. But I did not know I will be hooked to it until I met friends along the way who also had the same interests. My very first camera was a point and shoot Olympus. I bought one in one of my visits in Thailand since they sell cheaper cameras.

It started with just taking photos. ANY photos. Then on my reviews, I enjoyed looking at candid shots of people laughing, people playing, people crossing the street, etcetera. Yes. Those shots where people do not know they were the focus.

Hobbies and interests are best honed and further enhanced when you start looking at some others' work. Not to compare but to get ideas.

Fast forward, I learned that not all photos we see in ads and websites and soc meds are all images coming out straight from the camera. There is "post-processing" where the photographer wants to add more feels or re-create or enhance the captured experience. It is not bad for me. It is silent controversy in some groups I think.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

Trivia. It is in these moments that I am amazed at how our eyes are actually made and created. We want cameras to capture the beauty of what we see - everything in all range from foreground to background. Our eyes can see the bright moon and still see everything else around it and even the streets. Sometimes using a camera, you only have a choice of seeing the streets whole and the moon appearing as a dot, or just the moon and everything else is dark.

I had to learn these enhancements as well. If I want to share what I saw that time and not ruin that moment because of the weird output in my digital camera. But learning these skills is beyond my threshold of patience. And if some things go too nitty gritty on details, I blank out. So sometimes what I do is message some of my friends who know a lot about taking pics and ask them about their photos. Some would indulge and do give directions, others will be a little secretive with their workflow.

Thankfully, though, photo editing/post-processing softwares do upgrade their tools as well! It probably is old technology, but I only discovered it recently:

Sky replacement.

And boy do they have a lot of skies in their library!

I was able to share it in noise one time when I stole one portion of my busy day to have one of my photos I was already bound to delete because I am not ok with how it looked go through a trial in Photoshop's sky replacement.

https://noise.cash/post/gjn0r86bvv75

And my oh my. After that, I have a lot of doubts about what I see in Instagram even more. Haha.

It is a fun tool to play around grey-day captured photos. Most of those photos that I cannot salvage through mere snapseed quick processing, I go black and white. Drag down the saturation level to 0 and you have another image with a different feel.

As for the recent one, I was looking for my pictures I took around Tokyo. I have this one crow on top of the street lamp.

This is the original shot. Straight from the camera. this file, however, got corrupted (yeah, it happens). So dragging it through a raw post processing may or may no longer be as fun. But I saw the white, dirty-white, boring light-grey sky. And thought, why not see what PS' sky replacement can do?

Et voila!

"enhanced" using Photoshop's Sky Replacement

My goodness!! So nope. Not deleting the original phot just yet. I may, if I do get the time, even find it necessary for learning composite. Which is another topic altogether.

Meanwhile, this little birdie will be going up to my FB collection of learnings and other captures. Yes, yes do feel free to roam around my senseless gallery. Then again, I need to update contents of that one. Just got to find time.

Admittedly, though, this seems to be a good enhancement to most photos with grey, washed-out skies, you sometimes have to be aware of how the "sky" blends with the whole picture.

Not all fake skies blend well with the picture. It will hurt your eye if you insist.

Should you want to learn more and see what can fit your "time", a friend and mentor recommended me to follow PHLEARN. I like it when folks who "know" also know how to have fun in sharing their knowledge with other people.


Can't wait to learn more and share!

What is your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

14
$ 6.25
$ 5.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 6
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

Galing! I love the enhancement but I still love the minimalistic touch of the original.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The enhancement does not look to AI-is for me. It looks very natural. The color blue added some refreshing scene in the photo. Very nice!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great shot bro! The original photo caught my attention since it's very minimalist. Haha I really prefer that type of photography.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kagaling naman talaga mag edit at magkuha nang picture eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahhhh, pero bat super white yong background nong original frenny. Pareho pa ring maganda di halatang edited yong pangalwa. Ang galing talaga no, may touch talaga ng other things mas nagiging awesome ang lahat 🤩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love the first one where the sky is grey! I love people who share their knowledge to other people .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also love to change the sky sis I don't like plain one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

weeeeee so amazeble the output after the sky replacement!!! and i wanna follow that PHlearns too hihihi thanks for sharing pich!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The photo and editing both looks great.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are a lot of enhancement tricks on tiktok. Di kasi ako into photography talaga, more on ako ung pinipicturan. My partner always take photos na candid ko like while I'm laughing, or doing random things and ang ganda ng shots palagi. That's the time na why not mag aral din ako kumuha ng magandang shot for my partner. Ayoko namang ako lang palagi may magandang pic haha at syempre, now ko lang din na appreciate ung importance ng pictures whenever I travel, para may illookback ako in the future. Though I prefer videos when I travel.

$ 0.00
1 year ago