Life In Lagos City...(4)

11 34
Avatar for Phantastic
1 year ago
Topics: Daily life

After settling the bill, we stood up and left. I brought out my phone to get her digits and the notification that popped up sent an electric shock down my spine, as I couldn't believe my eyes. "Wonderful, merciful God, this boy has been killed" I screamed. Everyone thought I was mad as I ran pushing people to get to the other side of the road, at that point I lost my memory of Ayomide.

The thought of trekking home gave me more energy to run. On getting to the POS point. I saw one elderly woman selling fried yam and potato, 'my son, wetin you want buy' she said in a quivering tone. I dey find that boy were dey do POS for here, I said while pointing at the spot where her showglass was. 

'My son, na me dey stay here, nobody dey do POS for here' she said.  My intestine began to make some funny sound like '70 yrs old man'. Ha! But mama, na here I…. Wetin dey happening a voice from behind interrupted me. It was the woman's son. 

She spoke in yoruba telling him about who I was looking for. The son turned and smiled at me 'senior, you done enter one chance, dem done wire you' . ha! Mogbe, she said, looking at me with so much pity.

He went on to tell me about other people's experience with the wire wire boys. I brought out my ATM card to verify his story, only to discover it was swapped with another card. My mind quickly flashed back to when the guy made some funny comment while looking at the other side of the road. I was tricked to look too. Maybe that was when he swapped my card. I want to cry but I remember I was Jagaban. What will I tell my followers about what happened to Jagaban that made him cry?  I decided to swallow my tears, and wanted to walk but I tripped and fell. $85 was really a huge sum of money to be thrown away.

'welcome to lasgidi' as he helped me to my feet smiling, his smile was mixed with pity and mockery. I told him thank you and walked off. It was almost past 5pm. I knew my uncle would soon be back and would look for me. I crossed to the other side of the road and boarded a bus home. My day would have been fun if not for the unauthorised transaction that occurred. I reached for my phone to narrate my day to my fans. On opening I saw lots of comments from my previous upload with Ayomide. Then I quickly remembered I didn't get her contact. 

Wonderful, merciful God!! I exclaimed. See as fine girl take pass me by.

I spent 2 hours before I got home, lucky enough my uncle wasn't back. Everyone was happy to see me home, as they were worried. Even with the pepper cooking maid, I knew she just wanted to give me a treat of pepper tonight. I quickly took my bath, walked to the dinning just to fill my belly with something before I began weeping for my lost money and girlfriend. 

Senior couzo, how was your day? Cynthia asked.  It was fine, I answered bluntly. I didn't want her to inform my uncle about my ordeal today. So I was mindful of what I told her. Seems, you are not happy, hope everything is alright, she asked. I nodded for I knew, if I had said anything maybe I would have ended up crying. But why will Jagaban Cry eh!

Big man, I saw your uploads on Instagram, don't tell me, you have gotten a girlfriend already, Desmond (my uncle's son) said. I smiled sheepishly and continued eating. Let me see the picture, she begged his brother. I signaled him not to do it, but he had already shown it to her.

Ha! Ayomide, she said. My eyes widened and the lump of eba in my throat got stuck. Do you know her, I asked, almost jumping off my seat. She nodded in affirmation. Wonderful, merciful God!!! I exclaimed. Where did you meet her, she asked. I had no choice but to tell her everything that happened, except for being scammed. I wasn't ready to face the panel of judges when they were back. 

Her name is Ayomide, she is my senior colleague in school. I even forgot to mention to Ayomide earlier, that I also had a cousin that was studying law too. She is a nice girl. Do you have any means I could use to communicate with her, I asked with a sad face. She shook her head but offered to check her faculty WhatsApp group for her contact. I was relieved but not fully as my mind began to ponder on what and what I could have bought with my $85. Have found her contact, lucky you. She screamed from the sitting room.

Wonderful! Merciful God!!! 

To be continued 

6
$ 0.27
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
+ 1
Sponsors of Phantastic
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Phantastic
1 year ago
Topics: Daily life

Comments

Hahaha. Then after getting a contact to her, what will happen next? Cannot wait!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wonderful! Merciful God!..... I think that is your common slang 😅😅😅

$85 is too much to throw away just like that. They have shown you what Lagos is like. You just have to be sharp in that city. There are people waiting to turn you into a fool if care isn't taken. I am glad you got Ayomide's contact. Let's see how it goes 😆😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. That's wonderful. I think there's a way everyone connects in Lagos that you can easily find the person you're looking for. You may just know someone who knows the person or someone who knows someone who knows the person

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And am happy I lived with the person who knew ayomide😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Keep it up!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looking forward for the next part!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will post it as soon as possible

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a relief to finally see a means to get her contact. Nice story bro

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, man, I appreciate the time you spent reading this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago